Gnome Negative Energy Puncher - Please Advise and Correct Me


Advice


So, first things first, let me state outright: The goal of this thread is to make a viable punching gnome using the Fell Magic racial trait's Chill Touch spell. I would like to keep everything PFS legal.

Fell Magic gives you 1/day Chill Touch that scales with your level, I.E. uses/day keep increasing. Extra Gnome Magic gives you 3 extra uses of that ability per day. Recharge Innate Magic lets you refresh all your racial spells with a single 1st level spell slot.

So, the plan is basically this:

Step 1. Take a single level in Kineticist (Elemental Ascetic archetype). Pick Void.
Step 2. Make sure this gnome has high UMD.
Step 3. Get a wand of Recharge Innate Magic.
Step 4. Put all remaining levels into punch classes that are NOT Elemental Ascetic.

All of this should work together because, as I recall, you can combine natural attacks and unarmed strikes with touch attacks. And Chill Touch gives you multiple uses of it per cast, meaning - if I'm right - you can make a full attack and apply Chill Touch to each attack. (If this is incorrect, please tell me as this build sort of hinges on it.)

Now you have a punch-gnome dealing 2d6 negative energy damage per attack, forcing Will Saves out of undead (if they fail, they run away), and otherwise being... Kind of viable?

The issue is I'm not sure what the rest of the classes I should take are. My gut says "Lean into your Charisma! Put Agile on your Amulet of Mighty Fists!" However, I'm not sure if this is the right course of action.

Iroran Paladin (AKA Enlightened Paladin) with a single level of Scaled Fist seemed like a good idea at first. However, losing Smite Evil makes me sad. Smite Evil is such a good ability, and the Enlightened Paladin doesn't provide the same offensive oomph. It DOES give amazing defensive capabilities (it + Scaled Fist = one of the few cases where you can legally get double CHA to AC, I believe), but I feel my damage will feel weak in comparison to a regular paladin.

Scaled Fist is definitely an option, and it's available for Unchained Monk. I'm seriously considering that. Unfortunately, 'Negatie Energy Damage' and 'Dragon' don't necessarily fit perfectly thematically, so I'd need to do some backstory gymnastics. It also has a Will gap for Scaled Fist.

Brawler is something I'm putting on the table as well, but I have very little experience with it.

I don't know what other classes or archetypes would be worth considering for the punchy portion of this build.

---

So, is this all kosher? Does it work as intended? What are the classes you would use for the punchy portion of this build?


Also, just to check: does Fell Magic's +1 caster level bonus apply to the SLAs? I.E. does the Chill Touch SLA count as 1 caster level higher, meaning 2 touches at level 1?


Quote:
All of this should work together because, as I recall, you can combine natural attacks and unarmed strikes with touch attacks. And Chill Touch gives you multiple uses of it per cast, meaning - if I'm right - you can make a full attack and apply Chill Touch to each attack. (If this is incorrect, please tell me as this build sort of hinges on it.)

This doesn't work.

Some parts are right but not the most important part.

Chill Touch is an instantaneous standard action spell. So you MUST use a standard action.

Here is the important part of the rules:

Quote:

In most cases, if you don't discharge a touch spell on the round you cast it, you can hold the charge (postpone the discharge of the spell) indefinitely. You can make touch attacks round after round until the spell is discharged. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates.

Some touch spells allow you to touch multiple targets as part of the spell. You can't hold the charge of such a spell; you must touch all targets of the spell in the same round that you finish casting the spell.

So you'd spend a Standard Action to cast it... and then you cannot full-attack.

You cannot even use a Standard Action and then hold the charge to full-attack next turn.


Quicken SLA at level 10?


@Secret Wizard

Are you sure about this? Because Chill Touch seems to be an exception to the rules.

Chill Touch wrote:

A touch from your hand, which glows with blue energy, disrupts the life force of living creatures. Each touch channels negative energy that deals 1d6 points of damage. The touched creature also takes 1 point of Strength damage unless it makes a successful Fortitude saving throw. You can use this melee touch attack up to one time per level.

An undead creature you touch takes no damage of either sort, but it must make a successful Will saving throw or flee as if panicked for 1d4 rounds + 1 round per caster level.

It's not that you're attacking multiple targets at once, such as with a Scorching Ray shooting at multiple targets or somesuch. Rather, casting Chill Touch gives you multiple attacks.

If you cannot hold the charge, then you literally can't use it more than once, correct? Which would make the spell's multiple usage point moot. And there won't be any circumstances in which a level 15 wizard feasibly can attack 15 times in a single round, which your reading of the text would suggest he's intended to somehow do before all his chill touch attacks disappear.

Specific trumps general, right? Chill Touch seems designed as an exception.

Unless you're arguing that a spell printed before the existence of the Magus which grants attacks equal to your level should only be usable to make a single attack, period, before it simply cannot be used any more? Doesn't it make more sense that it's an exception intended to be used over several turns to make touch attacks, therefore being able to be transmitted via natural attacks / unarmed strikes?


The first quote says "as part of the spell". That's clearly referring to spells that can target multiple creatures at once.

Chill Touch won't let you cast it and then make a full attack in the same round regardless, though. Standard action to cast, full round to make a full attack.


Touch attacks can be held until all the touch attacks are used, and can only discharge one touch attack per round. FAQ. However, when used as a rider to a normal, non-touch melee attack you can make your normal number of those attacks. This generally only works the rounds after it was cast as Quixote points out. The free attack the round the spell is cast is a single touch attack not a full normal attack with the touch spell as a rider.

A magus using spell combat & spellstrike can get around that but only with actual spells not with SLAs.


So, basically:

I can cast it in Round 1 of combat, or BEFORE combat begins, and full attack in all subsequent rounds with Chill Touch each time?

If so, that's the interpretation I was working with. My intention has always been "cast it before the fight begins and full attack during the fight."

If all of the above is doable and correct...

----

On classes: what classes would work best here? Magus isn't really an option because it's an SLA. My instincts were Iroran Paladin or Scaled Fist Unchained Monk, as previously stated, or perhaps brawler.

I also have considered trying core Paladin rather than Iroran Paladin to get smite (which is handy dandy), but obviously I would have awful unarmed strike damage.

Are there any other classes I should be considering for an unarmed strike build?

----

EDIT: Quicken Spell-like is a fun option! It doesn't work within PFS rules, but I never knew that feat existed before. That's cool.


Shorticus wrote:
I can cast it in Round 1 of combat, or BEFORE combat begins, and full attack in all subsequent rounds with Chill Touch each time?

The FAQ page linked above says:

Quote:
Making a touch attack against an enemy by touching it, beyond the free action to do so as part of casting the spell, is a standard action. It can’t be used with a full attack.

I don't think this concept works. Unless you're a Magus with Spellstrike or have a similar special ability I've missed, you can't deliver touch attacks for free when you make a melee attack.


Medium of the master might be fun. I think scaled fist unmonk would be best though; its flurry comes in at 1st level rather than a mediums 6th and it gets bonus feats which can get dragon style without Str 15, etc.


Matthew Downie wrote:
Shorticus wrote:
I can cast it in Round 1 of combat, or BEFORE combat begins, and full attack in all subsequent rounds with Chill Touch each time?

The FAQ page linked above says:

Quote:
Making a touch attack against an enemy by touching it, beyond the free action to do so as part of casting the spell, is a standard action. It can’t be used with a full attack.
I don't think this concept works. Unless you're a Magus with Spellstrike or have a similar special ability I've missed, you can't deliver touch attacks for free when you make a melee attack.

Isn't that talking about delivering a touch spell just with touch attacks? You can deliver touch spells via unarmed strikes, which operates differently, allowing full attacks. See below:

FAQ wrote:

Q: Touch Spells: In the Magic and Combat chapters, it says that I can touch a single ally as a standard action or up to six allies as a full-round action and that I can combine delivering a touch spell with a natural attack or unarmed strike. But what if I just want to deliver the touch spell to an enemy? It just says I can do it “round after round.”

A: Making a touch attack against an enemy by touching it, beyond the free action to do so as part of casting the spell, is a standard action. It can’t be used with a full attack.

This SEEMS to be specifically talking about delivering touch spells with touch attacks, NOT delivering them with unarmed strikes or natural attacks, which it specifically mentions beforehand. (I.E. you can't full attack with just touching at touch AC.)

If I'm wrong, then that's fair. Chill Touch is a bonkers spell, so I apologize for my confusion.

avr wrote:
Medium of the master might be fun. I think scaled fist unmonk would be best though; its flurry comes in at 1st level rather than a mediums 6th and it gets bonus feats which can get dragon style without Str 15, etc.

Dragon Style... Yeah, that's important. IF this works (again, see my question to Matthew above) then Dragon Style would definitely be an almost must-have.


Good point, I was only looking at the answer, not the question.
The actual rule is:

Quote:
Holding the Charge: If you don’t discharge the spell in the round when you cast the spell, you can hold the charge indefinitely. You can continue to make touch attacks round after round. If you touch anything or anyone while holding a charge, even unintentionally, the spell discharges. If you cast another spell, the touch spell dissipates. You can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action. Alternatively, you may make a normal unarmed attack (or an attack with a natural weapon) while holding a charge. In this case, you aren’t considered armed and you provoke attacks of opportunity as normal for the attack. If your unarmed attack or natural weapon attack normally doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity, neither does this attack. If the attack hits, you deal normal damage for your unarmed attack or natural weapon and the spell discharges. If the attack misses, you are still holding the charge.

So it looks like, by RAW, delivering a touch spell by punching someone is not affected by the "making a touch attack against an enemy is a standard action" rule and this technique does work.


Hi, just going back to say that Chill Touch is not an exception.

Chill Touch is meant to be used to hit many adjacent enemies when used, instantaneously.

Chill Touch has no duration, so you don't keep the charges after the turn you use it.

I can be wrong but I stand by the fact that you cannot hold the charge on it, due to this:

Quote:
Some touch spells allow you to touch multiple targets as part of the spell. You can't hold the charge of such a spell; you must touch all targets of the spell in the same round that you finish casting the spell.


This FAQ seems to state otherwise.

FAQ wrote:

If a spell allows multiple touches, are you considered to be holding the charge until all charges are expended?

Yes.

As for touching multiple targets in a single round as part of casting the spell. That's only possible if the targets are willing.

Touch wrote:
You must touch a creature or object to affect it. A touch spell that deals damage can score a critical hit just as a weapon can. A touch spell threatens a critical hit on a natural roll of 20 and deals double damage on a successful critical hit. Some touch spells allow you to touch multiple targets. You can touch up to 6 willing targets as part of the casting, but all targets of the spell must be touched in the same round that you finish casting the spell. If the spell allows you to touch targets over multiple rounds, touching 6 creatures is a full-round action.

Since enemies aren't really willing targets chill touch only grants you a single free touch when casting the spell. It's not a first level spell that lets you do some kind of whirlwind attack. Luckly, because of the FAQ you're still considered to be holding the charge after casting allowing you to hit the rest of your targets on subsequent rounds until the spell has fully discharged.

edit: admittedly, it is a little confusing but the part that Secret Wizard is referencing (and which I fully quoted above) is the opposite of a limitation. It's saying that you can touch 6 willing targets for free as part of the initial casting of the spell and that you can even touch them (for free) after you finish casting, so long as those touches happen before the round ends. This allows additional allies to run up to you and get "touched" even after you're done casting so long as they do so before the end of the round.


Discussion of how Chill Touch works
It doesn't have a duration because it lasts indefinitely until expended, in the same way that other touch spells allow you to hold a charge indefinitely.


Secret Wizard wrote:

Hi, just going back to say that Chill Touch is not an exception.

Chill Touch is meant to be used to hit many adjacent enemies when used, instantaneously.

Chill Touch has no duration, so you don't keep the charges after the turn you use it.

I can be wrong but I stand by the fact that you cannot hold the charge on it, due to this:

Quote:
Some touch spells allow you to touch multiple targets as part of the spell. You can't hold the charge of such a spell; you must touch all targets of the spell in the same round that you finish casting the spell.

What you're quoting refers to multi-touch spells like the Communal Buff spells, such as Communal Endure Elements. You don't maintain the ability to touch people for 24 hours and spread the effect. Within the round of casting, you touch up to six allies (which may include yourself) and distribute the 24 hours of duration among them. You can't touch three, then touch three next round, because there's no charge to hold.

Chill touch and frostbite are weird. They grant multiple touch attacks, which often can't be used within 1 round because most targets aren't going to be willing to eat touch attacks unless they're unconscious. So they MUST carry some effect over in order to get all of their touches.

FAQ wrote:

Touch Spells: If a spell allows multiple touches, are you considered to be holding the charge until all charges are expended?

- Yes.

And that effect has been ruled, by FAQ, to be holding the charge.

With regard to reach spell: yes, you would be "holding the charge" with respect to your unused ranged touches, but never those that you have used (hit or miss).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Gnome Negative Energy Puncher - Please Advise and Correct Me All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Advice