As written, Clerics are better off using component pouch that a holy symbol


Playing the Game


An issue with non-emblazoned clerics...

* A holy symbol replaces S and M, but you must wield it beforehand, which is annoying if you cast a VSM spell or are wielding e.g. a crossbow.
* Whereas a pouch requires zero action to use
* You are not *required* to use, or even own, a symbol. And you *can* use a pouch.

So, RAW, why would you wield a symbol?

I think the intent is that drawing, wielding, then stashing back the symbol (or simply touching it) is part of M or S action. But that's not clear (p. 195).


1 person marked this as a favorite.

There's also a feat that turns any object you look at spend a minute drawing on into a permanent holy symbol that works only for you.

A feat, that I might point out, that you'll use like once.


Where is the rule that you must wield it beforehand?


Quote:

MATERIAL CASTING

Requirements You have a free hand.
You retrieve and manipulate either a material spell
component or a spell focus. If you manipulate a material spell
component, that component is expended in the casting (whether
or not the spell is disrupted). If you manipulate a focus, it is not
spent, and you can stow it again as part of this action if you so
choose. Spells that require this action use a material component
unless a focus is specified.
You can assume that common components are included in a
material component pouch (see page 186), but spells that require
foci list what items they need, and you might need to acquire
them separately.
If you’re a cleric Casting a Spell from the divine tradition while
holding a divine focus
(such as a religious symbol or text), you can
replace any material component the spell requires by using the
divine focus as a spell focus instead. In this case, you don’t have to
have a free hand to take this action.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Draco18s wrote:

There's also a feat that turns any object you look at spend a minute drawing on into a permanent holy symbol that works only for you.

A feat, that I might point out, that you'll use like once.

That should definitely be a simple level 1 ritual rather than a feat. Just make the component cost the price of a nice holy symbol.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Fuzzypaws wrote:
Draco18s wrote:

There's also a feat that turns any object you look at spend a minute drawing on into a permanent holy symbol that works only for you.

A feat, that I might point out, that you'll use like once.

That should definitely be a simple level 1 ritual rather than a feat. Just make the component cost the price of a nice holy symbol.

For my ch3 playtest character I'm going to just say "I took the feat at level 1, emblazeoned my weapon, then retrained the feat"


Fuzzypaws wrote:
Draco18s wrote:

There's also a feat that turns any object you look at spend a minute drawing on into a permanent holy symbol that works only for you.

A feat, that I might point out, that you'll use like once.

That should definitely be a simple level 1 ritual rather than a feat. Just make the component cost the price of a nice holy symbol.

Emblazon symbol is kinda cool for absurd plans (e.g prison breaks), but something like that could help out pallies with the "not enough hands" issue.

Dark Archive

Sure, you are right. Noone wields his holy symbol in his hands. This is just a bit of flavor - you actually can cast while holding holy books in your hands. But normally you just have a hand free or take emblazon symbol.
(If you retrain Emblazon Symbol, you cannot use it thereafter - this is a class feat, not an item. They might want to clarify this.)


Agyra Eisenherz wrote:
(If you retrain Emblazon Symbol, you cannot use it thereafter - this is a class feat, not an item. They might want to clarify this.)

1) The feat doesn't actually say that.

2) No, they should burn it to the ground. The feat is stupid. Eschew Materials makes sense because you no longer require the materials. Emblazon Symbol says "you draw on a weapon or shield with a pen and turn it into a holy symbol." You still need the holy symbol, just now your weapon or shield (or other miscellaneous item) counts. This should just be a rule somewhere else that says, "Oh you're a palacleric? Want to go two-handed/sword-and-board/TWF? Pay money get your weapon/shield dedicated to your god!"


The Cleric in my group wears a holy symbol on a bracelet, so it's always conveniently at hand.


Scythia wrote:
The Cleric in my group wears a holy symbol on a bracelet, so it's always conveniently at hand.

It makes sense, but RAW, doesn't work. That's the whole issue.

You must hold it - but you don't need it. (same goes for mistletoe, btw)

If you could use this trick, that would work with a wrist-wand, or wrist-dagger. Wait for Ultimate Jewelry.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Player Rules / Playing the Game / As written, Clerics are better off using component pouch that a holy symbol All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Playing the Game