Death dying and resolve


Rules Questions


Can someone run me though the new SF death and dying procedure. how the fort save or resolve point thing works? I want to make sure I'm doing it correctly.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

There is no fort save involved in death and dying. It is handled purely through HP and Resolve.

If you hit 0 HP (regardless of how much stamina you have, although it will be rare to lose HP without first losing all your stamina) you are dying. If the hit that took you to 0 HP was equal to or greater than your Max HP you go straight to dead (oof!)

If you are dying you are unconscious and take no actions.

When you are dying the following happens on your turn.

Do you want to stabilize yourself using Resolve? Then spend 1/4 of your maximum resolve to stabilize (min 1 max 3.) You are now no longer dying.

If you are not stabilized at the end of your turn, lose 1 Resolve. If you have 0 Resolve you die. Importantly this only counts if you were dying at the start of your turn (if you get downed in the middle of your turn you do not lose Resolve that turn.)

If you are unconscious at 0HP at the start of your turn, you can spend a Resolve to regain 1HP and wake up.

Outside of your turn the following applies.

Taking HP damage while dying loses you 1 Resolve Point. This can only happen once per round. After that damage sources have to deal at least half your maximum HP in order to force additional Resolve Point loss.

First Aid: Someone using a DC 15 Medicine check can stabilize you.

Healing: If you receive any healing that brings you to 1 or more HP you are no longer dying or unconscious.

Silver Crusade

One thing to add to Malks list -

The stabilize cantrip is potentially VERY valuable. It not only saves a resolve point it (possibly more importantly) saves a round as the stabilized unconscious person can spend a resolve to become conscious.

This is potentially sufficiently important that it MAY be worth delaying until after the "healer" goes. That way if you go down they can stabilize you BEFORE your next turn


Seems like you are most likely going to spend the 1/4 resolve nine times out of 10 unless you are just too low on it.


pauljathome wrote:

One thing to add to Malks list -

The stabilize cantrip is potentially VERY valuable. It not only saves a resolve point it (possibly more importantly) saves a round as the stabilized unconscious person can spend a resolve to become conscious.

This is potentially sufficiently important that it MAY be worth delaying until after the "healer" goes. That way if you go down they can stabilize you BEFORE your next turn

I wouldn't think the unconscious PC could delay.

The rules for Delay & Unconscious don't seem to address this though, as Delay doesn't take an action. :/
It just seems odd a PC could choose to die a bit later.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'm going to delay my dying action until next summer when its warmer.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Vidmaster7 wrote:
Seems like you are most likely going to spend the 1/4 resolve nine times out of 10 unless you are just too low on it.

Only came up a couple times for us. One time they did it, the other time they hoped someone could get to them before the next turn in order to save them the 2 resolve (once they were up to spending 3)

EDIT: Also because it is 1/4 of max, if you get dropped with not enough resolve to stabilize yourself it becomes important.

Silver Crusade

Castilliano wrote:
pauljathome wrote:

One thing to add to Malks list -

The stabilize cantrip is potentially VERY valuable.

I wouldn't think the unconscious PC could delay.

You do NOT delay when unconscious. Sometime earlier in the battle, you delayed until after the healer.

So, the baddie puts you down. BEFORE your turn comes up, the healer stabilizes you. THEN, on your turn, you spend a resolve to become conscious.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Malk_Content wrote:
If you hit 0 HP (regardless of how much stamina you have, although it will be rare to lose HP without first losing all your stamina) you are dying. If the hit that took you to 0 HP was equal to or greater than your Max HP you go straight to dead (oof!).

After checking the rules on massive damage, it seems it's actually the remaining damage of the attack that brought you to zero that has to be equal to or greater, not all of the attack damage. They give an example in the massive damage rules.

But to use a more extreme example, let's use a 20th level soldier with 14 con, 140 HP, and 180 SP. The Soldier can lay on top of a Heavy Nuclear Missile, detonate it for full damage (450 avg.) and spend resolve points to stabilize and get back up, since the remaining damage (130) isn't high enough to trigger massive damage (lol).

Silver Crusade

Sauce987654321 wrote:
The Soldier can lay on top of a Heavy Nuclear Missile, detonate it for full damage (450 avg.) and spend resolve points to stabilize and get back up, since the remaining damage (130) isn't high enough to trigger massive damage (lol).

Thats just silly. Now, if he took a running jump and dived out of the way just as it want off then THAT would be perfectly fine :-).

Or was in a refrigerator at ground zero :-)

Lets fact it, hit points aren't realistic. Never have been, never will. But they do a fair job of reproducing movie physics, at least


Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I don't know, if you assume a level 20 Starfinder campaign is less Star Trek, and more Guardians of the Galaxy. . . ;)


Metaphysician wrote:
I don't know, if you assume a level 20 Starfinder campaign is less Star Trek, and more Guardians of the Galaxy. . . ;)

Right.

Starting from Pathfinder, high level and high CR creatures are frequently described as being godlike, with some of the lower end of CR 20s noted for destroying entire worlds.

It's rather evident that this hasn't changed in Starfinder. Even the CR 19 Endbringer Devil is capable of possessing tier 14 starship statistics, and would roughly take, on average, 9 direct hits with a Heavy Nuclear Missile Launcher to bring it down, assuming you can regularly pass its 31 TL. I wouldn't be surprised if, say, a CR 25 Solar Dragon would possess tier 20 starship statistics, and probably would be appropriate for it.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Death dying and resolve All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.