Dryxxxa's page

*** Pathfinder Society GM. 66 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 17 Organized Play characters.



3/5

I've decided to retrain my level 18 seeker quite a lot to give her a better chance in the DPR Olympics, but I can't wrap my head around one question.

I took Snake Fang as a normal feat at level 3, and now I also have both Snake Sidewind and Snake Fang. I want to dip into Style Shifter at level 18. That archetype gives a style feat at the first level. My goal is to get Snake Style from the archetype and get a new feat instead of the one I took at level 3. I am not sure how to do it correctly.

Is it possible to take Snake Style as the feat from Style Shifter, and then instantly retrain the feat I took at level 3 into something more useful, all just for 5PP? AFAIK, having two of the same feat is not explicitly prohibited anywhere, they just don't stack unless the description says otherwise.

Or do I have to jump through hoops, get a style feat I don't need, and then do a whole lot of retraining? If so, how much PP would such a retraining cost?

I know that my retraining has got to be signed by a GM, but both of us don't really know how to do it best.

3/5

3 people marked this as a favorite.

First of all, further are spoilers from the special.

So I've got questions about the Scoured Stars Veteran boon.
Just a reminder, it reads "You can start a new character who begins at 2nd level. The new PC begins play with 3 XP, 2160 credits, 5 fame and 5 reputation with the faction that character selects a faction boon for. You must keep a copy of this sheet with the character."

1) Is it by any chance an example of bad wording or the new character actually loses out on those starting 1000 credits, i.e. has only about two thirds of the wealth a normal lvl 2 character would have?

2) What does "a new character" mean? What if I have some chronicles assigned to that number but didn't even bother to create a character? Simple examples of such chronicles are AP in campaign mode and GM credit. Can I finish the first book of an AP in campaign mode or GM a 1-4 game on 01.01.2019, then play the special on 02.01.2019 and then apply all that credit and the boon in question to one character?

3/5

I hope this is a simple question that has been answered before but I have unfortunately failed to find it in the forums or the guide/additional resources/campaign clarifications.
The wording for divine bond is pretty vague:

Core rulebook wrote:

This mount is usually a horse (for a Medium paladin) or a pony (for a Small paladin), although more exotic mounts, such as a boar, camel, or dog are also suitable.

Is there a list of available options? More specifically, can I have a halfling paladin with a wolf steed in PFS?

3/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

My group is about to finish playing The Dragon's Demand in campaign mode (not just the sanctioned portions) and I have a question about chronicles for the module. Judging by the amount of gold granted, the fourth chronicle sheet looks like it should grant 1 XP and 2 PP, just like a normal scenario. However, it's not written explicitly anywhere and I want to be sure that I give legal chronicle sheets to my players.
How many XP and PP is the fourth chronicle sheet worth?


For example, I'm an oread with the Fertile Soil alternate racial trait and the Magical Knack (cleric) trait. My levels are Monk 1/Cleric 3. Would I cast my domain spell Barkskin at CL 3 or CL 4? More specifically, when would the "as long as this bonus doesn’t raise your caster level above your current Hit Dice" kick in?

Magical Knack:
Pick a class when you gain this trait—your caster level in that class gains a +2 trait bonus as long as this bonus doesn’t raise your caster level above your current Hit Dice.

Fertile Soil:
Oread clerics with the Plant domain use their domain powers and spells at +1 caster level. This racial trait replaces earth affinity.


The Intense Spells ability of the Evocation school reads as: "Whenever you cast an evocation spell that deals hit point damage, add 1/2 your wizard level to the damage (minimum +1). This bonus only applies once to a spell, not once per missile or ray, and cannot be split between multiple missiles or rays".
I am not sure hot to read it: should I add bonus damage on every tick of DoT spells or only on the first one? Icy Prison is an example of such a spell.


The question's in the title.
For example, I'm a wizard with a Headband of Vast Intelligence +4. I need ten days of downtime to upgrade it to +6 at accelerated rate. But on the fifth day something unexpected happens and I have to actually do my job as a murderhobo. Can I use the +4 version of the headband while I'm resolving my problems and then continue upgrading it the next day from the point I left it at? I haven't found anything in the rules implying that I can't but decided to check nontheless.
Thx in advance.

3/5

This is yet another question about healing ability damage (not drain) between scenarios. The question is whether ability damage has to be healed before the scenario ends or it's ok for it to be healed "behind the scenes" after the adventure.
Now, I know this has been discussed a few times before: a bunch of distinguished GMs all agreed on the second variant in a similar thread and Joshua Frost said the same thing in the FAQ thread back in 2009.
But a very RAW reading of the Season 8 Guide pretty much says that the character has to heal ability damage before the scenario ends or otherwise that character should be reported as dead. And thus a number of GMs around where I play try to use the most official and recent rule and force people to buy Lesser Restoration (which can be quite noticeable at lower levels). So I'd like to find (or receive) and official answer on the question.

PS: here's what the Guide says on the matter:

PSF Guide wrote:
Conditions: Unless noted otherwise, all conditions,including death, gained during an adventure must be resolved before the end of the session. A condition in this context includes an affliction, a negative effect, or an effect that is intended to mechanically affect your character in a negative way. If such a condition isn’t resolved by the end of play, the character should be reported as dead and becomes unplayable. However, a few conditions need not be resolved by the end of play, including permanent negative levels, ability drain that does not reduce an ability score to 0, becoming a fallen member of a class that requires an atonement spell to regain class features or spellcasting abilities, and conditions that impose no mechanical effect. Permanent negative levels, ability drain, and non-mechanical conditions being carried over to the next session should be recorded on the Chronicle sheet.

Ability damage is an effect that is intended to mechanically affect your character in a negative way.