Alhandra

Frankie Feldspar's page

63 posts. Organized Play character for Oddman80.



1 to 50 of 54 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Vigilant Seal

I'm looking for some ideas on how to turn something that looks like a completely impossible encounter into something manageable for the party.

Background:
I am trying to put together a 6th level game for my group. Idea is playing off of Nex & Geb being in a cold war... and Nexian Military Intelligence learns Geb may be planning to start a proxy war via Mwangi tribes on the Nexian Western Front.

The Party is a Nexian Military Special forces team sent to rescue an undercover troop that was doing some reconnaissance (spying) along a trade route to Kibwe. What they discover is a Vegepygmy village working with some intelligent Gebbite Undead to develop massive Alchemical siege weapons and munitions.

Now - a 5 man team infiltrating a pretty large camp of well trained/highly armed Vegepygmy and Undead Military officers may be theoretically possible.... They might be able to set up the perfect series of stealth rolls with coordinated distractions to get in, save the prisoners and get out.... But I don't want to put all my eggs in one basket ... I would like to also provide a potential Plan B option, were they to make some good perception checks or Profession (soldier) checks....

The most obvious is "chuck a flask of alchemist fire into the stores of Alchemical Munitionns - and create a huge explosion taking out a bunch of enemies all at once...

But that can't be the only move... I'm looking for help coming up with other ideas of things the party might be able to do to quickly take out large numbers of the Vegepygmy tribe as well as the undead, so when they do move in, it's just to clean up the few remaining tribal threats.

I'm using this map, in case it inspires any ideas....

Vigilant Seal

Dispel Magic says "You unravel the magic behind a spell or effect", and the Medusa's Focused Gaze ability has the |Arcane| trait, making it a magic effect.

But it also says the effect is Permanent. So is there still magic in place for the spell to actually dispel? If someone used "Detect Magic" in a room with a person petrified by a Medusa, will their stone form ping as magical?

And if so... were a druid uses Shape Stone to turn a boulder into a flat slab.... does that slab ping as magical when a nearby person casts Detect Magic? And could someone come by a year later and use dispel magic to turn it back into a boulder?

Grand Archive

Can you purposefully fail a lingering performance check so that you can use the inspire courage cantrip without using focus points, and thereby be able to use it with the Repeat a Spell Exploration Activity?


I have read the other Wheeling Charge threads, and i think i know the answer to this, but I just want to check.

Ride by Attack:
Prerequisites: Ride 1 rank, Mounted Combat.

Benefit: When you are mounted and use the charge action, you may move and attack as if with a standard charge and then move again (continuing the straight line of the charge). Your total movement for the round can’t exceed double your mounted speed. You and your mount do not provoke an attack of opportunity from the opponent that you attack.


Weeeling Charge:
Prerequisites: Mounted Combat, Ride-By Attack, Ride 5 ranks.

Benefit: When you are mounted and use the charge action, your mount can make one turn of up to 90 degrees as part of the move, as long as each part of the move is at least 10 feet. You may make an attack during any part of this move. Your total movement for the round can’t exceed double your mounted speed. Allied creatures do not impede your charge, though you cannot attack from or end your move in an ally’s space.


===========================================================
Since Ride by Attack allows you to keep moving past the target of your charge after you attack it, and Wheeling charge allows you create a charge path which includes a turn up to 90 degrees (so long as the segment before and after the turn point is 10' or more), AND it also allows you to attack at any point along your charge path...

Is there anything keeping someone with both of these feats from "Charging" an adjacent enemy, and then taking off at 2x their mount's speed (turning up to 90 degrees at some point along their getaway route if they so wish), while also not provoking an AoO from the enemy in the process?


Hey everybody, I am playing a cartomancer witch in in a Way of the Wicked campaign, and we just leveled up to level seven. That's the level when everybody starts taking the leadership feat. I convinced my GM that along with my group of witch minion followers, that my cohort should be an Ash Hag.

I am very excited for the various spell like abilities my personal coven will be able to accomplish, however, I am not sure how I should level up the ash hag at higher levels. So I would love your advice on class levels to add to the hag that would synergize well with the cohort's base abilities.
Thank you!


A level 1 oracle with the Tongues curse finds himself in battle and only able to understand and speak Aklo. He sees his ally is trying to tell him something important, but he doesn't know what it is. He casts "Comprehend Languages" on himself.

Can he now understand his allies (though not speak to them) for the duration of the spell?


I know - the answer is probably "You'll have to wait and see", but it never hurts to ask. I am a little confused about the whole Shield Block reaction - which lets you reduce an attack's damage by the shield's hardness, if you spend an action the previous round to raise your shield.

From the Glass Cannon podcast and blog discussions, it is mentioned that shields will get damaged frequently due to how popular this action is - and this raised a question - If the shield is only absorbing the "hardness" amount of damage, ans the rest goes on to hit the shield's wielder, then hasn't the shield actually taken NO damage?

If I am attacked with a hit that would cause me 10 points of damage, and I use my reaction to use my raised shield (which has a hardness of 4), I take 6 damage and my shield takes 4.... but with hardness 4, the shield takes 0 damage. No?

Or is it that by using the reaction the shield takes the entire hit - turning the attack into a sunder? And therefore the shield takes 6 damage fromthe 10 damage hit?

What am I missing?


You are a Fighter wearing full plate and a ring off Freedom of Movement. A high level Druid just cast the 8th level spell "Repel Metal or Stone" as you approached him with your greatsword. As a result, your sword and the armor you are wearing have been pushed backwards until you hit the corner of a room - where you become pinned in the book between the two adjacent walls. While you have been indirectly affected, the spell is not in any way directly affecting you. The spell has no saving throw, and allows no ability/skill check to overcome it on your turn

So, what would happens next?

1) Are you able to suddendly slip out of your armor as it now the thing that is restraining you?

2) Are you simply able to move freely, since both sword and armor are attended items and thereby an extension of you - therefore incapable of hampering your movement in any way despite the Repel Metal spell?

3) Are you stuck until the spell ends (barring a magical item that lets you dimension for out of your spot)- as it has already been established that Freedom of Movement does not let you pass throughc solid walls if you were entombed, therefore you could not move out of the armor, and you cannot avoid the result of the spell, since the effects are not actually directly affecting you? Plus, the corner position is keeping you from backing away further or simply moving laterally.

_____________________
I am the GM, in this instance, so telling me to go ask my GM isnt really helpful. I am looking for your individual take on this conundrum, as it will likely come up in a couple of sessions.

Thanks.


If you are under the effects of Greater Invisibility, would a "Spectral Hand" spell you cast be invisible to others or would it still be visible since it is not physically connected to you? Is the Spectral hand giving away your location?

What if, instead of spectral hand, you had a Hide in Plain Sight ability? If after the hand returned to you - having made a touch attack, you move and re-stealth - do you have a glowing hand giving away your position? or is it as hidden as you are?

Thanks.


What is the most "patriotic" build you can think of for this July 4th?
All Paizo material.
8th level. Multicalsses are cool.

George Washington as a Holy Tactician Paladin?

I dunno - what can you think of?


5 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

It used to be assumed that Speaking was the only Free Action that could be taken off turn. However this FAQ established that Free-action reloading of ranged weapons can be done in conjunction with Attacks of Opportunity (off turn).

And this FAQ added the Grab, Trip, Pull, Push, and Rock Catching abilities to the list of "free action abilities" that can be performed off turn.

It makes me wonder just how many other free actions can be performed off turn. Looking through d20pfsrd, there were a lot of abilities that specifically tell you you can use them off turn, while others specifically said you could only use them on your turn. Of the remaining abilities, I compiled the following list.

So - Which of these abilities could be initiated in conjunction with an Attack of Opportunity?

    FEATS
  • Power Attack
  • Enforcer
  • Beartrap Bite
  • Draconic Manifestation
  • Snatch (both the grab-like action and the free action release of target)
  • Shield Material Expertise(Darkwood)
  • Shield Material Expertise (Living Steel)
  • Iconoclast
  • Shared Stash (Free action taking a weapon from a willing ally)
  • Gun Twirling - to free action holster a firearm
  • Mark of Evil - free action ability to deform the target of a melee attack
  • Combat Style Master - ability to change combat style as a free action
  • Master Combat Performer - performing a combat performance check when the conditions of an AoO meets the trigger criteria (critical hit, max damage, successful trip attempt, etc)
  • Quick Draw - to draw a different weapon than the one you are already threatening with.
  • Broken Wing Gambit

    SPELLS

  • Invoke Primal Power (free action trip)
  • Glimpse of The Akashic (free action knowledge activation that grants bonuses to attack & damage rolls)
  • Keif Vigor (once/round free action to increase bonus granted)
  • Dazzling Blade (free action discharge of spell to affect adjacent creature)
  • Brow Gasher (free action discharge of spell to add bleed damage to a melee attack)

    CLASS ABILITIES

  • Unchanged monk Ki Blocker
  • Gunslinger's Bleeding Wound
  • Tranquil Guardian Paladin's Serene Strike
  • Ironskin Monk's Staggering Blow
  • Investigator's Twilight Talon Improvisation Talent
  • Devoted Muse's Circling Strike

    GENERAL FREE ACTIONS

  • Drop a weapon
  • Stop concentrating on a spell
  • Drop Prone
  • Change grip on a weapon (e.g., letting go of a two handed weapon with one hand, putting a second hand on a one-handed weapon you are already wielding, etc)


I just finished making my first Kineticist, and was shocked by just how few choices there are, currently, for the class. At a couple of levels there were literally only 2 things I could pick from, and it sort of takes away from the experience of building a customized character...

The same lack of dedicated content seems to extend into feats and wondrous items as well...

Its been nearly two years since Occult Adventures came out - and Occult Realms and Occult Origins may have broadened the elements one could choose from, they did nothing to expand the existing elements.

Are there any scheduled products coming down the line to help with this?


This came up in the game i was GMing last night - The party's Oracle cast Greater Forbid Action (No Attacks), and when one of the targets attempted to perform a Dazzling Display, the guy who plays the Oracle told me that that would be forbidden.

Text for Forbid Action (Attack):
The target cannot take any action that involves an attack roll, or uses a spell or ability that targets a foe or an area that includes a foe.

Text for Dazzling Display:
While wielding the weapon in which you have Weapon Focus, you can perform a bewildering show of prowess as a full-round action. Make an Intimidate check to demoralize all foes within 30 feet who can see your display.

Does Dazzling Display count as an attack for this spell, as it is an "Ability that targets an area that includes a foe"? or is it not actually 'targeting' an area, and the range is just the distance at which somebody can see how awesome some other dude's weapon skills are?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

I just attempted to run the game "The Gobbler" with my kids as a Thanksgiving day treat. it was fun, but pretty simple. Any one want to share any other Thanksgiving themed adventures you have run?

for reference:
Here is The Gobbler


I know there is a feat "Steadfast Personality" that allows a character to use their Charisma Mod instead of their Wisdom mod when making Will Saves for Mind-affecting Effects.

Would a a "Steadfast Intellect" feat be equally balanced, or do you foresee issues that could arise that are not present for the Charisma-based feat?


What happens if, during the 10 minutes of service you get from the efreeti each day (assuming you have rolled 11-89 on the d100), the Efreeti is slain?

1) does it just return to its bottle and wait for you to use it the next day?

2) does the efreeti return to the plane of fire?

3) is the efreeti permanemtly slain (absent wish/miracle/true resurection)?


Evangelist progresses the aligned class, giving you all of the benefits of the aligned class as if you had taken 9 more levels of it.

So a Wizard 5/Evangelist 10 has all of the abilities of a Wizard 14 plus the evangelist bonuses on top of that.

When you have finished the Evangelist Prestige Class levels, can you resume taking levels in the base class?

Would you have to go back to the 6th level and gain redundant features or can you jump to Level 15, and continue on from there?


What bonus (if any) does a creature get on its stealth check when it is completely underwater, while those trying to observe it are above water?

would it just be that the people making the perception check get a -2 or -5 penalty due to unfavorable or terrible conditions?


1) Do weapons with the "grapple" special property, still force you to take a -4 penalty on your free grapple attempt (after a successful critical hit) for not having two hands free?

2) If you have Weapon Focus (monk weapon with the grapple property), Ascetic Style, and Binding Throw, You should be able to make a trip attempt with your chosen monk weapon, and still use Ki Throw/Binding Throw as though you had made an unarmed trip attack. When you make the Swift Action grapple attempt for Binding Throw, would you take a -4 penalty for not having both hands free?


All Ioun Stones are CL 12. However an Ioun Torch says its just a burnt out dull grey ioun stone that has had continual flame cast on it. So - while it would take a CL12 to create one from scratch - it seems pretty clear that the process for making them in game is that you buy a used up old dull grey ioun stone, you cast the spell on it, and sell it on the cheap.

That brings me to last night - I had a Huge Water Elemental atop an underground river that wanted to use his DRENCH ability to dispel the continual flame that was on the Ioun Torch so that the archer who had tossed the stone near the elemental would no longer be able to see, and would stop shooting him.

It seems like with continual flame being a 2nd level spell, the magic fire would only have a CL3 backing it up, thereby making the Dispel Check DC a 14.

But the players said the Ioun Torch is listed as a CL 12 magic item, therefore the dispel should be a DC 23.

What do you all think?


I am starting to run book 4 of the Jade Regent AP, and looking ahead to the Forest of Spirits, I am a little unsure of unsure how to convey just how unique and mystical the place is, as well as how to tie together the various encounters that are just listed in thebook one after the other.

the only descriptive text provided in the book is:

The Forest in General wrote:
The Forest of Spirits is a vast subarctic pine forest separating Minkai from mainland Tian Xia. It is a dense forest with massive trees and virtually no undergrowth, almost continuously shrouded in snow. Beyond the outer fringes, there is a scarcity of human and other civilized life in the forest, though it teems with animals and the spirits that give the wood its name.
When Entering the Forest wrote:
A narrow dirt path disappears into the dark edge of the forest ahead. The boughs of the trees hang heavy with fallen snow, and an almost preternatural silence reigns over the area. Ahead, a small stone pillar engraved with strange symbols has fallen across the path, blocking the way forward.

and, after a month of traveling through the forest, there is this:

Quote:
The trees part to reveal a twilit clearing, the thick leaves blocking most of the sunlight from the sky above. A giant, wooden torii gate, unpainted and unvarnished, stands before the entrance to the clearing.

but in between these texts, the adventurers are supposed to be traveling for a month through the forest - encountering 6 different ghost-like spirits, 3 stone giants, and an insane dire tiger...

I'm just not good at coming up with setting fluff to keep the players engaged. does anyone have any recommendations or ways to describe the landscape in varying ways to set the scene for a spirit to then manifest?

I was thinking of just showing a series of photos, like these:
http://www.lovethesepics.com/2012/10/when-the-woods-are-scary-enchanted-for ests-like-brothers-grimm-broken-fairytales/


A Coup de Grace - as described in the combat section of the CRB, does not require an attack roll. Likely, this is due to Coup de Graxes being limitted to being performed on helpless individuals.

The Throat Slicer feat, however, allows you to not only perform a Coup de Grace on a PINNED oponent, but it also to do so as a standard action. Would this CdG attempt also be an automatic hit (and a critical hit at that)?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

if Magic Jar is used to possess the body of a Rogue, can the possessor utilize the rogue's Sneak Attack ability? is sneak attack, since it is not qualified as (Ex) or (Su) or (Sp) a natural or automatic ability in terms of the spell's function?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Let's say Mr Emerson P. Vilcaster (E. Vilcaster, for short) has cast the spell Magic Jar and takes over the body of some big strong meat-bag (let's call him Ayma Bigfellow), before setting off to attacks an adventuring party.

After the initial attack, the PCs choose to cast Enervation on E. Vilcaster/Mr. Bigfellow (as PCs love to do). How is Mr Bigfellow affected? How is E. Vilcaster affected? How is E. Vilcaster affected after Mr Bigfellow is slain?

Does anything change if E. Vilcaster is actually a ghost, and his inhabiting of Mr Bigfellow is via a ghost's Malevolence ability instead of a magic jar spell?


The original Path of War book included rules on how to calculate initiator level based on martial discipline classes and non-martial discipline classes, as well as how to calculate multiclass img between the two. Based on your total initiator level, you could check on a table, what your highest maneuver known could be.

With the introduction of PoW Expanded Archetypes for non-martial discipline classes, things seem to have gotten a bit muddied. Does a Myrmidon (Fighter Archetype) count as a martial discipline class, given that it grants maneuvers and stances? Or, do the PoW Archetypes count the same as their base classes?

What happens when you combine an Archetyped Class with a PoW Prestige Class? Do the archetype class levels get added in full or by half to the prestige class levels to determine initiator level? Based on this number, are you able to gain higher level maneuvers per the table in the original Path of War book? Or are you still limitted to the reduced level of maneuvers per the archetype table?


If you take the evolved companion feat for a bird-like animal companion, can you take the Wing buffet evolution without first taking evolved companion: wings evolution?

The evolution says you need the wings evolution, but if the creature alwready has them, is it still necessary?


The CRB says that when a character reaches venerable the GM should secretly roll their maximum age to determine when they will die of old age.

How?

How many die do you roll? Does it differ by race? The book lists minimum and maximum "starting" ages, but are their similar such things for maximum old age?


The PRD provides a bunch of rules for how spells (and by extension, spell-like abilities) stack or overlap, however it seems to be silent on the matter of (Su) abilities.

For example, if a party had two 6th Level Madness Domain Clerics, and they both used the "Visions of Madness (Sp)" ability on the same target (granting -3 to saving throws, and +3 to skill checks) the target would not have a net -6 to saving throws and +6 to skill checks because the effects are coming form the same source (i.e., the same (Sp) ability).

But if two witches use Evil Eye (Su) on the same target, do those effects stack?

What if a Shaman uses Evil Eye (Su) and and Witch uses Evil Eye (Su) on the same target. Would those stack? In this case, one is a divine caster and the other an arcane caster... also, the two Evil Eye abilities are different, in that one is mind-affecting, and the other is not.

What if a Halfling Shaman with "Halfling Hex" alt racial trait and the "Malicious Eye" feat uses Evil Eye on a target (allowing the Halfling Jinx penalties to be stacked ontop of the evil eye penalties), and a second Halfling with the "Halfling Hex" alt racial trait uses his Halfling Jinx on the same target? would the effects stack?


Let's say an evil cleric casts Greater Command: HALT on a group of PCs as they come up a shaft on a force platform lift. The force platform dissapears after 1d4 rounds of reaching the top. Anyone who failed the save and is not moved by an ally that made the save will fall down the shaft when the platform dissapears

What happens when the PCs fall down the shaft and inevitable move out of the range of the spell? Does the compulsion to take no actions break? Or is the compulsion going to last until the duration ends or the players save (whichever comes first)?

It seems like the spell should keep working out of range or else the FLEE command would make no sense. They would simply run away for a round, and then be out of range and break the compulsion...

Help?


When combing Manufactured Weapon Attacks with Natural Attacks, it is my understanding that the natural attacks come last - but I wonder if that is just a byproduct of the typical situation at low levels.

But lets get hypothetical here:
Lets say we have a level 1 Centaur fighter with the Adopted (orc) and Tusked Traits, and a STR score of 18. At first level, he can do the following on a full attack:

Great Sword +5/Hoof +0/Hoof +0/Bite +0

However, if you introduce the two weapon fighting and multi-attack feats into the picture, and switch out the Great sword for a pair of short swords, every attack within the full attack is at a -2 penalty from FULL BAB, so:

Short Sword +3/Short Sword +3/Hoof +3/Hoof +3/Bite +3

My question is - given that the natural attacks are no longer at a lower BAB than the manufactured attacks, can the natural attacks now be made first?

What I'm ultimately getting at:
The reason I am curious, is I have a Reach Weapon wielding character that also has a bite attack. I rarely get to use the bite attack, as once an enemy gets adjacent to me, i need to 5 foot step to get my reach weapon attack. After that i can no longer bite. It seems ridiculous that you cannot simply bite then step back and swing the reach weapon... I was thinking of picking up a Barbazu Beard, and the TWF and Multiattack feats (I also have a pair of unused claws). The Barbazu Beard description explicitly states:
A barbazu beard can be used as an off-hand weapon that requires no hands to use; thus, a warrior could combine use of a barbazu beard with a two-handed weapon.

so that specifically overrides the general FAQ about making an armor spike attack while two handing a weapon.

Doing so would allow me to bite, then step back and hit with the reach weapon. I have pushing assault, and this last hit could cause the target to get pushed back to 15' away, preventing them from full attacking with a 5' step.


My players keep coming up with complex situations I haven't thought about ahead of time. But I suppose that is just par for the course.

Are you able to use Dispel Magic to get rid of an Unhallow Spell that is carrying with it, it's own Dispel Magic?

Things to consider:
Unhallow had an instantaneous duration, yet last for one year (clear duration)
Does one need to target the center of an area of effect in order to dispel it?
If dispel spell #1 passes through the area of dispel spell #2, does dispel spell #2 dispel the dispel spell #1 before it can dispel the dispel spell #2?

Holy crap!!!! That was the craziest sentence I've ever written, and I don't know if there is any clearer way to write it.

Help?


11 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

So, I know that in general, Pathfinder Books do not make reference to things that have been printed outside of the PRD. So it is not surprising that, when the list of Unchained Rogue Talents came out with Pathfinder Unchained, the list was limited to PRD content.

Is it true that Rogue talents that were not redesigned, and also not included in the list of "Unmodified Rogue Talents" (such as Ki Pool or Offensive Defense) are not supposed to be unavailable for the Unchained Rogue?

Would this also extend to all of the Splatbook rogue talents like Sacred Sneak Attack (from Champions of Purity), Bomber (from Ranged Tactics Toolbox), Papercraft Tools (from The Harrow Handbook) and so on and so forth?

What about any new talents that were be printed AFTER Pathfinder Unchained - such as Developed Poison Immunity / Swift Tracker / Green Tongue / Favored Terrain from Heroes of the Wild, or Eerie Disappearance / Pierce the Darkness / False Attacker from Heroes of the Streets?

Does Paizo need to include text in all of their future publications saying "this may be used with either the Core Rule Book or Pathfinder Unchained versions of the Rogue" in order to be available for the Urogue?


This came up on a game last night:

14th level oracle bad guy casts Blade Barrier somewhere in the middle of the adventuring party. It is a ring shaped, and passes through the squares of three party members. One of those party members is a sorcerer.

It was declared that the oracle was gesticulating and saying something mysterious, yet none of the party members called for, or rolled spellcraft to identify the spell.

After the ring was placed, and it was realized by the sorcerer that he was about to take a ton of damage, he said "I cast emergency force sphere"

The GM said "ok, you are still going to need to roll reflex, as the blade barrier is in the sphere with you.

There was much arguing. The players all said that as it was an immediate action, it interrupted the spell before it took effect. The GM said that the force sphere was not cast until after the blade barrier spell had been completed. Players said that is not how immediate actions work. GM said, regardless, the sphere is open on the bottom and would not prevent the barrier from forming from the ground up. Players said the Blade Barrier spell would not have line of effect to get to the area within the sphere.

GM seemed frustrated, but said whatever, and proceeded based on player assumptions.

I know this is going to keep coming up and will be a source of contention if we don't get to a rules based answer that everyone can agree to moving forward. I've searched the rules thread, but I can't seem to find anything very clear on how these would interact.

I guess my two questions are:

1) How would these spells interact (assuming the center of the radius is outside of the force sphere)

2) When do immediate actions need to be declared?


So the Remorhaz has a Su ability called Heat, that says the creature "generates heat so intense that anything touching its body takes 8d6 points of fire damage. Creatures striking a remorhaz with natural attacks or unarmed strikes are subject to this damage, but creatures striking with melee weapons are not. The heat can melt or burn weapons; any weapon that strikes a remorhaz is allowed a DC 19 Fortitude save to avoid taking damage. The save DC is Constitution-based."

So it talks about how this affects creatures attacking it, and it even goes on to show that creatures that succumb to its Swallow Whole ability would take this damage. But that is the extent of the info. I will note that the Bite Attack does not list the extra Heat damage.

So my questions are as so:
1) Would a creature that is successfully grappled by the Remorhaz (via grab) take the Heat (Su) damage?

2) Would a creature that is Bull Rushed by the Remorhaz take the Heat (Su) damage? (it has Improved Bull Rush as one if its feats)

3) Would a creature hit by its Awesome Blow ability take the Heat (Su) damage?


I ran an encounter tonight with 4 person party (ECL 7) plus a level 6 NPC. They went up against a Level 10 NPC Oracle, a level 6 quasit-possessed NPC ranger (guide) and a couple of [cold] undead minions.

It was probably the hardest fight the party has faced in the campaign, and the party's I Ifrit Elemental Bloodline Sorcerer went down after taking repeated blows by a Spiritual Ally conjured by the oracle. Technically, the sorcerer was knocked unconscious and was dying before being revived... Then got knocked unconscious and was dying yet again, and was revived.... And THEN was killed.

All of this is precursor to the fact that the Sorceror LOVED casting Fireballs. And he had not hidden his love for fire upon entering the village in which this battle went down.., as such, when the campaign book said the oracle was to cast Protection from Energy before the combat began, he chose to protect vs. Fire.

Over the course of the encounter, the Sorcerer sent 3 different Fireballs at the Oracle, and due to the Protection from Energy, the Oracle never even took a single HP of damage.

Should I have provided a hint that the fire wasn't harming him? The sorcerer never once rolled a knowledge or spellcraft check to learn anything about the Oracle. Should I have prompted a roll? Described the lack of damage? I know PCs are gonna die, but this one seems extra sucky that he sacrificed himself to do one more big blast in the hopes of finally offing the guy, and the entire encounter he didn't ever even have any impact..,

Thoughts?


Is it only the "Improved" versions of the Maneuver feats that grant you the ability to not provoke when making the combat maneuvers?

If I am able to take "Greater" version of the maneuver feat, without having the "Improved" version, will i still provoke when making the maneuver?

For example, a 6th Level Maneuver Master Monk can take any Greater Maneuver feat as a Bonus Feat, without needing to meet the prerequisites. Would such a character still provoke an attack of opportunity when making a trip attempt with Greater Trip, if not also having Improved Trip?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I have been running the Jade Regent adventure path and the party is level 7 and travelLing over the crown of the world. We will be having a session on Christmas and they all implied they would love a little Christmas themed side quest.
I an on using the Zenith Games Deck the Halls module.
(link here)

But it is designed for level 4 party of 3-4 adventurers and I have a party of 5 level 7 adventurers.

URogue
Paladin
Winter Witch
Sorcerer
Kinetics

I am not good at going off book (this was my first time DMing) so i was hoping people might help me upgrade the encounters to fit the party level

I was thinking of making the nut crackers wood golems

And the tin soldiers some sort of clockwork construct gunslinger

Maybe giving the reindeer a Stat block of something with Trample?

Any thoughts/ideas would be appreciated
Thanks and Happy Holidays!


I thought I knew how this worked - but having just read the PRD, I am not so sure. I thought that if you wore a +5 piece of armor, and held a +5 shield, the two sets of enhancement bonuses did not stack with each other (since they were enhancement bonuses to AC). So the combination would still only increase your AC by +5 beyond what mundane versions of the combo would yield

However the PRD says:

Quote:
Magic Armor bonuses are enhancement bonuses, never rise above +5, and stack with regular armor bonuses (and with shield and magic shield enhancement bonuses).

This would indicate that the +5 Armor's Enhancement bonus stacks with the +5 Shield's "magic shield enhancement bonus", and that the combination would increase your AC by +10 beyond what mundane versions of the combo would yield.

Had I been doing it wrong this whole time? or am i missing something really simple?


The Kineticist's 3rd Level Wild Talent "Force Hook" can be gained by a 6th level Kineticist. Under the talent itself, it says:

Quote:

FORCE HOOK

Element(s) aether; Type form infusion; Level 3; Burn 2

Associated Blasts force

Saving Throw none

Your force blast hooks onto its target and drags you adjacent to it. This effect functions as force hook charge, except with the range and damage of your force blast.

Since the Associated blast is Force, does this mean the Kineticist cannot use this infusion unless they are using a Force Blast?

Force Blast is not usable until 7th level, and requires taking both primary & expanded elements of Aether. Additionally, the Force Blast itself costs 2 burn. This would mean that to perform a Force hook, you would need to burn 4 (subtract 1 for Infusion specialization, and then at level 8 subtract an additional 1 from the total)

This doesn't seem right - but how else are you producing the Force Blast that the infusion appears to be modifying?


I've seen the forum threads asking this same question (one from 2012, 2013, and 2014) and all point to the same Pathfinder #39 article: The City of the Seven Spears - but that article just raises more questions than answers.

So - in the 3+ years since the juju oracle came out has there been ANYTHING to help clarify how to price juju fetishes?


The Ironwood Spell says both that "While remaining natural wood in almost every way, ironwood is as strong, heavy, and resistant to fire as steel." and that "...ironwood does not burn. "

So if it doesn't burn... If you brought it to a heat that would cause steel to melt, would the ironwood melt as well?
Would it vaporize?
Would it just be non-specifically 'destroyed'?


3 people marked this as a favorite.

Post links to your recently deceased characters below, and give them a proper send off with allies that suffered a similar fate.


I am GMing my first campaign - the Jade Regent AP. At the end of the first book, the 4th level party of PC's is going to discover to Minor Artifacts - both with CL 20.
It will not be possible for anyone in the party (either PC's or NPC's) to make a DC 35 Spellcraft check to be able to learn about the magical properties of these items. Even with +5 to spellcraft from an Armillary Amulet, and a +4 Stat boosting item (neither of which are possessed by anyone in the party - nor could they currently be afforded given the wealth level in the game.

The two items in particular are these:

Spoiler:
Warding Box (Minor Artifact)
Aura Strong abjuration; CL 20th
Slot none; Weight 5 lbs.

DESCRIPTION
A warding box is a powerful magical container built to obscure and confound any attempt to locate objects kept inside. The box can hold one object no larger than 8 inches × 8 inches × 3 inches (or up to 25 pounds) in each of its three compartments at any one time. The box’s lid and additional compartments are sealed, but the box can be opened or closed as a full-round action. While the lid is closed, the warding box and all objects inside it are protected from all divination spells. In this state, no divination spell save for those employed by the gods can detect the warding box or its contents.

DESTRUCTION
A warding box can be destroyed by placing a portable hole inside it, closing the lid, and then placing the box inside a second portable hole. This second portable hole must be closed, and then a wish must be used to switch the two portable holes. Doing so destroys both portable holes and the warding box along with them.

Amatatsu Seal (Minor Artifact)
Aura strong (all schools); CL 20th
Slot none; Weight
DESCRIPTION
This stone statuette of a dragon is one of five royal seals of Minkai, and represents the Amatatsu family’s divine right to rule the empire of Minkai. Should no Amatatsus of pure blood be able to take up that charge, however, the Amatatsu Seal can invest the right to rule as an Amatatsu in any number of living humanoid hosts. These Amatatsu scions often experience a series of visions of the past, present, and possible future.

The Amatatsu Seal has a daily allotment of 5 charges that it can use to cast the following spells on an Amatatsu scion: cure serious wounds, remove curse, remove disease, or restoration. Each casting uses up 1 daily charge. Alternatively, the seal can cast heal on an Amatatsu scion, but doing so expends all 5 charges. Finally, and only at the seal’s discretion, it can cast resurrection on an Amatatsu scion, but doing so renders its spellcasting powers useless for a month.

The Amatatsu Seal itself radiates strong magic, and those with the proper resources can sense this magic across oceans and continents, allowing it to be tracked across any distance. Originally meant to allow its rightful owners the ability to track it if stolen, this feature makes it dangerous to remove the seal from its warding box, for as long as the warding box is open, the oni of the Five Storms can track it. The repercussions of this are detailed in later adventures in the Jade Regent Adventure Path.

One final ward exists on the Amatatsu Seal, confounding attempts to whisk it quickly away from its homeland but also making returning a stolen seal home an arduous task. The Amatatsu Seal can never be transported by teleportation magic or dimensional travel. It cannot be taken from the Material Plane save via special portals blessed by the gods, and characters who carry the seal cannot cast or otherwise use teleportation effects.

DESTRUCTION
To destroy the Amatatsu Seal, rightful scions of each of the five royal families of Minkai must, of their own free will, cast their families’ seals together into the Well of Demons in the Imperial Shrine in Kasai Harbor.

Now - while the PCs could probably go without knowing how to destroy the artifacts, or even some of the details about them - there are some really useful abilities that it seems like the game intends for the PCs to be able to use.

I know I could Rule 0 this and just tell them what i want - but i wanted to know if there were any other rules about partial information learned from magical items. I'm also just interested in general advice on the issue.

Thanks.


If on of the PC;s has selected the Missing Child Trait, is there a point in the Curse of the Crimson Throne AP that the PC ever finds the missing child?

I am a first time DM, and the PCs are about to battle Gaedren Lamm. The book says to have him barb and insult all the PCs during the battle... I might take the opportunity to say how his Alligator found the girl especially tasty, or some such thin - unless of course - there is a point further in the story that says the PC would find his missing child.

Help?


I specifically recall my Halfling rogue was supposed to have the ability to use bluff in lieu of intimidate (or was it diplomacy) for the purposes of improving someone's attitude towards you. I'm not sure if it was from an archetype, a alternate racial trait, a feat or a trait... But I remember reading it, and then choosing to put ranks in bluff and none in diplomacy or intimidate...

Can amyone help me?


I am a Master of Many Styles Monk 2 / Druid 8. I have NOT taken heavy armor proficiency, yet I am wearing a suit of +1 Wild Stoneplate. I spend the ENTIRE adventuring day in Wild Shape form.

1) While wild shaped in this manner, do I suffer encumbrance, reduced movement speed and Armor Check Penalties to skills?

2) Do I take penalties to Attack, equal to the armor's Armor Check Penalty?

3) Do I receive Wisdom to AC?

4) Can I benefit from Evasion?


When you knock an arrow - is that arrow enchanted by the bow's +1 Flaming property? or is it only once the bow is fired?

the reason i ask has nothing to do with trying to make a bunch of money with nocking arrows and then removing them and selling them as enchanted ammunition...

Rather - I am trying to figure out if the combination of Deadly Dealer and Abundant Ammunition works.

Deadly Dealer says you can enchant a harrow deck like a weapon with 54 pieces of ammunition.
A spell-caster with this feat can enhance a deck of cards as though it were a ranged weapon with 54 pieces of ammunition. This enhancement functions only when used in tandem with this feat, and has no affect on any other way the cards might be used.

Abundant Ammunition says when you take out a non-magic peice of ammunition form a container that has the spell cast on it, the removed ammunition is replenished.

So - if the harrow deck is enchanted, and you cast the abundant ammunition spell on the deck, are the cards in the deck simply masterwork per deadly dealer?

Quote:
...Harrow cards are treated as masterwork weapons when thrown using this feat...

have the cards all been imbued with the deck's special properties before they are removed? thereby not allowing them to be replenished? or is it only when the cards are removed from the deck that they become imbued by the decks enchantments and special properties?


I just learned about the ACG this past week, and I have decided I'm going to take the plunge and purchase one of the base sets. I doubt I will ever play with more than three other people. More likely I will be playing a 2 person game.

I have not played any of the Pathfinder RPG AP's off of which these are based, so whichever box I get - the content will be a surprise. I know that RotRL has a typical fantasy theme, and S&S is pirate themed... Not sure what WotR is... But they all just seem FUN! The game design/mechanics just seems great.

But I just can't decide..... Which base set should I purchase and why?


In addition to the target treating your allies as if they had concealment, does the Shaman's Nature Spririt ability Storm Burst (Su) have any affects on a target's ability to use ranged weapon attacks?

The Core Rulebook lists the varying effects that different levels of Wind and Percipitation can have. So it seems like the combination would impose a combined -8 penalty to ranged weapon attacks, and small creatures targeted would need to pass a DC 10 Strength Check to move if on the ground (DC 20 Fly - if airborne, with a -8 penalty), and Tiny creatures targeted would have to make a save vs. getting "Blown Away"

Sturm Burst (Su):
As a standard action, the shaman causes a small storm of swirling wind and rain to form around one creature within 30 feet. This storm causes the target to treat all foes as if they had concealment, suffering a 20% miss chance for 1 round plus 1 round for every 4 shaman levels she possesses. The shaman can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + her Charisma modifier. At 11th level, any weapon she wields is treated as a thundering weapon.

Blown Away:
Creatures on the ground are knocked prone and rolled 1d4 × 10 feet, taking 1d4 points of nonlethal damage per 10 feet, unless they make a DC 15 Strength check. Flying creatures are blown back 2d6 × 10 feet and take 2d6 points of nonlethal damage due to battering and buffeting, unless they succeed on a DC 25 Fly skill check.