Evil trait and Embrace the Pit confusion

Rules Discussion

So abilities and spells listed with the evil trait state "An ability with this trait can be selected or used only by evil creatures" while the description for Embrace the Pit states "You can take good damage, even if you aren't evil, and you gain weakness 5 to good damage". This suggests a good or neutral aligned character can cast Embrace the Pit even though it has the evil trait. So this seems to be an error.

The alignment traits have already been called out - and acknowledged by paizo - as something that needs a closer look and will probably be changed in an upcoming update.

First round of updates is tentatively scheduled for late October and as Blave said paizo knows about this issue. If it gets changed, expect it in a few weeks (and it probably will change).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Evil trait and Embrace the Pit confusion All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.