
Hawkmoon269 |

I'd say that my Arcane is based on my intelligence, but regardless of what my intelligence is on my character card, the die for my Arcane skill is d10.
The scenario's adventure deck number is definitely a modifier. I also think my intelligence feats are modifiers.
My actual intelligence die doesn't matter, but anything that affects my intelligence can affect this as well.

skizzerz |

To me, that would give me the Arcane skill, tying it to Intelligence (so any checks I make using that skill give me the Intelligence trait as well). I would roll a d10 for my Intelligence die, instead of whatever die I currently had, and then add the scenario's adventure deck number.
What is less clear is what I do with any skill feats I've dumped into Intelligence. My initial guess is that I also add those in (so it stacks with the +AD#, rather than the modifier replacing the skill feats). In other words, treat it as gaining Arcane: Intelligence plus the scenario's adventure deck number, and separately being told to roll a d10 instead of my Intelligence die whenever I make an Arcane check using that skill.

Parody |

I'd say that it was an error; either it should be tied to one of your "stat" skills (and thus whatever feats you've used on it) or tied to a specific die, but not both.
In either case, you add the Scenario AD# to skill checks using that skill while you have it.
If you want to tie it to Intelligence but also let people use a d10 instead of their Intelligence die, then break it up. Something like: "While displayed, you gain Arcane equal to your Intelligence plus the scenario's adventure deck number and you may use a d10 instead of your Intelligence die for Arcane checks."
Alternatively, "While displayed, you gain Arcane equal to a d10 plus the scenario's adventure deck number and add the Intelligence trait to all Arcane skill checks."
Edit: Below Zhayne brought up a third alternative that could also fit, but as shown the intent isn't clear.

Brother Tyler |

First question, can I keep the card? :)
While I have the card displayed, I would start with 1d10 for my Arcane check.
Any rules/cards that affect Intelligence checks would apply. For example, if someone played a Blessing of Irori on my (non-combat) Arcane check, I would add 2d10.
I would also add the adventure deck number of the scenario to the check.
I would *not* add any of my Intelligence feats (because instead of using my Intelligence skill, I'm using 1d10).

zeroth_hour2 |

That it's 1) probably a cohort and 2) not a Hunter class deck card. I'm taking a wild guess at something related to Mavaro.
Oh. Probably not what you wanted to hear.
For the card, I have the Arcane skill, and it is based on Intelligence. The die is a d10 regardless of what my actual Intelligence is.
So instead of Arcane: Intelligence +2
Arcane: Intelligence = d10 + scenario AD
However, the usage of equal as a assignment operator is fairly programmery.
Rules questions I'd have if I were looking at this card:
1) If I use a stat gemstone (eg Pearl of Wisdom), do I still roll a d10?
2) TBD
skizzerz, I actually think you don't add your Intelligence skill feats to it, because of the assignment. That probably means that it could use clarification.

skizzerz |

That it's 1) probably a cohort and 2) not a Hunter class deck card. I'm taking a wild guess at something related to Mavaro.
Oh. Probably not what you wanted to hear.
For the card, I have the Arcane skill, and it is based on Intelligence. The die is a d10 regardless of what my actual Intelligence is.
So instead of Arcane: Intelligence +2
Arcane: Intelligence = d10 + scenario ADHowever, the usage of equal as a assignment operator is fairly programmery.
Rules questions I'd have if I were looking at this card:
1) If I use a stat gemstone (eg Pearl of Wisdom), do I still roll a d10?
2) TBDskizzerz, I actually think you don't add your Intelligence skill feats to it, because of the assignment. That probably means that it could use clarification.
If you gain the skill Arcane: Intelligence +2, do you apply your Intelligence skill feats? Yes
If you gain the skill Arcane: Intelligence plus the scenario's adventure deck number, do you apply your Intelligence skill feats? Yes
Fixing the die size does just that -- fixes the die size. Saying that you suddenly don't get skill feats would be inconsistent with the construction of how skills work. If you were not meant to add skill feats, I would anticipate you would instead gain Arcane: 1d10 plus the scenario's adventure deck number, with an additional power that tells you to add the Intelligence trait to any Arcane checks you make.
I view the d10 as you basically applying a stat stone. Since it's built into the skill, applying actual stat stones would work as normal (replacing the d10 with some other die size).
(That said, I would still be in favor of rewording this power to split the d10 thing into its own sentence, much like Hawkmoon's suggestion.)

Irgy |

I would honestly think it was an error and go look up the FAQ for what it was meant to say.
If there was nothing in the FAQ I'd go with this:
While displayed you gain Arcane: Intelligence plus the scenario's adventure deck number, and when using or adding your Arcane skill or die your Intelligence die is d10.
For two reasons - one because it's the interpretation which makes the most sense to me, and two because Hawkmoon said it and that's second only to a response from an actual developer.
Although actually, if you ignore that second reason, I don't think skill feats on your intelligence should apply, because:
a) From a technical perspective, it's replacing your intelligence, not your intelligence die. Unless something explicitly says "die" then I default to it referring to the skill. So it should replace the whole skill, including skill feats.
b) It's adding the adventure deck number, which to me feels as if it's intended to replace the missing skill feats.
Thus the equivalent wording that I would use instead is this:
While displayed, you gain the skill Arcane: 1d10 plus the scenario's adventure deck number, with the intelligence trait

Frencois |

I would indeed understand it as Hawkmoon did.
I see no issue if applied to a character that doesn't already have the Arcane skill.
If my character (maybe it won't be the case in what Vic has in mind but just pointing the potential question) already has the Arcane skill, then I need to select the one to use at the right step of the check (like when you select the "for your combat" check), I cannot somehow mix them (if I already have Arcane:Charisma+2, I cannot make it both an Intelligence and Charisma check).
That would be my understanding.

Longshot11 |

As worded by Vic, I'm definitely with Hawk and Skizzers that you add your Int Skill feats. (I.e. my original Int die is replaced with {d10+AD#} but since it's still my Int skill I'm using - those feats do get added)
However, the card's power level does make me believe the intent is that Int feats are not added; as Irgy pointed out - the AD# scaling seems to be intended to mimic and replace the usual Int feat scaling of Arcane:Int casters throughout the AP. However, to add some specific argument why this does NOT work by current RAW:
Skills: Skills tell you what type of die to roll when you attempt a check.
...
When you gain a skill feat, check 1 new box in the Skills section of your character card. Skill feats add a modifier to a skill of your choice: you’ll add the number next to the box you selected to any check attempted with that skill.
So, there seem to be no discussion that Vic's power makes us use the Intelligence skill.
The Rulebook specifically says that a Skill is just a die, nothing more. Vic's power replaces that die with (d10+AD#)The Rulebook furthermore specifies that Skill feats are only modifiers ADDED to any use of the skill. Therefore, they don't get replaced by Vic's wording with the (d10+AD#) - they get added to it.
(If, conversely, the Skill/Skill Feat rules said something to the effect of
Your Skill is equal to the die you use for it + any Skill feats you've checked for it
- then, yeah, that would be a different matter entirely, and Vic's wording would replace (Int die + Int feats) with (d10 + AD#). At this point in my PACG journey, however, I won't be exactly thrilled if such fundamental change is made, it's better if the offending card's wording is massaged instead.)

Frencois |

Ok I have to make a correction. Was to fast.
I don't read it as you do.
For me you don't get to add your skills feats since nowhere in Vic's sentence is the word "die".
When he wrotes "...Intelligence equal to 1d10 plus..." I understand that it's by default the skill he his talking about, not the die.
So my version is in fact:
While displayed you gain Arcane: Intelligence plus the scenario's adventure deck number, and when using or adding your Arcane skill or die your Intelligence SKILL is d10.
So if I have Intelligence=d6+1 (or d12+4 for that matter) and the scenario's adventure deck number is 3, I get Arcane=d10+3 (i. e. whatever is on my character sheet has no influence on my Arcane).
Still wondering what happens if I already had Arcane:Charisma+2 and Charisma=d8+2.

Irgy |

I think it depends what you mean by "that skill".
Imagine Mavaro has checked off +4 in intelligence and +2 in Wisdom. He is making a Wisdom check. He displays a card with "Wisdom" in its check to acquire. He now has the following skills:
Intelligence: d10 + 4
Wisdom: Intelligence
Wisdom: d8 + 2
According to Longshot's interpretation, he'd now have d10+6 for his wisdom check. Because he's using his intelligence skill, so he gets the +4 from that, and he's using a Wisdom skill, so he gets the +2 from that.
Whereas I would argue the "that skill" in "any check attempted with that skill" only refers to the place he's ticked the boxes, "Wisdom: d8 + 2". The skill "Wisdom: Intelligence" has no boxes ticked and is a different skill. Albeit it applies to the same checks, but it's a different instance of the skill.
Of course if there's a ruling somewhere that Mavaro does get d10+6 on his "Wisdom: Intelligence" in that situation, then that's fine, consider me convinced. I couldn't find anyone even discussing it when I searched, but it wouldn't be the first time my search has failed.

Longshot11 |

Rulebook wrote:Skills: Skills tell you what type of die to roll when you attempt a check....
The Rulebook specifically says that a Skill is just a die, nothing more.
Unfortunately, while browsing the Rulebook, I've made one crucial omission - the sidebar Rules: Skills, Dice and Modifiers, which says:
If your character card says “Strength d10,” and the “+1” box next to that has been checked, your Strength skill is d10+1,
So my argument is incorrect, although I feel there is some contradiction introduced by the "Skills: Skills tell you what type of die to roll when you attempt a check." sentence - it would be better if the "Skills" entry in the Rulebook specifically calls out that a skill *does* include the Skill Feats, instead of leaving it to the Sidebar (in a completely different section of the Rulebook, no less).
According to Longshot's interpretation, he'd now have d10+6 for his wisdom check. Because he's using his intelligence skill, so he gets the +4 from that, and he's using a Wisdom skill, so he gets the +2 from that.
Whereas I would argue the "that skill" in "any check attempted with that skill" only refers to the place he's ticked the boxes, "Wisdom: d8 + 2". The skill "Wisdom: Intelligence" has no boxes ticked and is a different skill. Albeit it applies to the same checks, but it's a different instance of the skill.
I didn't mean to imply your first paragraph, and I in fact agree and would play according to your second paragraph. I'd have to give that a bit more thought apparently.

Frencois |

To make it simple, I understand Vic's power as:
While displayed:
- you have the Arcane skill
- for your Arcane check or when adding your Arcane skill to a check, roll 1d10 plus the scenario's adventure deck number and add the Intelligence trait to the check
But I understand why Vic asked the question :-)

Hannibal_pjv |

I would say
You get arcane
Your arcane is based on Intelligense, but instead of your normal intelligence you get d10 + ad number.
Not sure about the normal int modifiers. But I would say that you don't get those because this replases any normal int dice and modifier.
So character with int d6 +3 that is level 6 would get
Arcane d10 + 6 that is affected by int cards. Like int based blessings and cards that increase int.