Monk + Brass knuckles + disarm


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

Do Brass knuckles count as being armed for a monk when performing a disarm?

Since the PRD states

Quote:

Disarm

You can attempt to disarm your opponent in place of a melee attack. If you do not have the Improved Disarm feat, or a similar ability, attempting to disarm a foe provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver. Attempting to disarm a foe while unarmed imposes a –4 penalty on the attack.

Assuming the monk has the improved disarm, what counts for him as being unarmed?

Unarmed Strike?
Brass Knuckles?
Cesteus?


Happler wrote:

Do Brass knuckles count as being armed for a monk when performing a disarm?

Since the PRD states

Quote:

Disarm

You can attempt to disarm your opponent in place of a melee attack. If you do not have the Improved Disarm feat, or a similar ability, attempting to disarm a foe provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver. Attempting to disarm a foe while unarmed imposes a –4 penalty on the attack.

Assuming the monk has the improved disarm, what counts for him as being unarmed?

Unarmed Strike?
Brass Knuckles?
Cesteus?

Monks are NEVER considered unarmed, unless they want to be. They would never suffer that penalty, as far as I can tell. This is in the Unarmed Strike section of the Monk class description.


Windquake wrote:


Monks are NEVER considered unarmed, unless they want to be. They would never suffer that penalty, as far as I can tell. This is in the Unarmed Strike section of the Monk class description.

Actually, I was wrong. The actual section is in the Improved Unarmed Strike feat:

You are considered to be armed even when unarmed

*edited because I am an idiot.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Monk + Brass knuckles + disarm All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.