Question about Kess


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Kess Second Power says

On your check against a monster on which you do not play a weapon or a spell, you may recharge an ally to add 1d4 plus that card's level

So can I recharge an Ally to get 1D4+Level/later 1D8+Level on a "Befor Acting Roll" of a monster.

I think it's only meant for a combat roll, but the Text dosen't ecplixitly say so.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Razzark wrote:
I think it's only meant for a combat roll, but the Text dosen't ecplixitly say so.

The text is explicitly formulated to NOT say so, so I don't know why you would think otherwise (possibly because of the "no weapon or spell" qualifier? But they need that because the power ALSO works on combat checks). Kess knows all sorts - and they're helpful for other things besides hitting people on the head :)


Yep, "check against" is literally any check against a card: before acting, after acting, a check to defeat, a "when encountered" check, and another checks vs. that card.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Just affirming the previous two answers, but also mentioning that Hakon, Amiri and Kess all intentionally can assist "any" check against monsters very effectively, making them consistently good at dealing with any monster in any location, even those that lean heavily on non-combat checks to defeat or Before/After Acting checks. It's a big post-Core design feature that helps distinguish them from the (otherwise) somewhat more flexible martial classes like Fighters and Rangers.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Question about Kess All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion