Maze and Aquatic Creatures?


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I need someone who's Pathfinder Rule Fu is better than mine. Maze is a great spell, but how does it function for aquatic monsters? If you maze an aquatic monster, especially those that need to breathe in the water, what happens? Does the monster start to suffocate? Does the spell not work?

Thank you in advance for your thoughts on this.

Sovereign Court

Where does it say the maze is filled with air? It just says its extradimensional.
Why can't it be an appropriate maze for the creature?

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

The spell doesn't say anything about air/water or whatever. I would rule that the ambient is similar to that where it was cast.

As it has no ST adding a death effect against some kind of creature increase its power.


Agree with Diego. I would fill the Maze with what ever environment the creature is presently in ... which normally wouldn't be a hostile one.

That said if a caster somehow caught an aquatic/water breather who was currently on land or an air breather currently underwater (say under the effects of water breathing, for example) then the Maze would be filled with air or water respectively which might very well be or become deadly to the target creature.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Thank you very much!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Maze and Aquatic Creatures? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.