Brewmaster draughts functioning as potions


Rules Questions


Hello!
I am looking for ruling on how draughts created using the Brewmaster prestige class ability
interact with other feats and abilities affecting potions. For example the feat Two-Fisted Drinker, or Consume Magic Items Arcanist exploit. I can’t find any FAQ about this subject.
Anyone have any official insight?

Thank you!

Liberty's Edge

They aren't potions, so feats that interact with potions will have no effect.
While the ability makes them unique, I would treat them as infusions for interaction with feats and magic items, as, AFAIK, there is no support for specific feats or magic items and infusions seem the most similar item.


AoN/Brewkeeper wrote:

... A draught functions as a potion or oil...

I have a little Leshy Herbalist Brewkeeper that has all this going on, and as far as I know, it's totally legit...

Fortified Drinker + Faithful Drinker + Potion Master + Drunken Brawler + 2 Reservoir pts =
+2 Trait Bonus vs mind-affecting 1hr, and
+2 Sacred Bonus to Will saves 1rnd, and
Use own CL instead of the potion's, and
-2 Reflex saves, and
+2 Alchemical Bonus to Fort & Will saves, and
+20 Temp HP for 1hr, and
Extend + Empower Spell


They function as potions, thus consume spells, potion gluttony, accelerated drinker, two-fisted drinker, etc. all work on them.

Note that for an alchemist, they function as an extract with the infusion discovery, and thus the above doesn't apply.


Oh, neat catch... I will have to give my Leshy a second look. Thank you.


willuwontu wrote:

They function as potions, thus consume spells, potion gluttony, accelerated drinker, two-fisted drinker, etc. all work on them.

Note that for an alchemist, they function as an extract with the infusion discovery, and thus the above doesn't apply.

I feel it is worth noting that Two-fisted Drinker explicitly states “or other beverages” meaning it is not limited to just potions… extracts are still a beverage and should be affected by that feat… the same actually would apply to Potion Glutton as well due to the “or other potables” phrasing. Which to be clear “potable” means “drinkable” aka, a beverage… and as stated Extracts do in fact qualify as beverages.

Accelerated drinker is the only one that can’t affect extracts, as it only affects explicitly potions.

Liberty's Edge

Brewkeeper wrote:
Distilled Spells (Su): A brewkeeper can spend 1 minute distilling an extract or spell she has prepared or an unused spell slot into a draught. When she does so with an alchemist extract, the draught functions as if enhanced by the infusion discovery. Spells can be distilled only if they qualify to be created as a potion or oil from the spell but without the limitation of being a 3rd- or lower-level spell. Once a draught is created, it persists for up to 24 hours, even if it is no longer in the brewkeeper’s possession. After this point, the draught becomes inert and the brewkeeper regains the use of that extract or spell slot (although she must still prepare that slot normally, as if she had cast the spell or used the extract from that slot during the day). As long as the draught remains potent, it continues to occupy one of the brewkeeper’s daily extract or spell slots. A draught functions as a potion or oil, and can be used by any creature.
Compare to
Quote:
Extracts are the most varied of the three. In many ways, they behave like spells in potion form, and as such their effects can be dispelled by effects like dispel magic using the alchemist’s level as the caster level. Unlike potions, though, extracts can have powerful effects and duplicate spells that a potion normally could not.

Both things "function" or "behave" like potions, but they aren't potions.

And we know very well that extracts don't work with most feats that affect potions.

As an added proof, let look at two pieces of text removing the intervening blurb:

Quote:

When she does so with an alchemist extract, the draught functions as if enhanced by the infusion discovery.

...
A draught functions as a potion or oil, and can be used by any creature.

If a draught is a potion the first phrase is irrelevant. If instead, the draught works like a potion, but it isn't one, it becomes relevant.

You are making the same mistaken argument that was made for treating extract and infusion like potions.


Quote:

SUMMON MONSTER III

School conjuration (summoning); Level bard 3, cleric 3, sorcerer/wizard 3
This spell functions like summon monster I, except that you can
summon one creature from the 3rd-level list, 1d3 creatures of the
same kind from the 2nd-level list, or 1d4+1 creatures of the same
kind from the 1st-level list.

It doesn't list a casting time, range, or duration, I guess it's up to the player to pick since it's an incomplete spell and "functions like" doesn't mean anything.

Quote:

SYMBOL OF FEAR

School necromancy [fear, mind-affecting]; Level cleric 6, sorcerer/ wizard 6
Components V, S, M (mercury and phosphorus, plus powdered diamond and opal worth a total of 1,000 gp)
Saving Throw Will negates
This spell functions like symbol of death, except that all creatures
within 60 feet of the symbol of fear instead become panicked for 1
round per caster level.
Note: Magic traps such as symbol of fear are hard to detect and
disable. While any character can use Perception to find a symbol, only
a character with the trapfinding class feature can use Disable Device to
disarm it. The DC in each case is 25 + spell level, or 31 for symbol of fear.

Same situation, since "functions like" has no meaning, it doesn't keep any of the rules left over from Symbol of Death.

Quote:

Crank Crossbow, Light: This weapon functions as a

heavy crank crossbow, except that its damage, critical, and
range values are equivalent to those of a light crossbow.
Its lighter construction means it provides only a +1 bonus
on Climb checks and grapple combat maneuver checks to
pull the target toward you.

I guess this means it doesn't get the special ability of a heavy crank crossbow.

Quote:

This sack contains tanglefoot bag materials and alchemical powders that burn at a high temperature. It functions like a tanglefoot bag, plus a direct hit on a creature deals 1d6 points of fire damage, and the creature must make a DC 20 Reflex save or catch on fire. If it catches on fire, for the next 2 rounds extinguishing the flames is a DC 25 Reflex save instead of a DC 15 save, and using water to extinguish the flames creates a burst of burning material equivalent to alchemist’s fire making a direct hit on the target (including splash damage). After the initial 2 rounds, the flames may be extinguished as normal. Crafting this item is a DC 30 Craft (alchemy) check.

I guess tangleburn bags don't entangle their enemies either, have a chance of bringing down flying enemies, nor have the ability to root someone to a spot.

Quote:
This ebon rod is so dark it seems to absorb the light around it. The rod functions as a +2 light mace, and allows its wielder to see in darkness as if she had the see in darkness ability (Bestiary 2 301). Three times per day, the wielder can use it to create a deeper darkness effect (caster level 8th). To use this ability, the rod’s wielder must touch the target object, which is a standard action that provokes attacks of opportunity.

Hmmm, I wonder what a mace is, or what stats this rod uses when used as a weapon. It's too bad that any feats that apply to maces don't apply to it as well.

Or we can be sane and accept that "functions like" and "functions as" means that it uses the same rules as what it "functions like", in addition to what it does on its own. E.G. Drinking a draught provokes an attack of opportunity (unlike an extract), it must be drawn and in hand to be able to be drunk (unlike an extract), and it can be sundered.

Extracts (and only extracts) had a specific ruling that things that affect potions don't affect them, not a ruling that said anything that "functions like" something doesn't use the rules for what it functions like (indeed, such a ruling would break a rather large part of the game). Additionally, "behave like" is not "functions like", nor should be considered as such.


Chell Raighn wrote:
willuwontu wrote:

They function as potions, thus consume spells, potion gluttony, accelerated drinker, two-fisted drinker, etc. all work on them.

Note that for an alchemist, they function as an extract with the infusion discovery, and thus the above doesn't apply.

I feel it is worth noting that Two-fisted Drinker explicitly states “or other beverages” meaning it is not limited to just potions… extracts are still a beverage and should be affected by that feat… the same actually would apply to Potion Glutton as well due to the “or other potables” phrasing. Which to be clear “potable” means “drinkable” aka, a beverage… and as stated Extracts do in fact qualify as beverages.

Accelerated drinker is the only one that can’t affect extracts, as it only affects explicitly potions.

The FAQ/Errata for Potion Glutton explicitly excludes extracts. Two-fisted drinker might work, but tis an easy thing to rule against as a GM.


willuwontu wrote:
Chell Raighn wrote:
willuwontu wrote:

They function as potions, thus consume spells, potion gluttony, accelerated drinker, two-fisted drinker, etc. all work on them.

Note that for an alchemist, they function as an extract with the infusion discovery, and thus the above doesn't apply.

I feel it is worth noting that Two-fisted Drinker explicitly states “or other beverages” meaning it is not limited to just potions… extracts are still a beverage and should be affected by that feat… the same actually would apply to Potion Glutton as well due to the “or other potables” phrasing. Which to be clear “potable” means “drinkable” aka, a beverage… and as stated Extracts do in fact qualify as beverages.

Accelerated drinker is the only one that can’t affect extracts, as it only affects explicitly potions.

The FAQ/Errata for Potion Glutton explicitly excludes extracts. Two-fisted drinker might work, but tis an easy thing to rule against as a GM.

With that FAQ changing the whole feat acting as an errata, sure… but at any table that sticks to the original wording of the feat, it makes no such exception. Given that no similar FAQ exists for Two-Fisted Drinker, and that the feat effectively requires a full round action to drink two potions or other beverages, it is hardly unreasonable to let it work exactly as it says (thus not banning it from affecting extracts). Personally, I see the FAQ for Potion Glutton more as a PFS change meant to prevent drinking three potions/extracts in one round. The original swift action version of potion glutton was self balancing even since PF doesn’t allow using move or standard actions to perform swift actions unlike DnD 3.0, which means you can only ever drink one per round without provoking using the original text, the changed Move action version however… permits for two per round without provoking since you can always use a move action in place of a standard action… both versions have their advantages and disadvantages…

Furthermore, with the reworded potion glutton, Two-Fisted Drinker effectively fills the exact same niche… also, most of the arguments against the original wording of potion glutton cite it as replacing the need for quicken spell… since Extracts can’t benefit from Metamagic, the original potion glutton was the only option for alchemists to get swift action extracts.

Liberty's Edge

Willowontu, do you realize that you are actually supporting my point?
You guys are arguing that "works like potions" mean "is a potion", but then you present cases where "This spell functions like summon monster I" don't mean "This spell is summon monster I" and so on.

If a feat or power "works with potions", it doesn't mean it "works with potion and potion-like items" unless it says so explicitly.

A power that "works with summon monster spells" works with all "summon monster spells", a power that "works with Summon monster I" doesn't work with Summon Monster II.


Diego Rossi wrote:
A power that "works with summon monster spells" works with all "summon monster spells", a power that "works with Summon monster I" doesn't work with Summon Monster II.

You realize you just supported my point here.

I'm not arguing that an effect that works for specifically a potion of cure light wounds also affects a draught of cure light wounds (specific), but rather that an effect that affects potions also affects things that function like potions.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It is almost as if there is no argument at all. And, for once, everyone in the rules arena is holding hands, skipping through a field of flowers...

Liberty's Edge

willuwontu wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:
A power that "works with summon monster spells" works with all "summon monster spells", a power that "works with Summon monster I" doesn't work with Summon Monster II.

You realize you just supported my point here.

I'm not arguing that an effect that works for specifically a potion of cure light wounds also affects a draught of cure light wounds (specific), but rather that an effect that affects potions also affects things that function like potions.

And effects that work with potion don't work for thins that work like potions, as already proved by extract and infuses.

Work like =/= is a

So if the effect says that it works with potion-like items it works for a draught, if it says that it works with potions, it doesn't work.


Diego Rossi wrote:
And effects that work with potion don't work for thins that work like potions, as already proved by extract and infuses.

1) "Functions like" is completely different wording from "behaves like", so there's a difference in wording, not to mention that "functions like" has established connotations for carrying over rules interactions.

2) They had to call out that they function differently, which means that they're an exception rather than the rule.

3) Extracts mechanically function wayyyyyyyy differently from potions, the only points of commonality is that they can be dispelled, replicate spell effects, and are drunk. Draughts function almost identically, with the only differences being how long they last, and level limit.

Using extracts as the basis of rulings for potion-likes is like trying to use extracts as the basis of rulings for spell-like abilities. They're nowhere near the same thing.


Regarding specifically the OPs question.

Two-fisted Drinker: Yes. The feat applies to ALL drinkables, no exception.

Two-Fisted Drinker wrote:
You can draw two potions or other beverages—mundane or magical—from a pouch, bandolier, or similar holder (but not from a backpack) as a move action. As a standard action, you can drink two potions or other beverages. You must have two free hands to use this feat.

Unlike Potion Glutton there is no FAQ or Errata that adds any exceptions to this feat. As written it applies to anything you can drink, not just potions.

Consume Magic Items: No. the Exploit has very explicit wording that restricts what it applies to heavily.

Consume Magic Items wrote:

The arcanist can consume the power of potions, scrolls, staves, and wands, using them to fill her arcane reservoir. She can use this ability a number of times per day equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 1). Using this ability is a move action that provokes an attack of opportunity.

~SNIP~
Points gained in excess of the arcanist's reservoir's maximum are lost. This exploit has no effect on magic armor, weapons, rings, rods, wondrous items, or other magic items besides those noted above.

The last line of Consume Magic Items forbids everything not expressly listed at the start of the exploit. For the exploit “functions like” does not equal “is”.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Brewmaster draughts functioning as potions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.