
Thrawncid |

This may have been "asked and answered" but I cannot find a definitive ruling on the following.
Understanding that the Exemplar would only benefit from the one active ikon power can you associate two weapon ikons with a single physical weapon. For Example -
Exemplar is wielding a +1 striking Great Axe and wants to have both Barrow's Edge and Titan Breaker associated with that single weapon. Allowing him to swing barrow, spark, switch to Titan and then next round swing, titan break, and back to barrow.
Thoughts?

Tarik Blackhands |
My thought is no. Item ikons are seperate items always.
It's implied in a fairly roundabout way but
"When you select one [ikon], you gain a non- magical, level-0 item of your choice that matches its usage entry." means you get a bespoke item per ikon you pick. Therefore no stacking non-body ikons into the same item likely so you don't end up with your example (or a barrow/gleam blade combo more likely). You'll need two 1h weapons if you want to juggle weapon effects or do some jank with Lightning Swap if you want to make double weapon ikon work.

Finoan |

I know I have seen this discussed here before. There isn't a definitive ruling on it.
There are balance considerations to take into account for the players at each table to make their ruling based on.
If each Ikon has to be in a separate item, then both Ikons can only be used in the same combat if the character is dual-weilding both weapon items, or if they are using the Swap action to change weapons. If the separate Ikons are in the same item, then no additional action is needed to use the Ikon.
The weapon Ikons have requirements on the weapons that can house them. Some of the requirements are more restrictive than others. This makes some of the Ikons a bit more powerful than others if they are allowed to both be used in the same battle without the additional hand usage or action cost mentioned earlier. Certain combinations can only be put on very specific weapons, while others can be put on a wide range of weapons or more desirable weapons. For example, trying to combine Barrow's Edge with Hands of the Wilding could only be done on a free-hand weapon that does piercing or slashing damage such as Spiked Gauntlets. Trying to combine Barrow's Edge with Noble Branch can be done only on a spear or polearm that does piercing or slashing damage. But combining Barrow's Edge with Gleaming Blade can be done on pretty much any sword or knife type weapon that you might want.
So, some questions for your table to ask:
Are you OK with a character putting Barrow's Edge and Gleaming Blade on a Greatsword and alternating the Trancendence abilities of both Weapon Ikons each round with no additional action cost?
If that is allowed, what reasoning do you give to the player who instead wants alternate the Trancendence abilities of Barrow's Edge and Hands of the Wilding on the same weapon but can only do so on d4 weapons?

YuriP |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

This was discussed in these forums before.
What happened is that during playtest, exemplar have this restriction that prohibits same item with 2 ikons. But this was removed in the final version probably to deal with the case of body, worn and unarmed attack ikons (unarmed attack ikons doesn't exists in playtest) that doesn't occupy a hand having some advantage over wielded ikons.
So currently there aren't rules preventing you to have 2 ikons in same item. Yet you still restricted to have only one ikon action and need to transfer your spark between these ikons as normal.

Dragonchess Player |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

So currently there aren't rules preventing you to have 2 ikons in same item. Yet you still restricted to have only one ikon action and need to transfer your spark between these ikons as normal.
Pretty much this.
You can (arguably) have one item that acts as two weapon ikons, but you explicitly can only have one ikon immanence effect active at any time. No "doubling up" of immanence for two ikons in the same object.
By placing your divine spark into one of your ikons, you empower that ikon to accomplish deeds beyond what it could in mortal hands. Each ikon has both a passive immanence effect and an active transcendence effect.

Teridax |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

From my reading of this part of the rules:
Weapon and worn ikons are tied to items of power. When you select one, you gain a non- magical, level-0 item of your choice that matches its usage entry. Providence ensures you come across these items; you might be traveling along a path to find a spear in a tree that only you can dislodge, or you might awaken holding a gleaming sash you saw in your dreams.
Each weapon and worn ikon is its own item. You obtain each ikon you pick as a separate item when you start, and can refashion a subsequent item into one of your ikons. Though this isn't explicitly outlined, I do think this indicates that the same item can't be multiple ikons. I would also argue this aligns with RAI, because transcendence forces you to switch up your gameplay based on the ikon you switch immanence to, a gameplay mechanic that would be undermined if you could just keep transcending into the same weapon to maintain its additional damage.