
Rurric |

Sorry everybody - I'm sure this is somewhere and I feel like a read it but can't find it now.
When you cast a summon monster - does it cost you an action each round to keep said summon out as well as control it?
I thought it took a standard action... but can't seem to find that in the CRB
Thanks a ton!

Pupsocket |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

At the moment of summoning, the creature is imbued with your perception of "enemies" and "allies", Unless directed otherwise - and the spell gives you no special ability to communicate - the creature attacks "enemies" to the best of it's ability.
If it has the "smite" ability, it's going to assume that whoever it's fighting in this strange place is probably of the oppoesite alignment, and use Smite at it's first opportunity.

Mojorat |

At the moment of summoning, the creature is imbued with your perception of "enemies" and "allies", Unless directed otherwise - and the spell gives you no special ability to communicate - the creature attacks "enemies" to the best of it's ability.
If it has the "smite" ability, it's going to assume that whoever it's fighting in this strange place is probably of the oppoesite alignment, and use Smite at it's first opportunity.
There are some mis conseptions here. Your confusing the paradigm under which most people play with the rules. Without the above belief a lot of summons would be unplayable.
However. Neither the spell or the entry on conjuration subschool support it.
"Summoning: A summoning spell instantly brings a creature or object to a place you designate. When the spell ends or is dispelled, a summoned creature is instantly sent back to where it came from, but a summoned object is not sent back unless the spell description specifically indicates this. A summoned creature also goes away if it is killed or if its hit points drop to 0 or lower, but it is not really dead. It takes 24 hours for the creature to reform, during which time it can't be summoned again."
That said I doubt many people play needing to micromanage the who to attack info.

![]() |

Pupsocket wrote:At the moment of summoning, the creature is imbued with your perception of "enemies" and "allies", Unless directed otherwise - and the spell gives you no special ability to communicate - the creature attacks "enemies" to the best of it's ability.
If it has the "smite" ability, it's going to assume that whoever it's fighting in this strange place is probably of the oppoesite alignment, and use Smite at it's first opportunity.
There are some mis conseptions here. Your confusing the paradigm under which most people play with the rules. Without the above belief a lot of summons would be unplayable.
However. Neither the spell or the entry on conjuration subschool support it.
"Summoning: A summoning spell instantly brings a creature or object to a place you designate. When the spell ends or is dispelled, a summoned creature is instantly sent back to where it came from, but a summoned object is not sent back unless the spell description specifically indicates this. A summoned creature also goes away if it is killed or if its hit points drop to 0 or lower, but it is not really dead. It takes 24 hours for the creature to reform, during which time it can't be summoned again."
That said I doubt many people play needing to micromanage the who to attack info.
There have been a lot of discussions about summoned behaviour. The numerous abilities available by summoning creatures, and the ways those could potentially be applied have caused many headaches. The clarifications are in place for when it gets hairy (and it often does.)