Spirit Guide Oracle With Arcane Enlightenment


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

14 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

In the Spirit guide Archetype, you get a shaman hex from a spirit every day. you swap wisdom and charisma, and you use oracle in place of shaman.

Arcane Enlightenment wrote:
Arcane Enlightenment (Su): The shaman's native intelligence grants her the ability to tap into arcane lore. The shaman can add a number of spells from the sorcerer/wizard spell list equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 1) to the list of shaman spells she can prepare. To cast these spells she must have an Intelligence score equal to at least 10 + the spell's level, but the saving throw DCs of these spells are based on her Wisdom rather than Intelligence. When she casts these spells, they are treated as divine rather than arcane. Each time the shaman gains a level after taking this hex, she can choose to replace one of these spells for a new spell on the wizard/sorcerer spell list.

Do you add them to your spell list? It dosent add them to spells know as per the FAQ. There has been many discussions i have seen about this in my LGG, but we dont know the true answer.


the "truest" answer I know of is that it does what it says so is useless for oracle since they don't prepare spells.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Moospuh wrote:
The shaman can add a number of spells from the sorcerer/wizard spell list ... to the list of shaman spells she can prepare.

Spells known is basically the list of spells you may cast. The only problem with this ability is the "she can prepare" phrase.

I suspect the intent is to be able to cast them. So expect table variance, as you will have people key upon the "prepared" word.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

38 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the FAQ. 4 people marked this as a favorite.

Does the Spirit Guide Oracle gain spells that may be cast when using the Shaman Arcane Enlightenment?

Spirit Guide Oracle
Arcane Enlightenment

This is very frequently asked.

Spirit Guide Oracle and Arcane Enlightenment
Arcane Enlightenment shenanigans
Arcane enlightenment, once more
Wandering Arcane Enlightenment Question (Shaman: Lore Spirit's Hex)
Heavens Oracle Spirit Guide Advice
The high Oradin of Arshea or the charisma-monster; an experiment in optimization
Spirit Guide Oracle + Lore Spirit = Ridiculous spell access
Oracle: Spirit Guide - Would This Work?
Spirit Guide Oracle -- A Mini Analysis
Help me pick four Arcane Spells for someone stuck to the Oracle Spell list?
Lore Oracle advice
Spirit Guide Oracle questions
New FAQ: New Spells Known
Oracle Questions

First page of search hits, there are many more I'm sure. I'm just bored. Please FAQ this question.

Sczarni

Your post is so pretty!

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Thanks! Hopefully more will think it's pretty and click FAQ!


This is a mess because also they'd be keyed off wis for dc while the oracle is a cha caster, the same problem they have with spirital weapon and ally

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Doesn't the ability swap Wis for Cha when you gain it via Spirit Guide?


Entryhazard wrote:
This is a mess because also they'd be keyed off wis for dc while the oracle is a cha caster, the same problem they have with spirital weapon and ally
AHEM...
Spirit Guide (Archetype) Bonded Spirit wrote:
... She uses her oracle level as her shaman level and her Charisma score instead of Wisdom for the purpose of determining its effects...

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Thanks Quandary!


FAQ'd and dotted...

Dark Archive

They actually swap wis and cha and vise versa for effects. So they chose spells based off their wis modifier while still doing dcs for cha.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Is this passive voice I've heard developers talk about? The use of "prepare"? Or is that more like "you may" and such?

Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
James Risner wrote:
Is this passive voice I've heard developers talk about? The use of "prepare"? Or is that more like "you may" and such?

Passive voice issues often look something like this.

Made Up Ability Passive wrote:
At 8th level, the cursemonger can curse anyone because she's awesome. The curse is permanent, but it can be removed as a standard action.
Made Up Ability Not Passive wrote:
At 8th level, the cursemonger can curse anyone because she's awesome. The curse is permanent, but the cursemonger can remove it as a standard action.
Potential FAQ Request Caused By Printing the Passive Voice Version wrote:
Hi. My character got hit by a cursemonger's curse, and I wanted to just remove it as a standard action, but my GM thinks only the cursemonger can just use a standard action to remove the curse. Who's right?


How is this even a question?

First of all, Arcane Enlightenment adds a number of spells to the pool of spells an Oracle can select from when preparing spells. How many spells do Oracles prepare? None. How many spells known does Arcane Enlightenment add? None.

Second of all, this is exactly the kind of thing the spells known FAQ was about. What is the reason to believe that this is an exception to the spells known FAQ?

The Shaman FCB that adds cleric spells has good arguments for being an exception, but Arcane Enlightenment doesn't. I would like it to work, but it clearly doesn't.


Now a in-depth analysis of the situation.

Arcane Enlightment is a class feature. Thus the wizard spells are added to the caster's list. But while the shaman can prepare his spells everytime, the Oracle is locked to his spells known, thus he cannot cast those spells immediately despite those being added to his list. On the other hand he theoretically can use them with items like Page of Spell Knowledge of the divine type or Spell Lattice, and can use Divine Scrolls and Wands.

Now the interesting thing: the Oracle at some levels can change the spells known, and so he could add those spells at such times.

Dark Archive

Entryhazard wrote:

Now a in-depth analysis of the situation.

Arcane Enlightment is a class feature. Thus the wizard spells are added to the caster's list. But while the shaman can prepare his spells everytime, the Oracle is locked to his spells known, thus he cannot cast those spells immediately despite those being added to his list. On the other hand he theoretically can use them with items like Page of Spell Knowledge of the divine type or Spell Lattice, and can use Divine Scrolls and Wands.

Now the interesting thing: the Oracle at some levels can change the spells known, and so he could add those spells at such times.

But even then, what happens when you change the hex?


Moospuh wrote:
Entryhazard wrote:

Now a in-depth analysis of the situation.

Arcane Enlightment is a class feature. Thus the wizard spells are added to the caster's list. But while the shaman can prepare his spells everytime, the Oracle is locked to his spells known, thus he cannot cast those spells immediately despite those being added to his list. On the other hand he theoretically can use them with items like Page of Spell Knowledge of the divine type or Spell Lattice, and can use Divine Scrolls and Wands.

Now the interesting thing: the Oracle at some levels can change the spells known, and so he could add those spells at such times.

But even then, what happens when you change the hex?

The spells known remain those but you cannot cast them until you add them again to your class list by reselecting that hex and those spells or other means


I would really like an answer to this.

I suspect Entryhazard has the interpretation that is closest to RAW. As a class feature this adds spells to the (useless???) list of spells you can prepare. As a class feature this also adds the spells to your list of class spells as per the FAQ.(Otherwise if you could prepare the spells, you would not be able to cast them because a different FAQ states you may not cast a spell unless it is on your class spell list.) You can use your normal allotment of spells known to select wizard spells you have also selected with the hex. Then you can cast these spells spontaneously as long as you have the hex selected. If you select a different hex, you cannot cast the spell spontaneously until you go back to arcane enlightenment.

Using Arcane Enlightenment, the Shaman is effectively a single class Mystic Theurge for prepared casters. Using this rules interpretation, the Spirit Guide Oracle is effectively a single class Mystic Theurge for spontaneous casters.

Paizo Employee Official Rules Response

Answered in FAQ.

FAQ wrote:

Spirit Guide Oracle: What happens if a spirit guide oracle gains the arcane enlightenment hex, which adds spells “to the list of shaman spells she can prepare?”

An oracle doesn’t prepare spells, so that particular hex isn’t useful for her.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spirit Guide Oracle With Arcane Enlightenment All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions