
Pathfinder-Seran |
We're playing a mythic game, currently at level 10, third mythic teir.
Our cleric has the faith reach mythic path ability and last night went to cast heal from a scroll at range (20ft). We hit a bit of a hiccup, we were unsure if activating a scroll counts as casting a spell for the purposes of the Faith's reach ability.
My question is, can Faith's reach be used when activating a wand or scroll?
Has anyone ran into this before?

Movin |
Ok. So.
Using Items
To use a magic item, it must be activated, although sometimes activation simply means putting a ring on your finger. Some items, once donned, function constantly. In most cases, though, using an item requires a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity. By contrast, spell completion items are treated like spells in combat and do provoke attacks of opportunity.
Activating a magic item is a standard action unless the item description indicates otherwise. However, the casting time of a spell is the time required to activate the same power in an item, regardless of the type of magic item, unless the item description specifically states otherwise.
The four ways to activate magic items are described below:
Spell Completion: This is the activation method for scrolls. A scroll is a spell that is mostly finished. The preparation is done for the caster, so no preparation time is needed beforehand as with normal spellcasting. All that's left to do is perform the finishing parts of the spellcasting (the final gestures, words, and so on). To use a spell completion item safely, a character must be of high enough level in the right class to cast the spell already. If he can't already cast the spell, there's a chance he'll make a mistake. Activating a spell completion item is a standard action (or the spell's casting time, whichever is longer) and provokes attacks of opportunity exactly as casting a spell does.
Spell Trigger: Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but it's even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell. This is the case even for a character who can't actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin. The user must still determine what spell is stored in the item before she can activate it. Activating a spell trigger item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.
(snip)
--------
Faith's Reach (Su): Whenever you cast a divine spell with a range of touch, you can instead cast the spell with a range of 30 feet. If the spell normally requires a melee touch attack, it instead requires a ranged touch attack.
----------
Both scrolls and wands were crafted and cast by another person, you are simply activating the remaining the effect. Igniting magical gunpowder with a minute spark of magic as it were.
I'd say the only instance where item activation counting as personally casting a spell would get fuzzy is magic staves. Seeing as those use the wielders caster level if it is better the wielders spell DCs and use the wielders spell slots (assuming they charged it)

TheGreat_OldOne |

Thanks guys, maybe the troublesome lout Pcs at my table will show a little respect when I make a ruling. We had a 45 min heated discussion at the table and it really slowed gameplay. Also, I was glad to hear I was not incorrect in my understanding. To all the whelps reading this who play at my table, the Internet has made its ruling.

Pathfinder-Seran |
I agree that casting the spell is an activation of a magic item, but the faith's reach ability deals with delivery of the spell. would this be a factor in this case? using the scroll to get the charge then using the ability to deliver the charge at a range? like when you cast shocking grasp then move in to deliver?