Corpse Companion from multiple sources?


Rules Questions


So I'm doing the Undead Lord Cleric archetype and then because the party needs some arcane assistance, took a Level in Wizard with the Undead Master. Looking it over, one option is Corpse Bond (Su)

Spoiler:
An undead master can forge an arcane bond with an object, but that object must be made at least partially of bone. Alternatively, he can animate a corpse companion, as per the undead lord cleric archetype. He can’t gain a familiar.

This ability alters arcane bond

But my character already has a Corpse Bonded skeleton, and that description states:
Corpse Companion (Su)
Spoiler:

With a ritual requiring 8 hours, an undead lord can animate a single skeleton or zombie whose Hit Dice do not exceed her cleric level. This corpse companion automatically follows her commands and does not need to be controlled by her. She cannot have more than one corpse companion at a time. It does not count against the number of Hit Dice of undead controlled by other methods.

So what I'm wondering is if the single Corpse Companion restriction applies to both class features or just 'once' for each class feature.

Thoughts?


As it's written, you can only have one. It's not a terribly potent minion though, so I could see someone houseruling that it's one per source, or that the two instances of corpse companion stack. The archetypes don't reference any other system that would provide clarification.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

As written they're the same ability, and they don't say they stack for levels so they don't stack. With that said, I feel in any home game a GM should allow them to stack for level if it comes up.

However, it's mostly an academic matter since the ability is so weak that you'd never actually use it in actual play. You will always have better things to do than spend 8 hours creating the corpse companion, and they're so fragile they rarely last more than one combat encounter.


A bloody skeleton mount could be handy, in some campaigns.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Corpse Companion from multiple sources? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.