Multi Class Questions


Rules Discussion


I apologize if this has been asked but I cannot seem to find a thread dedicated to it.

If a character is going to multi class or take another archetype from the Lost Worlds book, do they have to take the feat at 2nd level or can they take it later on?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Later is fine. Feat level is always the minimum you can take it at, not the maximum (there is no maximum).


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Unless there is a specific statement in the feat text to the contrary, you can take any feat at the earliest possible level or at any subsequent level where you are able to take a feat of that type.

The only exceptions I am aware of are certain 1st level ancestry feats that are so tied to physical characteristics that you can take them only at 1st level.


This makes sense. Thank you all for your quick responses. I am getting ready to run a 2E campaign (the new AP) and just wanted to make sure.


Is that the same for regular class feats as well?


Does this include other class feats?

Sovereign Court

Terevalis Unctio of House Mysti wrote:
Does this include other class feats?

All feats list the minimum level you may take it at. You can always take it later unless specified. This goes for Class, General, and Skill feats, and most Ancestry feats.


Yes, Class feats Levels are the minimum Level, not a max. So if you were to gain a Level 10 class Feat option, you can use it to gain any level 10 or lower class feat. <with exceptions mentioned in the feat itself, and meeting other requirements such as having other specific feats.)


3 people marked this as a favorite.

Thank you all so much!

I am sorry for repeating the question earlier. That is what I get for using my phone and not double checking after I hit submit and trying to grocery shop.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Terevalis Unctio of House Mysti wrote:

Thank you all so much!

I am sorry for repeating the question earlier. That is what I get for using my phone and not double checking after I hit submit and trying to grocery shop.

Also there is a recent-ish bug in the forums that causes some new posts not to show up for ~1 min, so even double-checking is not a sure thing. :-(


I am liking this system more and more. Anyone, it seems can take the various archetype feats that are presented in the Lost Omens book, correct?


The Lost Omens book indicated that access is granted by being from the region in question. I'm not so sure that "anyone" can. At least, that's something they'd need to work to gain access to once they arrived in said region.


This also makes sense. It helps to give characters a sense of being from the region. I wish that they would have included the elven Light bearers.


We start next Thursday. Last night was character creation.


Terevalis Unctio of House Mysti wrote:
Does this include other class feats?

just to clarify. If you're taking feats from another class via multiclass dedication. The feat is the multiclass feat that gives you the class feat.

Those have their own level minimums (4 usually I think for almost all? most anyway). Each of those feats have their own restrictions on which feat you get from the multiclass as well. (like the entry one is lv 1 or 2 feats only. while the next one is 1/2lv feats)


Thank you. That makes sense. It looks like the Bellflower Agent in the 3rd of the new AP books has a listing of 6th level to take the dedication feat.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Multi Class Questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.