|1 person marked this as a favorite.|
Is it possible to be grappled while directing your flaming sphere with your move action? I mean to say, I'm the first round say you cast flaming sphere, second round you become grappled, on that second round can you use your move action to control where the flaming Sphere goes?
If You Are Grappled: [...] Instead of attempting to break or reverse the grapple, you can take any action that doesn't require two hands to perform, such as cast a spell or make an attack or full attack with a light or one-handed weapon against any creature within your reach, including the creature that is grappling you.
Flaming sphere only requires one hand to direct ("rolls in whichever direction you point"), so you can do it while grappled (though not while pinned).
Not the relevant rules section.
Teh Rules, pg 216 wrote:
Concentration:The spell lasts as long as you concentrate on it. Concentrating to maintain a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity. Anything that could break your concentration when casting a spell can also break your concentration while you're maintaining one, causing the spell to end. See concentrations on page 206.
You can't cast a spell while concentrating on another one. Some spells last for a short time after you cease concentrating.
So yes, you can move your flaming sphere - so long as you can make the concentration check for being grapple. Don't forget any damage you took...
It kinda depends on how grappled you are too. If the DM says creature1 spits and covers both your hands, arms and torso in sticky ichor and become grappled/stuck to the floor or a wall, you obviously can't point to direct the spell. It specifically says you need to use your finger to point where the spell effect goes, otherwise it stays at rest and burns.
Likewise, if the DM describes a successful grapple attempt upon you as "this guy has both of your hands and he is successfully grappling you", you can't point. But if the DM describes the successful grapple attempt as "this guy has one of your arms, but your other arm is free", then obviously yes you can direct the spell.
Also, if you become grappled with both of your hands grappled, on your turn you can attempt a grapple attempt to become the "grappler" instead of the "grapplee", or to become ungrappled, and in either case you could use your move action to direct the spell that round (as long as one hand is free, of course).
|1 person marked this as a favorite.|
Until you are Pinned, you have the Grappled condition. The Grappled condition allows you to perform any action that only requires one hand. Both your hands aren't grappled until you are Pinned. By the rules, it doesn't matter how the GM describes the grapple. What matters is what condition you have. The GM is free to ignore the normal grapple rules, but if following them, you can point just fine while Grappled, though likely not while Pinned.
I'd personally consider the 'whichever direction you point' to be flavor text for the somatic component of the spell. It is in the first sentence, an entirely different paragraph from where the text on controlling the sphere is.
Would a still version of the spell still require you to point? If so, so you have to point with a hand, or can you use another appendage? Can you point with an object? Or point out verbally where you desire it to go?
'Point' isn't something that is defined as a game mechanic, unlike things that 'require a free hand' or similar things. The only mechanical requirement is that directing movement requires a move action to do. The language is quite similar to spells like Spiritual Weapon (requires a move action to redirect) with the only difference is their is no mention of a physical action in other paragraphs.