Using a weapon and casting a spell


Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells


Hi all, was wondering if I am wielding a two handed weapon can I attack with one action and then cast a touch domain power spell attack which requires two actions? Assumed I have Emblazon symbol feat.


If the spell has a somatic component, you will have to drop a hand off the weapon to cast, even if you don't need a hand for your material/focus component. Dropping a hand is free, buuuut adding a hand back to the weapon to regrip it for 2H use takes an action for some reason. So you can attack and cast just fine, but won't be able to attack again until you burn an action to wield the weapon, as if you'd dropped it on the floor or something and had to pick it up.


Fuzzypaws wrote:
If the spell has a somatic component, you will have to drop a hand off the weapon to cast, even if you don't need a hand for your material/focus component. Dropping a hand is free, buuuut adding a hand back to the weapon to regrip it for 2H use takes an action for some reason. So you can attack and cast just fine, but won't be able to attack again until you burn an action to wield the weapon, as if you'd dropped it on the floor or something and had to pick it up.

Almost.

Quote:

SOMATIC CASTING

If you’re a cleric Casting a Spell from the divine tradition while
holding a divine focus (such as a religious symbol or text), you
don’t have to have a free hand to take this action, and you can
touch the target with the focus instead.


As an extension to the above: you have 3 actions on your turn, you can spend them however you want. With your weapon as your symbol you don't even have to spend actions swapping over to count for the somatic casting.
Just remember that spell attacks are subject to, and cause, multi-attack penalty.


CommanderCoyler wrote:

As an extension to the above: you have 3 actions on your turn, you can spend them however you want. With your weapon as your symbol you don't even have to spend actions swapping over to count for the somatic casting.

Just remember that spell attacks are subject to, and cause, multi-attack penalty.

I was not aware of this. So if I were to use a spell or spell power which involves a touch attack for example, and then used my weapon immediately after it would occur the -5 penalty to the attack roll and vice versa?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Correct, spells that have attack rolls have the 'attack' trait. Spells that only have attack rolls on certain modes of the spell, such as Heal/Harm gain the trait when used in that way.

Attack, Traits, p414 wrote:
This ability grants an attack. For each attack you make beyond the frst on your turn, you take a multiple attack penalty (see page 305).


Atalius wrote:
I was not aware of this. So if I were to use a spell or spell power which involves a touch attack for example, and then used my weapon immediately after it would occur the -5 penalty to the attack roll and vice versa?
CommanderCoyler wrote:
Correct, spells that have attack rolls have the 'attack' trait. Spells that only have attack rolls on certain modes of the spell, such as Heal/Harm gain the trait when used in that way.

Note that Heal and Harm don't actually say that, but that is the (correct) interpretation. It was clarified in this thread.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells / Using a weapon and casting a spell All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Skills, Feats, Equipment & Spells