Rules: Knocking an Arrow and holding it


Rules Discussion


Hi, I am new to PF2e and just got the beginner box set for Christmas and immediately purchased Troubles in Otari for my son's birthday.

Situation: My adventures (children ages 6 - 14) were battling two crocodiles on the beach. They were close enough to the water, so the crocs could use the cover of the water to conceal and then use an aquatic ambush. One of the warriors asked if they could react with an attack of opportunity with her short bow during the ambush, and I ruled no. Then, on their next turn, they asked if they could knock an arrow draw and hold two actions to wait for the crocodile to come out of the water. I thought it showed original thinking, and so I decided to allow it. Then the non-warriors asked if they could do the same thing, on their turn. Already out on a limb I decided to allow it too. Eventually, they were smart enough to get out of range for the aquatic charge.

Question: Basically, I am wondering how experienced GMs would have ruled? I am guessing that knocking and arrow and holding action are not really allowed under P2e rules. Also, is holding an action for another player allowed in PF2e, or is that just allowed in that other oldest RPG 5e?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

this is what you're looking for. Sounds like you used it correctly although unintentionally.

You can "ready" any single action by spending 2 actions and then specifying a trigger.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

"Readying an action" is not part of the Beginner Box rules, so officially, it's up to the GM to make a decision and keep the story going. Nor is "Delaying" (the official term for "holding an action until a specific thing happens). Delay

The PF2 rulebook does have a specific rule that covers that case

Paizo makes all of their rules (Pathfinder 1, Pathfinder 2, Starfinder) freely available on the Archives Of Nethys website, as aobst128 linked to.

If you're running the game using the BB rules, it's easy to search AoN if you can't find an answer in the boxed set. Or just make a GM ruling and move on.


Thank Aobst128 and Dancing Wind. Both of your answers were helpful and appreciated. You are right, I was unaware of both the "Ready" https://2e.aonprd.com/Actions.aspx?ID=82 and the Delay action.


aobst128 wrote:

this is what you're looking for. Sounds like you used it correctly although unintentionally.

You can "ready" any single action by spending 2 actions and then specifying a trigger.

Thank you. Ready was exactly what I was looking for. Great answer!


3 people marked this as a favorite.

Clever kids. They are inventing the PF2 rules on their own. :)


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

“Nock” involves arrows .

“Knock” involves doors.

The Exchange

Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Tarondor wrote:

“Nock” involves arrows .

“Knock” involves doors.

I am Gnocking arrows from here on out, just because.


'Gnoch' and 'Gnoching' maybe. After the spelling pattern of loch.

And to make arrowheads out of flint, it is actually called knapping. Because English.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

"Gnocking" is just the Gnomish spelling of it.


There is also 'noughing' and 'knoquing'.


aobst128 wrote:
"Gnocking" is just the Gnomish spelling of it.

I believe that it is also the spelling in Gnoll. (The language, not the ancestry or the word.)

;)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Rules: Knocking an Arrow and holding it All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.