Bane Encounter


Pathfinder Adventure Card Game General Discussion


For monsters/henchmen/villains when you are doing a combat check to defeat can you not use a weapon and a spell on the same check? I was under the impression you can only play one card of each type per encounter. Like if I am fighting a monster I use a weapon, item, and a blessing. Or I use a weapon, a spell, and an ally.


You can only use one card of any type that determines what skill you're using. For example, only one card that says "for your Combat check, ...". (Core Set Rulebook p. 11, Mummy's Mask Rulebook p. 11; both under the heading "Determine Which Skill You're Using")

In the Core Set ruleset the entire table collectively can only play one card of each type (ignoring cards that say you may play them freely). (Core Set Rulebook p. 8, "Encountering a Card")

In the older ruleset each character can only play one card of each type, but different characters can play the same type of card. (Mummy's Mask Rulebook p. 9, "Encountering a Card")

These limitations are per check or step of the encounter, so you could play a Spell Before You Act and then for a Check to Defeat, or use the same Weapon's Reveal effect for two Checks to Defeat, or similar. (Also under "Encountering a Card".)


Parody wrote:

You can only use one card of any type that says "for your Combat check, ...".

In the Core Set the entire table collectively can only play one card of each type (ignoring cards that say you may play them freely).

In the other sets each character can only play one card of each type, but different characters can play the same type of card.

If that is the case then who cares about characters with both spells/weapons you can only play one on a combat check. Every other video game I have played has both roles where you can wield a sword and cast a spell. Might as well make casters casters with no weapons and wiedlers cannot cast. Sheesh. If you have grazelle and you are on a combat 40 check there's no way to get to 40 using a weapon even if everyone else donated a blessing. you'd be at max 5d6 + the weapons d? I mean a perfect roll is only 30 + d? so what's the point? Most item cards only allow a small variant for a modifier or something that won't help. I am not mad at you I feel this is kind of dumb.

Guess we have been play WotR wrong this whole time!


Well, Grazzle is a pure spellcaster (that 1 weapon is mostly a support, so you can't expect him to be useful with weapons, just like most video game pure casters). Especially if you look at Combat 40 check. However, note that there ARE spell that can add quite a lot to a character's combat check, such as spells that say "On your combat check" / "On a local combat check". And to be clear - you may use only a single power that says "For your combat check", but it does not limit the number of "On <...> check," powers.
See for example the Core spell Aid (adds 1d4+#, i.e. 1d4+6 in AD6) etc. Combine with Blessing of Shax or Pharasma to great results.
Funny spells are those that let you play a weapon and use your spell-casting skill, in WotR he can use the Sacred Weapon, which is rather good, actually.

Speaking of Combat 40 checks, that is the WotR insanity-level difficulty combined with mythic roles coming into play. If you have a mythic role that can boost your Strength, then you get +number_of_mythic_charges on the check and you can turn some dice into d20s by expending them.

And lastly, if you want to see how a spellcasting and martial character can fight, look at the Magus class (Seltiyel, Ahmotep, other characters from Magus class decks). Generally, as a spellcaster, you need to look at the secondary powers of the weapon you can add to your deck. Core weapon Wyrmsmite is a shield as well, MM weapon Torch lets you explore and so on. Light crossbows and slings or daggers (appropriate to casters in PF) can assist you and other characters freely.


Correction: Sacred Weapon lets you use 1d8+# instead of Melee or Ranged. Sorry, I must have mistaken its power with some character's power (probably some caster/fighter type ;) ).


To add to what Jenceslav said, Grazzle's powers aim for healing and scouting (examining). He's best off not doing huge Combats at all, instead scouting out Locations and leaving the Banes he can't handle for others. In Wrath you can't avoid those all the time, but decent Spells and Mythic Charges help make up for it.

Also, not every character is good in every Adventure Path, with every size party, or in every role in every party. Maybe you'll decide to play a different character in Wrath, or maybe you'll end up with an epic story of how you managed to squeak through impossible odds! Mine was taking Siwar (Bard CD; eventually added Ultimate Intrigue) through PACS Season 3: Season of Plundered Tombs. If you poke through the PACS forum you can find me posting in the threads for scenarios from Adventures 3-5/6/P. Siwar isn't great at Combat, but is good at making other people fight instead of her and supporting them in those fights.


Jenceslav wrote:


And lastly, if you want to see how a spellcasting and martial character can fight, look at the Magus class (Seltiyel, Ahmotep, other characters from Magus class decks). Generally, as a spellcaster, you need to look at the secondary powers of the weapon you can add to your deck. Core weapon Wyrmsmite is a shield as well, MM weapon Torch lets you explore and so on. Light crossbows and slings or daggers (appropriate to casters in PF) can assist you and other characters freely.

But the magus is limited as well by these rules too. As it doesn't really matter if you are a true spell caster vs a hybrid you still can only use one card that says for your combat check so what is the point in making a hybrid class? They should have just stuck with caster class, item class, combat class etc...you cannot combine classes make them sound cool and then say well you are both a caster and a sword wielder but only choose one spell or weapon hahaha. I have played a ton of video games from WoW, DAoC, Rift, Aeon; everyone of them can cast and wield at the same time for any class that allows. Rogues are the exception as they typically do not have spells ort heals save potions.

I look at this logically if I am in a battle and I know how to cast fire but can also use a sword pretty well I am going to use both to my advantage. Not one. No soldier only uses his gun they have a variety of weapons at their disposal. Yes this game isn't real life but if I was in a fantasy movie like LotR they use both!

I will just have to play different or pick a new dude in the Core set. Thanks for the advice.


Jenceslav wrote:
Well, Grazzle is a pure spellcaster (that 1 weapon is mostly a support, so you can't expect him to be useful with weapons, just like most video game pure casters).

Well I play him as I see fit. I like the heals cause we needed them, but he can use some nasty spells but I also gave him 2 weapons. I charge in knowing I could use a spell and a weapon. Reading the rules I never found where it says you can only play one card that says for your combat check. In fact in the rules after you have chosen your skill aka strength for combat check using a weapon it says you can play one boon of each type. Well as I read that a spell is a boon and there is no verbiage that states in that paragraph that that boon cannot be played because it says combat. Again I like to look at these situation as if I was there. If I know magic and I know how to thrust a sword I will do both to dispatch my enemies it's not rocket science LOL.


xhaven80 wrote:
I never found where it says you can only play one card that says for your combat check.

Second paragraph of the Determine Which Skill You're Using section, page 12 of the Wrath of the Righteous Rulebook. "Some cards allow you to use a particular skill for a specific type of check, or to use one skill instead of another. (These cards generally say things like 'For your combat check, use your Strength or Melee skill,' or 'Use your Strength skill instead of your Diplomacy skill.') You may play only 1 such card or use only 1 such power to determine which skill you’re using."

There are a lot of rules, and it's easy to miss stuff. Of course you can play games any way you want, but the rules are there for balance.


xhaven80 wrote:
But the magus is limited as well by these rules too. As it doesn't really matter if you are a true spell caster vs a hybrid you still can only use one card that says for your combat check so what is the point in making a hybrid class?

Well, they have powers that allow them some stuff with both spells and weapons. It's what differentiates them from classes that just use whatever they fancy. Some magi in PACG use both weapons and spells at the same time (or one of those, of course):

Seltyiel S&S wrote:
Choose a weapon that doesn't have the 2-Handed trait and a spell that has the Attack trait. When you play one for your combat check, you may recharge the other (□ or shuffle it into your deck) to add 1d6 (□ 2d6) and that card's traits to the check.

Other powers just take advantage of the spells / weapons they have:

Seltyiel Magus wrote:
You may recharge a weapon (□ or any boon) to succeed at your check to recharge a spell (□ then you may shuffle the recharged spell into your deck instead).

PACG is based on Pathfinder, an evolved D&D 3.5, not on some MMORPGs, so characters usually use magic or weapons to their full potential and some classes use any combination to a much lower degree of power.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / General Discussion / Bane Encounter All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in General Discussion