Paralyzed has no affect on Reflex saves?


Running the Game


4 people marked this as a favorite.
Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

I was very surprised last night when running part 4 and we had a character paralyze a big bad, that the big bad didn't take any penalties on its reflex saves. Did we miss something in the rules?

(Wizard tried to lightning bolt the creature and it easily made its save which seems narratively wrong.)


4 people marked this as a favorite.

Had an equal&opposite situation against the same big bad: Her fear aura paralyzed one character, then she used her breath attack and the paralyzed character... nimbly jumped over the breath attack, then continued being unable to take any action. Felt narratively insane.


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

(This was against the optional encounter with swallow whole :) ) But yes it might come up again....


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You can make reflex saves if you're unconscious or paralysed, but not if you're asleep.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Matthew Downie wrote:
You can make reflex saves if you're unconscious or paralysed, but not if you're asleep.

It gets worse. The bottomless pit hazard has a Reflex save modifier. You know, for all the times a void in the ground has to dodge a Fireball...


Yeah, this sounds like issue, although I don't support the fundamentalist view that Reflex is always 'active', as opposed to also representing component of passive luck. Don't see why paralysis/sleep/unconscious aren't the same here (OK, paralysis if anything should be worse, because people can still move unconsciously). I kind of don't like the 'auto-Crit Fail' thing, IMHO auto-Fail is better but forcing roll at penalty to see if it is Crit Fail (probably should be worded to exclude abilities that upgrade Save status).

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Game Master Rules / Running the Game / Paralyzed has no affect on Reflex saves? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Running the Game