Wizard Spell Refresh Rules


Rules Questions


Suppose a wizard wakes up after an 8 hour sleep without their spellbook. It is missing for one reason or another. It is given that they cannot prepare spells until they get their spellbook back, but once they do, which of the following is true?

1) They must wait until the next day and rest for 8 hours, then spend 1 hour preparing their spells. The idea being that you are required to have your spellbook to prepare spells, and you have to be preparing spells in order to prepare open slots. Since you could not do it after your long rest, you must wait until your next long rest to get your spells back.

2) They can immediately spend 1 hour to prepare their spells. The idea behind this is that each day after an 8 hour rest the wizard can keep or re-prepare their unexpended spells, and all expended spells are considered open slot until prepared.

I guess the ultimate question is: Does a wizard need a spellbook in order to refresh their spells/day?


2) The spell slot refresh (after 8 hours of rest mind you, they don't have to wait until the next day) is independent of whether they have their spellbook or not.

Dark Archive

willuwontu wrote:
2) The spell slot refresh (after 8 hours of rest mind you, they don't have to wait until the next day) is independent of whether they have their spellbook or not.

but no matter how much sleep you get you still only have x # of spells per day

"Like other spellcasters, a wizard can cast only a certain number of spells of each spell level per day."

No amount of rest or sleep can reset that "per day" (barring strange magical effects)


You are specifically able to leave spell slots "Blank" to be filled later as a wizard. It takes time to fill those slots later. You could leave all your spots "blank" until you go your spellbook, then memorize the spells then.

Leaving spell slots blank is a good option for many wizards, because they can then take 15 mins to memorize a spell when they know they'll need it, instead of waiting until tomorrow.


Its possible for a wizard to memorize some spells with the "Spell Mastery" feat. However its not a feat I would recommend. The number of spells memorized are too few (equal to Int bonus), and the selection is limited to what you have in your spell books at the time. So if you took the feat at level 1, then you could only choose to memorize 0th and 1st level spells. You can take the feat multiple times, but I don't think its worth it the first time you take it let alone any number of times later.

It should be noted that wizards get "Read Magic" memorized this way for free.

Having your spell book stolen is a rare event that might happen once a campaign, so don't expect it to be a frequent event. Still, its not a bad idea to have a spare spellbook for emergencies.


OmniMage wrote:
Having your spell book stolen is a rare event that might happen once a campaign, so don't expect it to be a frequent event. Still, its not a bad idea to have a spare spellbook for emergencies.

Secluded Grimoire is a 1st-level spell. At mid to high levels every wizard ought to have 1 prepared or have similar protective mechanisms in place.

I wouldn't just keep spare spellbooks however, but additional spellbooks with useful preparation rituals, since such spellbooks can give you very useful boons.

Liberty's Edge

1) A wizard can always memorize Read magic, even without a spellbook;

2) You need to prepare your daily spell slots when your mind is fresh, so generally, the best moment is just after waking. But you can prepare the slots and leave them empty.

3) You can fill the slots when you get access to your spellbook, but only if you have some empty, prepared, slot.

- * -

@Theaitetos: nice spell, but unless you have a Blessed book, after a time you have multiple spellbooks. 100 pages fill relatively rapidly.


Diego Rossi wrote:
1) A wizard can always memorize Read magic, even without a spellbook;

Don't you mean prepare? Memorize, isn't that what wizards did back in DND 2E. Their memory of a spell vanishes after they completed casting it.

I criticize because I've been using the very same word in a different manner. I'm trying to avoid confusing the OP.

Maybe I should use the word mastered instead, since its the name of the feat.

Liberty's Edge

OmniMage wrote:
Diego Rossi wrote:
1) A wizard can always memorize Read magic, even without a spellbook;

Don't you mean prepare? Memorize, isn't that what wizards did back in DND 2E. Their memory of a spell vanishes after they completed casting it.

I criticize because I've been using the very same word in a different manner. I'm trying to avoid confusing the OP.

Maybe I should use the word mastered instead, since its the name of the feat.

CRB p. 218 wrote:
Wizards also must have access to their spellbooks to study from and sufficient light to read them. There is one major exception: a wizard can prepare a read magic spell even without a spellbook.

So Prepare is the correct term. Memorize go back to D&D BECM and AD&D 1st and 2nd edition. Yes, I am ancient.


No worries. I'm something of a hobbyist RPG archeologist myself.


Diego Rossi wrote:
@Theaitetos: nice spell, but unless you have a Blessed book, after a time you have multiple spellbooks. 100 pages fill relatively rapidly.

Maybe you have a party member who can help you there? A nice sorcerer, or anyone else with access to the wizard spell list, can store one book for you.

Which is why I honestly think this spell is overpowered: My sorcerer used it offensively on an opponent wizard's spellbook (via Reach Spell). Since the spell doesn't allow a saving throw, there's little the wizard can do except to negotiate. :D

But once your 100-page spellbook isn't sufficient anymore, you should have enough wealth to create a Blessed Book; the saved material costs offset the book's cost soon enough.

Liberty's Edge

What wizard has a spellbook in a position where it can be touched (even if with reach spell or spectral hand) when there is a unfriendly guy present?

That notwithstanding, it having "Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no" is very questionable and probably an oversight.


Diego Rossi wrote:
What wizard has a spellbook in a position where it can be touched (even if with reach spell or spectral hand) when there is a unfriendly guy present?

What tourist has a wallet/purse in a position where it can be touched when there is a thief around?

Did you know that sometimes pickpockets put up "Careful: Pickpockets" sign in tourist areas? They do that, so people reassure themselves they still have their wallet by touching/feeling where the wallet is -- thereby allowing the observing pickpocket to locat the wallet.

And as a sorcerer, it's equally important to make use of such Bluff skills ["Haha, my familiar stole your spellbook. Want it back?"] when you're playing a CHA caster. ;-)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wizard Spell Refresh Rules All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions