What kind of action is it to grab your weapon?


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Pawns, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Say I am holding a two-handed weapon in one hand (not wielding it); what kind of action is it for me to grab it with my free hand (so that I am again wielding it)?

My players and I could not find a clearly defined rule on the matter.

Is it a free action, like releasing it was? Or is it a single (interact) action? Or something else?

We're kind of surprised that since there is a release action, there doesn't appear to be a grab action.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Interact action

Quote:
Most items that require two hands can be carried in only one hand, but you must spend an Interact action to change your grip in order to use the item.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Taking a hand off is a free action to release. Putting a hand back on is 1 action to Interact.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Pawns, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Thanks everyone! Finding even simple rules in this new edition isn't easy sometimes!


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Interestingly, this has the consequence that drawing weapons and shifting to a 2 handed grip are both actions that provoke an AoO, from an enemy that has that ability.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber

Here is a similar question that came up: If you have two free hands and want to draw or pick up weapons, can you do it as one action or do you have to take two actions to do so? RAW I suspect it is the former but I suspect I will allow it at my tables so we don't have whole rounds spent just getting equipment ready.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

I definitely haven't seen any rule that would allow 2 draws as 1 action. I know that quick draw felt pretty solid as a choice for a dual weapon ranger in the plates because of that.

I don't think houseruling a 2 weapon draw would break the game, but I'm not sure how essential it is, with the first round of combat seeming to be not quite as crucial as it was in 1E.


not to mention that you need to spend 2 actions to draw a 2handed weapon :D


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Unless I'm missing a more specific rule somewhere, that's a much less solid assertion. There's just as much support for drawing a 2 handed weapon into a proper grip as 1 interact action.

Sovereign Court

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook Subscriber

Yeah I didn’t read it that way for the 2 handed weapon.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I was just being sarcastic due to the rule that grasping a 2hander with your offhand cost an action.

By that same logic, you draw the sword from the scabbard with your main hand then you have to grasp it with your off hand to make a proper 2handed grip.


Table 6-2 on page 273 lists all this.
Change your grip by removing a hand from an item [Hands 2] Release
Change your grip by adding a hand to an item [Hands 2] Interact


Specifically this is mentioned.

If you retrieve a two-handed item with only one hand, you still need to change your grip before you can wield or use it.

So it's probably a good idea when you retrieve your weapon to use both hands.

Igor Horvat wrote:

I was just being sarcastic due to the rule that grasping a 2hander with your offhand cost an action.

By that same logic, you draw the sword from the scabbard with your main hand then you have to grasp it with your off hand to make a proper 2handed grip.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion, Maps, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

So it is important to pick up a 2-handed item with both hands when you can. The first entry in the table reads as follows:

Draw, stow, or pick up an item
1 or 2 hands
Interact

Grand Lodge

How does this work with a longbow? Since it requires 2 hands to use, but can be held in one, do we assume that when you are not actively firing it its being held in one hand? That it does not require a reload action sort of confuses the state of the weapon when its not actively firing. Generally, its not going to matter, but if the wielder has natural weapons (claws) and attack of opportunity, does it have to spend an action to loose one hand grip in order to use the AoO? If so, does that mean it needs to spend an action to restore the 2nd hand grip? That seems odd since they would immediately drop that grip in order to draw and nock an arrow.


So to clarify:

* You can retrieve a 2-handed weapon with 1 interact action + 2 hands to immediately wield it.
* You cannot retrieve a longsword and a steel shield with 1 interact action + 2 hands; a character must use 2 interact actions to separately retrieve each item instead.

Correct?

What if, for example, a squire simultaneously hands a sword and shield to you? Also 2 interact actions? (Seems correct to me but I'm curious if others view it that way.)


Ap0th1x wrote:

Specifically this is mentioned.

If you retrieve a two-handed item with only one hand, you still need to change your grip before you can wield or use it.

So it's probably a good idea when you retrieve your weapon to use both hands.

Igor Horvat wrote:

I was just being sarcastic due to the rule that grasping a 2hander with your offhand cost an action.

By that same logic, you draw the sword from the scabbard with your main hand then you have to grasp it with your off hand to make a proper 2handed grip.

I just want to see a 2handed draw of a sword from a scabbard. Hahaha!!


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Pawns, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Some of these newer questions, such as drawing a two-handed weapon with two actions, are also being asked by my table, independently of this thread. :P

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories, Starfinder Accessories, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

So you can use both hands to draw two handed weapon as one action....look at page 273 table 6-2...the "Draw, sow or pickup item" allows one or two hands to be used. It even has a sub note about only using one hand to draw a two handed weapon requires another action

Seems pretty clear to me

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / What kind of action is it to grab your weapon? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.