Clarification request.


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


If you encounter a monster that doesn't require a Combat check (ex. Siren is a WIS check only); can you use a blessing with the appropriate skill bonus to your check? Or is this why the those blessings indicate the '2-dice to a stat-based noncombat check'?

I guess it boils down to is... does encountering a monster without a combat check still considered combat?

Only asking since I had an idea for a scenario, but it kinda hinges on this clarification.

Thanks in advance.


It's not a combat check, and cards that only affect combat checks cannot be used, unless "combat" is a choice (or the only choice) for the check to defeat, and you choose it.

With that said, any damage from failing a check to defeat a bane is combat damage, even if the check to defeat is not a combat check, unless otherwise stated on the card.


Also, if a card doesn't specify what kind of check it can affect, it can affect combat and non-combat checks. Is that what you're asking?


Not exactly, is about the 2nd power of most stat blessings... take the original example of the Siren and its WIS solo check, does Shelyn with 'add 2 dice for a non-combat WIS check' work here? I know it's not a combat CHECK; but you are still combatting the Siren, right?


Not quite. You are attempting to defeat the Siren, but you are not doing so through combat. So, for the same reason your Longsword or Holy Light would NOT work against the Siren, a blessing of Shelyn WOULD work to add 2 dice, because the Siren requires a non-combat Wisdom check to defeat it. Likewise, the Sabertooth Tiger would NOT help you against the Siren. Harsk could NOT recharge a card to add to the check against the Siren. And if Valeros was at the same location as you, he could NOT give you his 1d4.

See this post.

I hope that all helps.


Hawkmoon269 wrote:

Not quite. You are attempting to defeat the Siren, but you are not doing so through combat. So, for the same reason your Longsword or Holy Light would NOT work against the Siren, a blessing of Shelyn WOULD work to add 2 dice, because the Siren requires a non-combat Wisdom check to defeat it. Likewise, the Sabertooth Tiger would NOT help you against the Siren. Harsk could NOT recharge a card to add to the check against the Siren. And if Valeros was at the same location as you, he could NOT give you his 1d4.

See this post.

I hope that all helps.

Thanks Hawk, It was my interpretation of it as well.... I was just thinking about a scenario effect and how to play it out... just wanted to confirm before I broke the game by accident.

;p


I hope to see this idea of yours in the homebrew forum. Good luck with it.


Hawkmoon269 wrote:
I hope to see this idea of yours in the homebrew forum. Good luck with it.

Still tweaking things (and testing for viability); but check out the 'Q Quests' in the Homebrew. There's a couple of scenarios there.

'Hold the Fort' is the only one we've (my family) tested thus far though and I need to update some changes to it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Clarification request. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion