I'm currently playing a fighter2/rangerX mounted switch hitter
STR: 15 DEX: 14 CON: 14 INT: 12 WIS: 12 CHA: 9
Fighter 1 Mounted Combat, Ride-By Attack
Starts off pretty slow due to the low str, but picks up nicely at around level 3 when you get power attack, and when you can afford the str belt and rhino hide.
Pretty much most things die to a single charge, for flying enemies you can still deal with them with archery.
Downside is in core, there is no easy way to replenish your mount (and they do not scale at all). I have to almost buy a new mount every game as my GM likes to hit the horse first, at least until you get the ranger's animal companion.
That's true, but mostly just an example how it can lock down an enemy by making them roll multiple different saves to take away their actions, the aberrant reach can be taken at level 8, not ignoring it for sure, certainly a very good bloodline power indeed.
If that is not your cup of tea, you can also go for either elemental's Elemental Strikes or infernal's Hellfire Strike for extra 1d6 damage per hit, or Kyton's Painful Strike for caster disruption.
20 pt buy
1: Two-weapon fighting, Weapon Finesse
You can go with dual keen weapon later on, or get Improved Critical for 15-20 crit range with Dual-Blooded Aberrant/Fey blooded, take the first level bloodline power Staggering Strike and Confusing Critical, every time you confirm a critical, enemy has to roll Will save to be confused and Fort save to be staggered.
By the spell casting rules, you need to have sufficient casting stat to cast certain level of spells e.g 11 charisma for level 1 spell, 12 for level 2
In this case, the spell in question is a level 6 divine spell, which requires either 16 wisdom to cast for a cleric, or 16 charisma for an oracle.
Since it is a UMD check your caster level is not a factor. You go by the level of the person who created the scroll which has default rules.
So in this case, by default rules, does it mean that meeting the condition of 16 charisma for casting the spell as an oracle, all other rules of UMD follows the casting as a cleric (UMD for caster level)?
I reread the UMD rules and I get it now, thanks for the clarification.
Use a Scroll: Normally, to cast a spell from a scroll, you must have the scroll's spell on your class spell list. Use Magic Device allows you to use a scroll as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list. The DC is equal to 20 + the caster level of the spell you are trying to cast from the scroll. In addition, casting a spell from a scroll requires a minimum score (10 + spell level) in the appropriate ability. If you don't have a sufficient score in that ability, you must emulate the ability score with a separate Use Magic Device check. This use of the skill also applies to other spell completion magic items.
Yes, the scrolls are from "Clerics, Wizards or Druids", but by scroll casting rules, oracles should be able to cast them no?
From the example, the character does not have enough wisdom to cast the spell. Therefore, can he opt to cast as an oracle using UMD instead (So he does not have to emulate the ability score)?
This has been on my mind for a long time, just like to know what everyone thinks.
Example a character with 18 charisma and 10 wisdom decides to use a "Heal" level 6 divine spell which can be cast by both cleric and oracle.
By PFS rule, a scroll is always at a minimum caster level. A cleric needs to be level 11, while an oracle needs to be at level 12 to cast the spell.
Do I cast the spell as at a level 11 or 12 caster level, and which UMD check should I use, the cleric's (20+11) or oracle's (20+12)?
If you are going dex based, there is a new archetype in one of the newer book (can't recall the name) called the Urban Bloodrager, which basically lets you gain +4 dex like the urban barbarian.
Secret Wizard wrote:
Having a bit of fun with blood conduit at the moment, you can still release the spells using unarmed strike.
Bought a spell storing amulet of mighty fists at lv5 for double shocking grasp on hit. Provides quite a nice burst for low levels, but it does not scale too well.
Unstable Nucleus wrote:
For point buy, you want to use the racial +2 for your highest stat, you get more mileage out of that
If i go STR: 14 DEX: 14 CON: 14 INT: 13 WIS: 13 CHA: 7 with the racial +2 on str, I have 3 leftover points http://webpages.charter.net/tedsarah/Pathfinder/utilities/pointBuyCalc.htm
This special ability can be placed only on melee weapons. A fortuitous weapon grants the wielder more attacks of opportunity. Once per round, when the wielder of a fortuitous weapon hits with an attack of opportunity,...
1) I am assuming it refers to the wielder wielding this specific weapon, if not it is going to be far-fetched when I can just claim I am making an unarmed strike AOO and trigger this ability.
...he can make a second attack of opportunity with this weapon against that foe at a –5 penalty.
2) Ability specifically names this weapon only
Combining 1) and 2) means the ability only triggers when attacking with that specific weapon, and the -5 attack on that specific weapon only.
Playing a homebrew as a Brutal Pugilist, the story somehow progress such that I am able to turn into a Werecrocodile with the Grab and Death Roll ability.
Savage Grapple (Ex):
At 2nd level, the brutal pugilist takes only half the normal penalties to Dexterity, attack rolls, and combat maneuver checks when she has the grappled condition. She can make an attack of opportunity against creatures trying to grapple her even if they possess the Improved Grapple feat or the grab special attack. If she hits with this attack of opportunity, she gains a +2 circumstance bonus to her CMD against the grapple attempt. She cannot make these attacks of opportunity once a grapple has succeeded.
If a creature with this special attack hits with the indicated attack (usually a claw or bite attack), it deals normal damage and attempts to start a grapple as a free action without provoking an attack of opportunity...
Death Roll (Ex):
When grappling a foe of its size or smaller, a werecrocodile can perform a death roll upon making a successful grapple check. As it clings to its foe, the werecrocodile deals its bite damage, knocks the creature prone, and maintains the grapple.
If someone attempts to grapple and and I take an AOO to bite, is it even possible to execute grab and death roll before the opponent's grapple resolve?
Vaite Belleran wrote:
Caster level check basically means the lowest class level required to cast the spell.
In this case, Dance of a 1000 cuts is a level 6 bard spell, for a bard to qualify for it, he has to be at 16th bard class level.
So the DC is 20 + 16 = 36
Chess Pwn wrote:
Or dip one level of Mutagenic Mauler (brawler archetype) to have early access to the mutagen which stacks with the Empiricist levels.
Since this is core only, even with an animal companion, they die way too easily either. I'm playing a fighter/ranger which lets me at least switch to archery as a backup plan. I really treat the mount as a once a day thing. Just hoping to find a way to increase that to more times per day.
Same here, I figured a DC20 should be fair enough to at least make it do that, that was before I noticed it says "As a move action..". As a charge requires a full round, not sure if it works anymore. =\
Regarding the Mount Spell which lets you summon a non-combat trained mount, was wondering what movement is it to make it charge a foe or doing a ride-by attack.
The closest I have found in the Ride skill check which is Control Mount in Battle:
Control Mount in Battle:
Control Mount in Battle: As a move action, you can attempt to control a light horse, pony, heavy horse, or other mount not trained for combat riding while in battle. If you fail the Ride check, you can do nothing else in that round. You do not need to roll for horses or ponies trained for combat.
But this takes up the move action, so I assume it is not possible to charge to activated spirited charge.
The mount itself never attacks as I am using a lance.
Currently playing a core only game which I am using a purchased combat trained pony which dies too easily. Trying to find a way to replenish one in between combat.
Demoralizing is almost a 100% success chance at high levels as the DC of this check is just equal to 10 + the target’s Hit Dice + the target’s Wisdom modifier.
E.g. Lv11 with 11 skill pts + 3(class skill) = Total 14
You need to beat DC25 with a dice roll of 11 without any skill focus.
With skill focus(6), circlet of persuasion(3), masterwork tool(2) and maybe half-orc racial trait(2), that is 13 points more. Not even factoring in charisma mod.
You can't even fail on a 1 anymore, a -5 penalty can hardly be felt.
Deighton Thrane wrote:
To be fair, a non-combat pony can still be useful for carrying non-essential, but useful items. There's a lot less items in core, but it could still be used for carrying food rations, extra rope and the like.
Indeed, and if for some odd twist of luck that my combat-trained pony survives till the animal companion comes online:
"If you have more than one class-granted animal companion (or eidolon), you must choose which will be considered the combat animal at the start of the scenario."
I could actually designate the animal companion as the non-combat animal to carry stuff, the purchased one actually has much better stats compared to the animal companion version early on.
Darrell Impey UK wrote:
No worries, thanks a lot for the link! Played PFS for sometime and its already a common knowledge among fellow players, but never had a solid source.
Already had it in mind that the mounts and animals are weak and die easily, only treating them as a once per day thing. At least now I can save on buying a new mount every game(if it dies) when I get my animal companion.
I'm currently playing a core PFS game as a 1st level fighter. Planning on getting enough ranger levels later which will give Hunter's Bond, of which I will choose the animal companion.
I purchased a combat-trained pony at level 1 to ride and do mounted combat. The question is when my character is of high enough level to obtain the animal companion, can I still keep my purchased mount around?
My personal standard for melee combat is at least 14 con, if I ever have to drop to 12 con, I will normally get toughness feat so the HP is the same.
Although IMO HP total is not as important as your total con to determine if you bleed out and suffer a permanent death. Having a lower con puts you at much higher risk of that each time you fall in combat.
Zahir ibn Mahmoud ibn Jothan wrote:
That made me chuckle a little
I have already given up hope for any errata, BR and DD is one of the most logical conclusion anyone playing a draconic BR will come to, and this question has already been asked for a long time.
Honestly, I feel quite cheated by ACO after buying it and found yet again, they sidestepped the ambiguity.