Enga Keckvia

Happler's page

Organized Play Member. 1,920 posts. No reviews. No lists. 1 wishlist. 2 Organized Play characters.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Just trying to clear up some of my confusion on this. The PRD (what I have access to here at work) has 2 definitions for panicked both in the glossary.

the first one (call it panick(1)) is under fear and states:

Panicked: Characters who are panicked are shaken, and they run away from the source of their fear as quickly as they can, dropping whatever they are holding. Other than running away from the source, their paths are random. They flee from all other dangers that confront them rather than facing those dangers. Once they are out of sight (or hearing) of any source of danger, they can act as they want. Panicked characters cower if they are prevented from fleeing.

So the panicked character would:

  • drop what they where holding
  • try to run away from the source of the fear on a random path.
  • if unable to do either of the above they would then cower.

    The second panicked is with the general descriptions for the conditions in the glossary. We will call it panicked(2) and here is what it says:


    Panicked: A panicked creature must drop anything it holds and flee at top speed from the source of its fear, as well as any other dangers it encounters, along a random path. It can't take any other actions. In addition, the creature takes a –2 penalty on all saving throws, skill checks, and ability checks. If cornered, a panicked creature cowers and does not attack, typically using the total defense action in combat. A panicked creature can use special abilities, including spells, to flee; indeed, the creature must use such means if they are the only way to escape.

    Panicked is a more extreme state of fear than shaken or frightened.

    So, this version does the following:

  • drop anything being held
  • flee from the source of fear on a random path
  • take a -2 penalty on all saving throws, skill checks, and ability checks
  • if it cannot flee, it cowers, but can take the total defense action
  • must use any special abilities to flee that it can.

    So, it cowers, but does not, since cower states (from the same section) that they can take no actions, lose -2 AC and dex bonus, see below:

    Cowering: The character is frozen in fear and can take no actions. A cowering character takes a –2 penalty to Armor Class and loses his Dexterity bonus (if any).

    So a character who is cowering from panicked(2), some how can get a higher AC then one who is cowering from panicked(1) and take actions that cowering does not allow?

    Am I missing something here?

  • Dark Archive

    I was just reading something and I think that I may be missing it.

    If you are trying to cast a quickened fireball defensibly, what would be the DC?

    Would it be:

    a) 15+(3*2) = 21 (as it was a 3rd level spell)


    b) 15+(7*2) = 29 (as if it was a 7th level spell (the slot that it is now using).

    TL/DR: Do Metamagic feats effect the Spell level for concentration checks?

    Dark Archive

    this has yet to come up, but some other threads got me thinking.

    If you have a character who is proficient with a whip, has the feats whirlwind attack and improved trip, could you trip all opponents within 15 feet of you with no AoO as one attack?

    You know, as I type this out, I realize that it sounds like a RD question.. :P I guess I have read too many of them..

    Dark Archive

    So, with the resent changes to the trip combat maneuver and the trip weapon feature, how is the following feat any good?

    [url=http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/ultimateMagic/ultimateMagicFeats.html#tripping-staff wrote:

    Ultimate Magic Feat[/url]]Tripping Staff (Combat)

    You can make a trip attack with your quarterstaff.

    Prerequisites: Int 13, Combat Expertise, Improved Trip, Weapon Focus (quarterstaff), base attack bonus +6.

    Benefit: You treat quarterstaves as if they had the trip special feature.

    Special: If you are a magus with the staff magus archetype, you can use spellstrike on any trip combat maneuver you make with the staff.

    Dark Archive

    10 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

    Simple question.

    Can you make oils, using the brew potion feat, of spells that have targets of objects and not targets of "one or more creatures" ?
    Linkage to creation rules:
    Potions from the magic items area of the book
    Brew Potion Feat
    MAgic Item creation rules

    For example:

    Can you make potions/oils of the following spells:

    A) Cure Moderate Wounds

    B) Magic Weapon

    A) seems to follow all the rules set for potions/oils in the book, less then 3rd level, does not have a range of "personal", less then a 1 minute casting time, targets one or more creatures.

    B) Seems to follow some of the rules too: less then 3rd level, does not have a range of personal, less then 1 minute casting time, but here is where it changes, this spell has a target of "one weapon touched".

    The reason that I ask this, is that there are potions given in tables in the "Game Mastery Guide" that are of spells like B above, also there are references in the text of applying oils to objects, but the potions creation rules do not back up making said oils with the brew potion feat.

    Just wanted to get this answered and either cleaned up as a FAQ or errata.

    Dark Archive

    If a Zen Archer with Reflexive Shot takes the Combat Patrol feat, do they have to move to attack anyone in their patrol area?

    Reflexive Shot:

    Reflexive Shot (Ex): At 9th level, a zen archer can make attacks of opportunity with arrows from his bow. The monk still threatens squares he could reach with unarmed strikes, and can still only make one attack of opportunity per round (unless he has Combat Reflexes). This ability replaces improved evasion.

    Combat Patrol:

    Combat Patrol (Combat)

    You range across the battlefield, dealing with threats wherever they arise.

    Prerequisites: Combat Reflexes, Mobility, base attack bonus +5.

    Benefit: As a full-round action, you may set up a combat patrol, increasing your threatened area by 5 feet for every 5 points of your base attack bonus. Until the beginning of your next turn, you may make attacks of opportunity against any opponent in this threatened area that provokes attacks of opportunity. You may move as part of these attacks, provided your total movement before your next turn does not exceed your speed. Any movement you make provokes attacks of opportunity as normal.

    My guess is that they would not have to.

    Planning out an NPC and want to make sure that I have it right.

    Dark Archive

    Do Brass knuckles count as being armed for a monk when performing a disarm?

    Since the PRD states



    You can attempt to disarm your opponent in place of a melee attack. If you do not have the Improved Disarm feat, or a similar ability, attempting to disarm a foe provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver. Attempting to disarm a foe while unarmed imposes a –4 penalty on the attack.

    Assuming the monk has the improved disarm, what counts for him as being unarmed?

    Unarmed Strike?
    Brass Knuckles?

    Dark Archive

    This thread got me thinking.

    What combat maneuvers can you use the "aid other" action on?

    • grapple: list in the rules, but I think that it could use more info on multiple.
    • Bull rush: ? but I cannot think of a way.
    • Disarm: ? but I cannot think of a way.
    • Overrun: ? but I cannot think of a way.
    • Sunder: ? but I cannot think of a way.
    • Trip: I could see it working (if flanking especially).
    • Feint: I could see it.
    • Dirty Trick: I could see it for some of them.
    • Drag: I could see it.
    • Reposition: ? but I cannot think of a way.
    • Steal: ? but I cannot think of a way.

    Anyone else have thoughts on this?

    Dark Archive

    BTW, this is why I think that it is:


    Note that all items have prerequisites in their descriptions. These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created. Most of the time, they take the form of spells that must be known by the item's creator (although access through another magic item or spellcaster is allowed). The DC to create a magic item increases by +5 for each prerequisite the caster does not meet. The only exception to this is the requisite item creation feat, which is mandatory. In addition, you cannot create spell-trigger and spell-completion magic items without meeting their spell prerequisites.

    These appear to be the only stated items that can not be skipped by the RAW at least.

    If this is a repeat thread from somewhere else, please feel free to point me there too. It has been a heck of a Monday.

    Dark Archive

    I am being indecisive on what I want to play, so I am posting here for some ideas.

    Here is the party so far:

    Fighter (Melee based)
    Cleric (subs for inflict)
    Ranger (don't know if he is going archer or twf)

    So, as the 5th character, what do you suggest?

    Dark Archive

    On the same note, a choker with monk levels makes a great bag guy.

    Dark Archive

    1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

    Taking a look at the skill Use Mgaic Device:

    Use Magic Device
    (Cha; Trained Only)

    You are skilled at activating magic items, even if you are not otherwise trained in their use.

    Check: You can use this skill to read a spell or to activate a magic item. Use Magic Device lets you use a magic item as if you had the spell ability or class features of another class, as if you were a different race, or as if you were of a different alignment.

    You make a Use Magic Device check each time you activate a device such as a wand. If you are using the check to emulate an alignment or some other quality in an ongoing manner, you need to make the relevant Use Magic Device check once per hour.

    You must consciously choose which requirement to emulate. That is, you must know what you are trying to emulate when you make a Use Magic Device check for that purpose. The DCs for various tasks involving Use Magic Device checks are summarized on the table below.
    Task Use Magic Device DC
    Activate blindly 25
    Decipher a written spell 25 + spell level
    Use a scroll 20 + caster level
    Use a wand 20
    Emulate a class feature 20
    Emulate an ability score See text
    Emulate a race 25
    Emulate an alignment 30

    Activate Blindly: Some magic items are activated by special words, thoughts, or actions. You can activate such an item as if you were using the activation word, thought, or action, even when you're not and even if you don't know it. You do have to perform some equivalent activity in order to make the check. That is, you must speak, wave the item around, or otherwise attempt to get it to activate. You get a +2 bonus on your Use Magic Device check if you've activated the item in question at least once before. If you fail by 9 or less, you can't activate the device. If you fail by 10 or more, you suffer a mishap. A mishap means that magical energy gets released but doesn't do what you wanted it to do. The default mishaps are that the item affects the wrong target or that uncontrolled magical energy is released, dealing 2d6 points of damage to you. This mishap is in addition to the chance for a mishap that you normally risk when you cast a spell from a scroll that you could not otherwise cast yourself.

    Decipher a Written Spell: This usage works just like deciphering a written spell with the Spellcraft skill, except that the DC is 5 points higher. Deciphering a written spell requires 1 minute of concentration.

    Emulate an Ability Score: To cast a spell from a scroll, you need a high score in the appropriate ability (Intelligence for wizard spells, Wisdom for divine spells, or Charisma for sorcerer or bard spells). Your effective ability score (appropriate to the class you're emulating when you try to cast the spell from the scroll) is your Use Magic Device check result minus 15. If you already have a high enough score in the appropriate ability, you don't need to make this check.

    Emulate an Alignment: Some magic items have positive or negative effects based on the user's alignment. Use Magic Device lets you use these items as if you were of an alignment of your choice. You can emulate only one alignment at a time.

    Emulate a Class Feature: Sometimes you need to use a class feature to activate a magic item. In this case, your effective level in the emulated class equals your Use Magic Device check result minus 20. This skill does not let you actually use the class feature of another class. It just lets you activate items as if you had that class feature. If the class whose feature you are emulating has an alignment requirement, you must meet it, either honestly or by emulating an appropriate alignment with a separate Use Magic Device check (see above).

    Emulate a Race: Some magic items work only for members of certain races, or work better for members of those races. You can use such an item as if you were a member of a race of your choice. You can emulate only one race at a time.

    Use a Scroll: Normally, to cast a spell from a scroll, you must have the scroll's spell on your class spell list. Use Magic Device allows you to use a scroll as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list. The DC is equal to 20 + the caster level of the spell you are trying to cast from the scroll. In addition, casting a spell from a scroll requires a minimum score (10 + spell level) in the appropriate ability. If you don't have a sufficient score in that ability, you must emulate the ability score with a separate Use Magic Device check.

    This use of the skill also applies to other spell completion magic items.

    Use a Wand, Staff, or Other Spell Trigger Item: Normally, to use a wand, you must have the wand's spell on your class spell list. This use of the skill allows you to use a wand as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list.

    Action: None. The Use Magic Device check is made as part of the action (if any) required to activate the magic item.

    Try Again: Yes, but if you ever roll a natural 1 while attempting to activate an item and you fail, then you can't try to activate that item again for 24 hours.

    Special: You cannot take 10 with this skill. You can't aid another on Use Magic Device checks. Only the user of the item may attempt such a check.

    If you have the Magical Aptitude feat, you gain a bonus on Use Magic Device checks (see Feats).

    It only states in the skill description that it will backfire if, and only if, you are trying to "activate blindly" and fail by 10 or more. From what I can tell, there is no set failure for trying to do any of the following:

    * Decipher a written spell
    * Use a scroll (other then the section in magic items that states that if you do not have the CL for the spell, make a check, if that fails, make a DC 5 wis check or bad things happen)
    * Use a wand
    * Emulate a class feature
    * Emulate an ability score
    * Emulate a race
    * Emulate an alignment

    From what I can tell, this is RAW, is this also RAI? Or is the 2d6 damage for failing past 10 on all styles of activation?

    Dark Archive

    I am just curious on what peoples opinions are. Which would you rather have for character creation; Point buy or 4d6 drop the low? Also, why?

    Personally I like the point buy with 20 points. I feel that it makes for a nice balanced party where all players can easily have their time in the sun, without 1 character being the "lead" and everyone else feeling like "support cast".

    I say this as I have been in too many games where dice roll was used and (after calculating everything out) one or two characters had point buy equivalents in the 40+ while some others where in the 10-20 range (due to poor rolling).

    As I said, just curious.

    Dark Archive

    Pretty simple question all in all. Is using a poison in combat an evil act? I know that the Paladin does not use it because it is not honorable, but that is different than it being evil. Many a good character will lie to end up with a good result, and that also is not honorable, but it is not evil.

    This has come about because my DM is running a level 13 short game, and I would like to play an Alchemist (sounds like a good way to see what they are capable of). It appears to me that the alchemist is designed partially around the ability to use poisons in combat. The DM is saying that I can only use Poisons if my character is LE, NE, or CE. Not CN.

    Dark Archive

    My search fu failed me, or there is not a thread on this already.

    I have a level 13 barbarian (DR 3/-) who get afflicted with lycanthropy (DR 5/silver). How does the two DR's stack, if at all?

    for example:

    Barbarian gets hit with a silver dagger from a weak rogue(1d4)and gets hit by 3 points of damage. this would bypass his silver DR, but would it get caught by his DR 3/- from being a barbarian?

    Or another example:

    Same barbarian gets hit with a normal greatsword from a fighter (2d6 + 8) and the fighter does 15 points of damage. Would the Barbarian take a) 7 points (both DR's) or b) 10 points (silver trumps - ) ?