Damage dice question


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

if I roll 2d6 damage for a greatsword am I rolling 2 damage dice, or is the 2d6 itself one damage die?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

2d6 is one "damage die" I believe.

Grand Lodge

Is there a source for that, or is the entire thing up for interpretation?


Is there a reason it would matter?


it would entirely depend on the effect your trying to use i would imagine

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Is there some context that might help make responses relevant?

Enlarge Person on d20pfsrd has some notes on determining appropriate weapon damage - not sure if this is relevant to what you want to know.


Reame The Druid wrote:
if I roll 2d6 damage for a greatsword am I rolling 2 damage dice, or is the 2d6 itself one damage die?

Doesn't really matter. Unless you have effects that increase the number of dice you roll, then it doesn't matter if you roll one or two dice.


Mythic Vital Strike, just as an example, gives you a bonus based on "the number of damage dice you roll" when you use Vital Strike. Whether a weapon counts as having 1 or 2 dice can make a very, very large difference in the amount of damage you do.

Needing to know the correct answer here isn't terribly common, but... it does crop up every now and then.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
GM Rednal wrote:

Mythic Vital Strike, just as an example, gives you a bonus based on "the number of damage dice you roll" when you use Vital Strike. Whether a weapon counts as having 1 or 2 dice can make a very, very large difference in the amount of damage you do.

Needing to know the correct answer here isn't terribly common, but... it does crop up every now and then.

Since it's Mythic Vital Strike, then it would refer to Vital Strike rules, and in the case of a Greatsword, each 2D6 is considered a single dice for the purposes of multiplying the number of dice you roll (i.e. Improved and Greater Vital Strike).

So, Improved Vital Strike on a Greatsword with Mythic Vital Strike would be a grand total of 6D6+3(Strength Modifier).

Grand Lodge

It is in fact for vital strike rules, but for damage dice isn't the number before the d the amount and the number after the size? thus wouldn't 2d6 be two dice (1d6) rolled twice, thus two dice rolled?

Edit: in vital strike it says to roll the damage dice twice, but dice can be (and is plural) meaning that it can be stated as RAW to be telling you to roll all dice used for damage (1 dice for a longsword, or 2 for the sake of a greatsword) twice, so it'd look something like this:

(x*y)dz

x=multiple dependent on the vital strike feat (2,3,4)
y=number of damage dice in the base weapon (1 for longsword, 2 for greatsword)
z=size of dice rolled (4,6,8,12,ext)

so greater vital strike with a greatsword would be (4*2)d6 or 8d6

Keep in mind that x*y is now equal to a new y for the formula ydz refered to from here on out as q

Now, with mythic vital strike it's looking at the number of dice rolled, which would be the new y or q.

PS: for the sake of clarity, i'd like to ask for everyone to try to keep to this terminology if they can.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Technically yes. But again, this is Vital Strike rules, so it considers the entire roll (2D6) as one dice.

Liberty's Edge

Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
Technically yes. But again, this is Vital Strike rules, so it considers the entire roll (2D6) as one dice.
Is this in an FAQ or errata somewhere? I know Hero Lab isn't necessarily spot on for all of its calculations, but using Vital Strike with a greatsword in HL shows damage dice as 4d6. Improved Vital Strike is 6d6. Based on the wording of the feat,
Vital Strike wrote:
"Roll the weapon's damage dice twice..."

(emphasis mine), it would seem to indicate that you roll all of the dice twice. 'Dice' is always plural, with the singular being 'die'.

I'm not trying to be argumentative, I'm legitimately curious since it seems like a fairly large error for Lone Wolf to make with Hero Lab.

EDIT: I've read through all 5 versions of the CRB Errata and I can't find any mention of counting all of a weapon's damage dice as a single die. It seems to me that Vital Strike is acting like a partial crit, allowing you to roll double the damage dice and then adding other bonuses. Again, I'm legitimately curious and not trying to be a jerk.

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

That's basically the point of Vital Strike - it's written generically, to cover any number and/or size of damage dice. If your base weapon does 1d10 it will do 2d10 with a Vital Strike. If you get enlarged, and the base dice are now 2d8, you would expect your enlarged Vital Strike to do 4d8, not 3d8. And I believe the intuitive answer is the correct one - that's how I read the feat, anyway, and all other similar effects.


Think of it as a damage die doing 2-12 instead of 2d6 if that makes it easier in your head.


darth_gator wrote:
Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
Technically yes. But again, this is Vital Strike rules, so it considers the entire roll (2D6) as one dice.
Is this in an FAQ or errata somewhere? I know Hero Lab isn't necessarily spot on for all of its calculations, but using Vital Strike with a greatsword in HL shows damage dice as 4d6. Improved Vital Strike is 6d6. Based on the wording of the feat,
Vital Strike wrote:
"Roll the weapon's damage dice twice..."

(emphasis mine), it would seem to indicate that you roll all of the dice twice. 'Dice' is always plural, with the singular being 'die'.

I'm not trying to be argumentative, I'm legitimately curious since it seems like a fairly large error for Lone Wolf to make with Hero Lab.

EDIT: I've read through all 5 versions of the CRB Errata and I can't find any mention of counting all of a weapon's damage dice as a single die. It seems to me that Vital Strike is acting like a partial crit, allowing you to roll double the damage dice and then adding other bonuses. Again, I'm legitimately curious and not trying to be a jerk.

Herolab has the math correct.

Grand Lodge

You might look at Devastating Strike, which has a similar effect but clearer wording, for guidance.

Devastating Strike wrote:

Whenever you use Vital Strike, Improved Vital Strike, or Greater Vital Strike, you gain a +2 bonus on each extra weapon damage dice roll those feats grant (+6 maximum). This bonus damage is multiplied on a critical hit.


There is no reason to believe that:

a 2d4+4 (6-12) attack with greater vital strike and mythic vital strike would be 8d4+32 (40-64 dmg)

Whereas:

a 1d10+4 (5-14) attack with greater vital strike and mythic vital strike would be 4d10+16 (20-56 dmg).

In both cases the +4 bonus would be multiplied by 4 to equal +16 dmg. The attacks should scale. The weaker attack should never become stronger when applying the same feats.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

darth_gator wrote:
Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
Technically yes. But again, this is Vital Strike rules, so it considers the entire roll (2D6) as one dice.
Is this in an FAQ or errata somewhere? I know Hero Lab isn't necessarily spot on for all of its calculations, but using Vital Strike with a greatsword in HL shows damage dice as 4d6

So HL does it correctly? They do have a back channel FAQ system if they need to know how a rule works, they get a private answer.

Plus we have 9 years of understanding how VS works, I doubt Paizo let us chat about VS for 9 years doing the math incorrectly.

2d6 -> 4d6 -> 6d6 for Vital Strike and Improved Vital Strike.


YogoZuno wrote:
That's basically the point of Vital Strike - it's written generically, to cover any number and/or size of damage dice. If your base weapon does 1d10 it will do 2d10 with a Vital Strike. If you get enlarged, and the base dice are now 2d8, you would expect your enlarged Vital Strike to do 4d8, not 3d8. And I believe the intuitive answer is the correct one - that's how I read the feat, anyway, and all other similar effects.

Why would it do 3d8? If your Enlarged Person weapon is doing 2d8 and Vital Strike rolls your weapon dice twice then your weapon dice is 2d8 so you get 4d8 either way. A die is a die is a die. If you roll two then its two. If you roll three then its three. Double two dice or double (two dice) is still the same thing.


Texas Snyper wrote:
YogoZuno wrote:
That's basically the point of Vital Strike - it's written generically, to cover any number and/or size of damage dice. If your base weapon does 1d10 it will do 2d10 with a Vital Strike. If you get enlarged, and the base dice are now 2d8, you would expect your enlarged Vital Strike to do 4d8, not 3d8. And I believe the intuitive answer is the correct one - that's how I read the feat, anyway, and all other similar effects.
Why would it do 3d8? If your Enlarged Person weapon is doing 2d8 and Vital Strike rolls your weapon dice twice then your weapon dice is 2d8 so you get 4d8 either way. A die is a die is a die. If you roll two then its two. If you roll three then its three. Double two dice or double (two dice) is still the same thing.

It comes into play with Mythic. It is not double, it is "# of dice" x bonus.

So the question is, does 2d6 x 3 = 6d6 count as 6 x bonus or 3 x bonus. The correct answer is 3 x bonus (as outlined above) but it does not follow the simple English reading of the rule, hence the confusion.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Komoda wrote:
does 2d6 x 3 = 6d6 count as 6 x bonus or 3 x bonus. The correct answer is 3 x bonus (as outlined above) but it does not follow the simple English reading of the rule, hence the confusion.

3x

See Devastating Strike.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Damage dice question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.