Don't forget that there are (many) cards with Curse trait in earlier editions of Pathfinder and this spell removed them as well, not just "removed Mummy's Mask scourges". For example, Curse of the Deep in S&S. I agree that some Core scourges might qualify for getting removed - but definitely not all. Wounded, Poisoned, Exhausted are not really curses. Drained maybe, in some ways. Plagued definitely, if talking about Blood Veil. Dazed? I am not sure.
Is the card virtually useless in post-Core environment? Pretty much.
Oh, I get your point, I am slow. Sorry! So RAW you can reveal any number of armors, but it does not seem to imply that you can reveal the same armor over and over and over again. I believe it is still being thought about, but there was a post that post-Core, every instance of damage needs to be treated as separate and you may play armor / anything else for each such instance. But there were some more powers connected to it.
2-handed versus single handed weapons difference you describe is often true, but not always. 2-handed weapons usually need proficiency (pre-Core) to be used fully and there might be other considerations - Jirelle (Skull and Shackles) will ignore the huge Greatsword and will grab a skinny rapier instead. Reason is, her skills work with Finesse weapons and Swashbuckling trait is a cherry on the top.
So … it's situational. Some characters may want shields, some will throw it away.
The distinction is pretty important - true, shields (and helmets) are usually protecting less, but can be used repeatedly! Every single turn as long as you don't lose them. Reveal is usually much more effective than recharge and especially than bury / discard.
Pre-Core, all armors were still in your hand and they were often "dead weight", taking card slots needed for something else. Especially for characters with only 4 hand size (warrior types, who also tended to have more armor in general).
Consider running into a bane that deals 2 Fire damage to you before you act. What would you rather do? Bury the breastplate to prevent it or reveal a Shield of Fire Resistance (AD 1 armor) to prevent it? If you do the first, you lost the armor for the fight. If you do the second (and don't have any other armor), you will be able to prevent ~ 2 Combat damage when failing to defeat the bane.
Thread necromancy? You are on a ship if the ship your party is using a) is anchored at your location, b) ship is not anchored and you are active player, c) ship is not anchored and the active player is at your location.
The Intelligence / Arcane works directionally (implication, not equivalence).
Enora's Arcane (Knowledge, Craft) is based on Intelligence, so anything that boosts her Intelligence boosts Arcane. You can't boost Intelligence check by adding to your Arcane sklil.
Seelah can (and should) use Blessing of Iomedae for exactly the same reason. It boosts all Charisma-based checks, including the Diplomacy. So 3d12+2 sounds pretty hefty, but it's correct.
You can try this to check what you might be missing in here:
There is also a CardList for Core and Curse available on their shop pages in the download section:
Edit: Ninja'ed by Yewstance!
Solo game, 3 characters (Merisiel, Varian, Zorro … um, Hakon). No one died, two scenarios had to be repeated - 5D (order of scenarios in 5th adventure: 5A > 5B > 5D > 5C) due to time out, as the Villain was hiding as the last card of the last location; 6B - rule misunderstanding / timeout.
Character Name: Merisiel
Character Name: Hakon
Character Name: Varian
Adventure packs are packs constructed from the Core+Curse cards that mimic the character / class decks. You can find their description:
Thank you, cartmanbeck. I'll check that out - playing CoCT solo is not as entertaining as playing with friends. Especially when I have to shuffle all the decks in the physical game and it takes time. Tabletop Simulator is really great with "R" to shuffle decks - and if you included location building and board cleaning like waterfoul's version, then I am doubly happy.
Hello. I think the situation is rather clear.
First off, you don't want to attempt temporarily or permanently closing your location if your ship is wrecked, because it would not work due to the second sentence.
Yes, it's a very nasty location and having Jirelle in the party helps immensely.
Thank you, Skizzerz. In that case, the scenario playthrough wasn't "screwed" (I screwed it by not doing steps in proper order) and we might have won rather easily, once Hakon would have digged through the Armory for the Villain again. Varian would have been chilling out in the Castle, Merisiel in the Cell (playing dice with fellow inmates and/or gaolers).
While playing the scenario 6B, I encountered a head-scratching situation. The party consisted of Merisiel, Hakon: Blackjack, Varian.
Scenario (paraphrased) wrote:
When you would close the location, search the location for an Evidence, if there is one, do not close the location. … You may banish the Evidence.
Later in the scenario, Merisiel defeated Togomor in Cells with 3 more locations open, shuffling the Villain somewhere. Hakon closed Cliffs the next turn and moved to Arsenal. There he encountered Sermingatto his next turn - Varian guarded the Castle, Merisiel guarded the Cells.Hakon successfully defeated the Villain and started closing the location. But ouch! Evidence was there.
Ugh. What next? *scratch scratch*
So, the Villain was defeated, which leads to automatic closure of a location; the scenario rules trump the closing as there is Evidence in the location (it was banished promptly). Therefore, the location did not close. I played it (most probably wrong) by banishing the Villain and trying to close the other locations the hard way. It did not work, I was 2 explores short and ran out of time.
Later, going through the rules step by step, I assume the correct action is that the Arsenal would not be closed, probably is not guarded, so the Villain escapes into it again. However, all the other cards remain there, as there was no other Villain and the location would close.
So I wanted to ask, what is the actual resolution rules-wise?
I am pretty sure now that the number 2 is the correct answer, but wanted to ask just in case. I don't mind replaying the scenario, especially when Varian found the nice Staff of Greater Healing.
Me and our friends recently tried playing PACG over Tabletop Simulator in Steam (we collectively physically own S&S, base MM and Core+Curse). It works very well despite the need to handle cards by mouse, which is rather clumsy :). It's the only way we are able to play together, as I am across the ocean from them ;)
Just to add some more fuel - actually, for some characters, even the scourge Poisoned may be beneficial. For example spellcasters often have several spells at hand and recharging at the end of turn one random card gets them to draw the already cast-and-recharged spells on the bottom of their deck sooner. Characters with hand size 5, though, are not going to be as happy. :)
Well, it is a little shortcut. The actual instructions are:
During this scenario wrote:
When you defeat and corner a villain, display it next to the scenario. When you display the second villain, add the new location Plaza …
During this scenario wrote:
When you close your location, before banishing its cards, search it and shuffle each of its non-Veteran Story banes into a random other location.
If the first power triggers on defeating (point 8), the new location is added and only then the location closes, meaning all non-Veteran banes get to be shuffled into Plaza. If it triggers on the villain not escaping (point 11) and there were no other locations in play, there is no longer any location for the non-Veteran banes to go to (at point 10) and Plaza "appears" just afterward. Or did I muddle things up some more by this explanation?
During my play through the scenario 6A, when the party returns back to Korvosa, one hero defeated the second Villain in the last remaining location and I was a little uncertain about timing.
1) Villain #2 is defeated, Plaza is added, non-Veteran banes don't get shuffled into Plaza
In order to not make things easier than they might be intended, I shuffled all 3 remaining non-Veteran story banes into Plaza. It did not matter, because the explore-and-examine expert Merisiel encountered the Dragon on the first exploration of Plaza. So sad, I so much wanted the Plaza to get me some nice AD6 boons.
So far, the 5D scenario is the only one I have been forced to replay (adventure in the order 5ABDC) in 3-heroes game because the nasty Villain was hiding as the last card in the last location and the heroes ran out of time. But I have to agree, the 5th adventure is cruel. Besieged and Deadly = 2 damage when you close the location to anyone present? Ugh. Most wildcards are less terrible than that (don't forget you can take Dragon's Demand Wildcards as well).
OK, thank you very much. I suspected as much (and it would not cross my mind to even try to grab RRB from discards with an ally, I would rather pick up a Cure spell in exchange for some other support spell in his hand - not to mention that the blessing might end up in somebody else's discards).
This power of the Real Rabbit Prince promo has me somewhat confused:
The Real Rabbit Prince wrote:
While this card is in your hand or when you play it, treat it as either an ally or a blessing.
First, when some card like a Traitor discards an Ally, can we choose to treat the RRP as blessing and not an ally (either, or) and the other way around (such as "when discarding cards as damage, discard blessings first")?And more importantly, is it supposed to work when rebuilding your deck as well? That is, can it be added to the deck instead of an Ally? The only two similar cards are Bound Imp (which can be considered a Monster card, but that is not in any character's card list) and Serithtial with a different wording that specifically says that it can be treated as an ally during rebuilding.
Is there any official guidance or a tiny rule mention of that? My Zorro Hakon with 3 blessings would benefit from a 4th blessing, errr, a special Ally. If it is not possible, I suppose he might have to take the Djinn or Naval Hero instead.
You are right, the Danger is usually asked for on some barriers, story banes or locations such as "To close: Defeat the danger"
Usually it is a story bane / monster / barrier, but in your case it is a random Undead story bane. If you look through the wildcards for Core/Curse, one of them lists a table with 6 story banes for each group/flavour of story banes.
So if there is e.g. Vampire(2), you may encounter it in 2A. If the creature was Dragon(3), you roll again as you may not summon that story bane (3 > 2, your current adventure)
And to prevent confusion, there is a scenario (1D, I believe, so you went through that) that calls for a Danger / random story bane (Homunculus) that is also in the locations. In that case, you "can't find it", so roll again.
If I remember correctly, S&S Damiel does not need it. He just recharges everything instead of being banished, so he even does not have to take Recovery checks. However, if there is an item / something that says "If proficient, …" outside of Recovery section, it might be more valid question. As it is, his absence of proficiency has minimal game impact :)
Level 7 Loot Armor from Curse of the Crimson Throne. Where does it get awarded ??
https://pacg.fandom.com/wiki/Yzahnum_the_EfreetiQuite a dangerous / costly and extremely random way how to get it :) Also, it will be part of the Vault during the very last adventure/scenario 7A, so there is a second possibility how to get it.
So for Vic to say "a lot" of players are happy with this solution, I feel it's a bit of an exaggeration.
*voice of the Captain in WALL-E* Define "a lot" …Joking aside, a lot does not represent majority and so that statement is not an exaggeration. Even if this makes some (define "some") or only a few (define "a few") players happier, then it is a good thing to do. A temporary fix, until they get to producing real class / character decks of pre-Core style. Some people won't be happy, some will be. But don't refrain from voicing out your wishes, if that helps developers to produce the class decks sooner ;)
One comment in addition to wkover's explanation: If this armor had Light Armor trait, you would be right that all characters would be proficient with it. However, I don't think there is any armor that says "If proficient, …", because that would be redundant. So if it does not have Light Armor trait and asks for proficiency, you have to be proficient in Armor (Heavy Armor for "old" characters), Shield or Offhand to utilize Klar fully.
Well, Nocticula does not seem so terribly bad. Granted, it's just a blessing adding 1 die normally, with the option of adding two dice +# instead. And in most cases followed by removal from the game. It's weak and not great, but it is for any check plus it gets you one blessing short. So if you did not acquire any blessings, it lets you choose any blessing with level #-2 as replacement at the end of scenario.
Rainer Woreck 34 wrote:
When you make cards nobody ever wants to claim, you've messed up in the design room. Forcing players to use cards because there are too few to go around is another really bad design choice.
Even though some cards are less powerful than others for a given character and a given party size, there are very few cards that nobody ever wants. For example, Wand of Minor Healing is in my opinion one of very good items that I would want almost always, but others see it more like a waste of space. Blast Stone (RotR / S&S) is almost worthless, except for Damiel, who loves anything Alchemical and S&S version reuses that item easily. S&S Ally Tessa Fairwind is great for almost anyone in S&S, especially for Jirelle, but outside of that adventure path, I see no good use for her. It is very subjective, what card is good and what is terribly bad.I often say that there are almost no "bad choices" in this game - just more or less difficult.
1 - probably
Say that the location states "Closing: (Summon and) acquire a random blessing", which may be seen as impossible instruction if BoGobs is drawn.
As for building the Vault - if you want to use Core cards as a base, then definitely omit all cards that have Core equivalent and use Core cards instead (you can keep 1-2 old spells of that kind if you want - Cure, Force Missiles say hello!, but probably not weapons or items or armours). In some cases like Skull & Shackles, some cards have different functionality - e.g. Chain Shirt protects better if the check has Swashbuckling trait. In that case, both versions should probably be used.
My "hunch" for a good vault composition is to have approximately 50% Core and 50% pre-Core cards, with all "bland, generic" weapons and armours removed from the Vault (who cares about shortswords or leather armors?) and only up to 2 cards of the same type. For example many spells are doublets or even more cards of the same type. Several cards are useful in multiplets (e.g. Pistols for Gunslingers), so consider keeping them anyway. All setting-specific boons should be added to keep flavour.
I would add approximately the same amount of Blessing of the Gods as the numbers of any level 0 blessing card present in Core / Curse, i.e. 4-8, up to 2-3 Blessings of other kinds. Setting-specific deities such as Hirsuha even fully, if you want - the main pantheon is represented quite nicely in Core, but others? Not so much.
Technically, driders originated in Dungeons and Dragons, where they are actually drow who were punished by their main goddess Lolth (Lloth) and cursed to be half-spider half-drow monstrosities. As such, they really are Spiders in part, but are definitely not Vermin like rats, cockroaches and such.
A small comment:
Playing an alchemist in Rise of the Runelords wouldn't really work, for example, as there are no alchemical boons in RotR. In that case, you'd want to purchase the deck to add the class deck's alchemical boons to the RotR box.
I would disagree to some extent - there are quite a few Alchemical items in RotR, including Blast Stone and the ton of potions. There are virtually no other things for alchemists like bombs, support equipment and such.I think you will run into more trouble using Gunslinger characters in any set outside Skull & Shackles, or Corrupted-boon dependent characters in anything beside Wrath of the Righteous.
A recent ruling/errata/FAQ said that base does not count toward the "random locations". See Curse FAQ:
I don't have any such suspicion - for me, the intent seems clear, to shorten the text needed on the card (random is always included in the heal an ally / some_other_typeTM) for the same effect. If it is always random (as it had always been pre-Core; with some intentional exceptions like the S&S Swab ally), then it is extremely likely not a mistake from the designers. It's the intended wording. For example, untapping in Magic the Gathering (i.e. Shadowmoor edition) cannot be played unless the card is already tapped. Do the MtG writers use "Untap this card if it is tapped"? No, they shortened it to untap symbol. But I have to admit, MtG is not a very good role model for PACG due to its extremely complex ruleset.There is always a possibility to write "heal a spell of your choice" or "shuffle a spell from your discard to your deck" if need be. Healing a specific card in all instances (e.g. Kess being able to heal a particular ally she wants every time) would be very overpowered.
Longshot11 - ad 2, it might not be always "worse" to heal a card of a specified type. At least if that's what you meant (I might have mistunderstood). For example, warriors aren't so happy if they recharge a spell instead of that weapon or armor, similarly Kess likes recharging allies - and has even one power feat upgrade to that effect.