Stacking DR


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

My search fu failed me, or there is not a thread on this already.

I have a level 13 barbarian (DR 3/-) who get afflicted with lycanthropy (DR 5/silver). How does the two DR's stack, if at all?

for example:

Barbarian gets hit with a silver dagger from a weak rogue(1d4)and gets hit by 3 points of damage. this would bypass his silver DR, but would it get caught by his DR 3/- from being a barbarian?

Or another example:

Same barbarian gets hit with a normal greatsword from a fighter (2d6 + 8) and the fighter does 15 points of damage. Would the Barbarian take a) 7 points (both DR's) or b) 10 points (silver trumps - ) ?

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Companion, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Happler wrote:

My search fu failed me, or there is not a thread on this already.

I have a level 13 barbarian (DR 3/-) who get afflicted with lycanthropy (DR 5/silver). How does the two DR's stack, if at all?

for example:

Barbarian gets hit with a silver dagger from a weak rogue(1d4)and gets hit by 3 points of damage. this would bypass his silver DR, but would it get caught by his DR 3/- from being a barbarian?

Or another example:

Same barbarian gets hit with a normal greatsword from a fighter (2d6 + 8) and the fighter does 15 points of damage. Would the Barbarian take a) 7 points (both DR's) or b) 10 points (silver trumps - ) ?

You'd apply the highest, relevant DR. So in the examples:

1) You'd apply the DR 3/- as the DR5/silver has been negated by the silver dagger.

2) You'd take 10 points as only the highest relevant DR applies.


Happler wrote:

My search fu failed me, or there is not a thread on this already.

I have a level 13 barbarian (DR 3/-) who get afflicted with lycanthropy (DR 5/silver). How does the two DR's stack, if at all?

for example:

Barbarian gets hit with a silver dagger from a weak rogue(1d4)and gets hit by 3 points of damage. this would bypass his silver DR, but would it get caught by his DR 3/- from being a barbarian?

Or another example:

Same barbarian gets hit with a normal greatsword from a fighter (2d6 + 8) and the fighter does 15 points of damage. Would the Barbarian take a) 7 points (both DR's) or b) 10 points (silver trumps - ) ?

They do not stack, they overlap. If you get hit with a silver sword, you would still get the DR 3/- for being a barbarian. Against anything that doesn't negate the 5/silver, you get a reduction of 5.


The DRs do not stack, but they overlap, and you get the best DR for what ever situation you find your self in... so if attacked by a normal weapon the barbarian lycanthrope would have DR 5, if attacked by a silver weapon he would have DR 3


DR never stacks unless you're explicitly told to stack them. DRs of different types (ie, /- and /silver) never stack at all. In the vast majority of cases, you apply the highest non-bypassed DR to the damage being dealt.

In your first example, the barbarian would take 0 damage from the attack. The silver dagger bypasses his DR 5/silver, but not his DR 3/-. That makes 3/- the highest non-bypassed DR, so it subtracts 3 damage from the attack.

In your second example, the barbarian would take 10 damage from the attack. The normal greatsword does not bypass the DR 5/silver, which is a greater amount of DR than the DR 3/-. That makes 5/silver the highest non-bypassed DR.

Basically, just rank the various DRs in order of magnitude, then go down the list asking "did the attack bypass this DR?". As soon as you answer "no" to that question, stop going down the list, because you've found the DR to apply to the attack.

Lantern Lodge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 32

Happler wrote:

My search fu failed me, or there is not a thread on this already.

I have a level 13 barbarian (DR 3/-) who get afflicted with lycanthropy (DR 5/silver). How does the two DR's stack, if at all?

for example:

Barbarian gets hit with a silver dagger from a weak rogue(1d4)and gets hit by 3 points of damage. this would bypass his silver DR, but would it get caught by his DR 3/- from being a barbarian?

Or another example:

Same barbarian gets hit with a normal greatsword from a fighter (2d6 + 8) and the fighter does 15 points of damage. Would the Barbarian take a) 7 points (both DR's) or b) 10 points (silver trumps - ) ?

The barbarian in the first example would take no damage. His Lycanthropic DR is bypassed by the silver, but his barbarian DR is still functional, as nothing can bypass it.

The second example, neither DR is bypassed, so you use the DR with the highest value (5/silver). The barbarian takes 10 points of damage.

DR doesn't stack, it overlaps.

EDIT: Ninja'd thrice!

Dark Archive

Thanks all!


Zurai wrote:


Basically, just rank the various DRs in order of magnitude, then go down the list asking "did the attack bypass this DR?". As soon as you answer "no" to that question, stop going down the list, because you've found the DR to apply to the attack.

I think this is the easiest example I have ever seen posted on this subject. When I tried to understand this on the WotC board, a while back, it felt like I was doing mental gymnastics. I did eventually "get it", but it was painful.

Zurai gets a cookie.


Whole lotta ninja'ing going on, glad I checked :)

Note there are/may-be some extremely rare cases of DR stacking (epic "Damage Reduction" feat, the beta Shield Specialization feat).

Also, if you have DR 5/silver, and DR 5/magic, you can call it DR 5/Silver&Magic, since both are required.

If you have DR 5/silver, and DR 10/adamantine, you effectively have DR 5/Silver&Adamantine and DR 10/adamantine. You'd need a +4 or +3 Adamantine weapon to get past both of those.

Edit: Agreed - nice job Zurai!

Grand Lodge

Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Has anyone mentioned that DR doesn't stack, it overlaps?

Just wanted to mention that.

KTHNXBYE

-Skeld


Does this also mean that a 13th level Barbarian (DR 3/-) wearing an Adamantine Breastplate (DR 2/-) only has DR 3/- ?

Thanks!

Dark Archive

Well, I would always rather have a bunch of answers that agree with each other, rather then opening up a can-of-worms like some of the questions on here have proven to be.


F33b wrote:


Does this also mean that a 13th level Barbarian (DR 3/-) wearing an Adamantine Breastplate (DR 2/-) only has DR 3/- ?

Thanks!

Correct. Most forms of DR do not stack. Occasionally you'll find a source of DR/- that stacks with others, but it's very rare and I've never seen any kind of DR except /- state that it stacks.


Skeld wrote:

Has anyone mentioned that DR doesn't stack, it overlaps?

Just wanted to mention that.

KTHNXBYE

-Skeld

Multiple overlapping ninja posts FTW!

Grand Lodge

Adventure Path Charter Subscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Charender wrote:
Multiple overlapping ninja posts FTW!

Ninja'ed posts stack instead of overlap. Duh.

-Skeld

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Stacking DR All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.