"It's fer scratchin' me back, ye soddin' cog-box!"


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

How would the Haunted Oracle Curse ("retrieving any stored item from your gear requires a standard action, unless it would normally take longer") wind up interacting with a Tiefling's Prehensile Tail feature ("they can use them to retrieve small, stowed objects carried on their persons as a swift action")? Would one outright trump the other, or might it net a compromise where you can use your tail as a move action?

This is with an Organized Play character in mind.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Simple. The tail says it takes a swift action. The curse says that it will at least take a standard action. Both apply, and the result is a standard action.


One is a curse that perhaps even the Gods can't lift.
The other is a mere physical appendage.

Dunno 'bout the rules, but flavor-wise it's straightforward.


Two things wrong here.

The first is that Haunted Oracle refers to retrieving items from your gear, whereas the Prehensile Tail refers to objects carried on your person, which means both affect different things (such as a potion on a bandolier or something), and therefore are irrelevant of each other.

The second is that, ignoring that splitting hair issue mentioned above, the factor is that the Haunted Curse requires a Standard Action to retrieve any item, which means spending a Swift Action to do so doesn't fulfill the requirement of retrieving items from your gear.

A brutal GM would rule that you'd burn both your Swift and Standard Actions if you decided to use your tail in that manner, and since this is PFS, I can safely say that's a likely ruling to come across.

I suggest you just deal with the Curse as it's written and not give GMs an opportunity to screw your character choices over.


Stored item from your gear vs STOWED objects on your person. I would say it's pretty clearly the same thing.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Unless an official answer can be found, your table GM should be asked and will adjudicate how they interact.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / "It's fer scratchin' me back, ye soddin' cog-box!" All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.