Corbynsonn's page

104 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.

Just curious how this feat and archetype interact.

Flinging Charge reads as:

Flinging Charge:

If you have a thrown weapon in hand when you begin charging, you can make a ranged attack with that weapon against the target of your charge at any point during your charge... You can then immediately draw a melee weapon during your charge. You take a –5 penalty on the melee attack made at the end of the charge...

While the Scout Rogue's archetype features read as:

Scout’s Charge:

At 4th level, whenever a scout makes a charge, her attack deals sneak attack damage as if the target were flat-footed...


At 8th level, whenever a scout moves more than 10 feet in a round and makes an attack action, the attack deals sneak attack damage as if the target was flat-footed. If the scout makes more than one attack this turn, this ability only applies to the first attack...

To my reading then a Scout Rogue, with Throwing Weapon in hand, could declare a charge and, after moving 10ft, make a ranged attack as if the enemy was flatfooted (Skirmisher) before finishing the charge into the target and making a melee attack as if the enemy was again flatfooted (Scouts Charge).

Is my reading of this alright or have I missed anything? Thanks for any help.

So the Rousing Courage trait from Divine Anthology states that:

Rousing Courage:
...Once per day, when you generate an effect that grants a morale bonus, increase that bonus by 1 for all creatures affected.

Now, how would this interact with the Cavalier's Banner class ability? Since it's a passive ability you're always generating the morale bonus, does the trait apply from the moment you wake up in the morning and secure your banner or, well, what?

Somewhat of a cheeky thread here. I saw mention of a new Fighter Archetype being released in a coming Player Companion that had Inspire Courage as a class feature.

Can't find the damn thing again now so was wondering if anyone had any clue which Player Companion the things in? Thanks again and happy holidays.

In regards to the Ranger VMC granting Favored Enemy at level 7 and Favored Terrain at level 11, does the bonus granted by both abilities increase at the listed levels?

That is to say only the bonus not the number of Favored Terrains/Enemies.

My google-fu seems a tad weak on this one.

Anyway, the Axebeaks Bite attack is specifically called out as having "1d6 + 1-1/2 Str". I'm curious what this means as, having only a single Primary Natural Attack, the Axebeak would already gain 1-1/2 Str on it's attacks. I understand the two modifiers do not/can not stack but I am currious how this would work when one throws in the Multiattack ability AC's gain at level 9.

Thanks again.

I'm struggling a tad with this so any answers would be great.

When taking a VMC do you count as both classes in the equation? The Parent and the VMC class?

So for example would a Fighter (VMC Bard) count as both a fighter and bard for the purpose of feat and magic item requirements, or am I simply a Fighter who gains specific class features and does not count as a Bard in any way other than those listed?

Quick question, the Human Favored Class Bonus for Cavalier states:
"Add +¼ to the cavalier's banner bonus."

Since the Cavalier can possess upto three named Banner abilities (Banner/Greater Banner/Banner of Solace through Standard Bearer), to which abilities does the bonus apply? Is it simply the first ability or is it all three?

In turn, if all three abilities would benefit from the Favored Class benefit would this in turn include the "Awesome Pennon" ability gained through the Standard Bearer archetype?

Quick query on how these all react:

Underground Chemist states:

Chemical Weapons (Ex)

At 2nd level, an underground chemist is able to retrieve an alchemical item as if drawing a weapon. She adds her Intelligence modifier to damage dealt with splash weapons, including any splash damage.


Precise Splash Weapons (Ex)

At 4th level, an underground chemist can deal sneak attack damage with splash weapons. The attack must be her first attack that round, qualify for dealing sneak attack damage (such as against a flat-footed target), and be directed at a creature rather than a square.

While the Alchemist VMC states that a PC does not add his/her intelligence bonus to the bomb's damage.

A) Do Bombs count as Splash Weapons for the purpose of "Chemical Weapon"
B) Does an Underground Chemist add his/her sneak attack damage against targets hit by the Bombs splash damage if the attack is directed at a creature rather than a square?

Thank you.

Before getting into the meat of it my question is a simple one, at Character Level 11 and then Character Level 17 can a PC activate his/her Bardic Performance as a Move/Swift action at the correct levels? (Character Level -4)


The VMC section states:
"A character who selects this option doesn’t gain feats at 3rd, 7th, 11th, 15th, and 19th levels, but instead gains class features from her secondary class as described on Table 2–8: Multiclass Character Advancement."

While the Bard VMC states:
"Bardic Performance: At X level, he gains the ability to inspire courage and inspire competence as a bard of his character level – 4 for a number of rounds per day equal to his Charisma modifier + his character level."

Therefore does the character:
A) Gain the Bardic Performance Class Feature with access to the prescribed performances, thus allowing him/her to qualify for Bardic Performance Feats

And B) Gain the ability to active said performances more quickly as he gains level, in regards to the section within the VMC description noting the character gains the class feature.

Thanks Again.

Hey there, just curious on how exactly the aforementioned combination of classes would work in regards to the Warpriests "Channel Energy" ability.

The Order of the Star's "Calling" ability states:

"In addition, the cavalier adds 1/2 his cavalier level to any levels of paladin or cleric he might possess for the purposes of determining the effects of channel energy or lay on hands."

So my first question is, since the ability states "Paladin or Cleric" will the effect function with Warpriests, as I am unsure of how hybrid classes work with abilities set towards their parent classes.


The Holy Vindicator's "Channel Energy" ability states:

"The vindicator’s class level stacks with levels in any other class that grants the channel energy ability."

So my second question is, since the H.Vindicators ability does not specify any particular class how does this interact with the Warpriest "Channel Energy" ability as that ability states:

"Using this ability is a standard action that expends two uses of his fervor ability... The amount of damage dealt or healed is equal to the amount listed in the fervor ability.

Therefore as opposed to an independent ability that increases as a characters class level increases the Warpriest's "Channel Energy" ability is reliant upon it's "Fervor" ability which neither the H.Vindicator nor Order of the Star specifically target.

In summary:
A) How does, if at all, stacking levels for "Channel Energy" work with the Warpriest "Channel Energy" ability as that is reliant upon "Fervor"
B) If it does stack, would the Order of the Star's "Calling" ability interact with a Warpriest's "Channel Energy" ability?

Thank you again.

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Evening All, first time posting so let me know if I make a mistake.
The feat "Skald's Vigor" allows you to, while maintaining a raging song, gain:

"Fast healing equal to the Strength bonus your song provides, starting in the round after you begin the song."

Within the "Inspired Rage" raging song it states that:

"If an ally has her own rage class ability (such as barbarian's rage, bloodrager's bloodrage, or skald's inspired rage), she may use the Strength, Constitution, and Will saving throw bonuses, as well as AC penalties, based on her own ability and level instead of those from the skald (still suffering no fatigue afterward)."

From this can I infer that if the Skald possesses levels in another class that grants a rage class ability and utilizes the bonus' from that class while maintaining the "Inspired Rage" he/she will gain Fast Healing equal to the Str bonus from the class ability as opposed to the normal +2 Str bonus from the "Inspired Rage"


Furthermore if the Skald also possessed a "Courageous" weapon which allows:
"Any morale bonus the wielder gains from any other source is increased by half the weapon's enhancement bonus (minimum 1)."

Would this in turn improve the Fast Healing being granted? For example would a 1/1 Skald/Barbarian with a "Courageous" weapon using "Inspired Rage" and opting to use "Rage's" modifiers have:

Fast Healing 2 (Inspired Rage)
Fast Healing 3 (Inspired Rage + Courageous)
Fast Healing 4 (Rage)
Fast Healing 6 (Rage + Courageous)

Thanks for any help.