Carrying Capacity for Character with Str of 0


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The title says it all!

If a character has a Str bonus of 0 (zero), then what is his carrying capacity- light, medium, heavy loads?

Thanks.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

1 person marked this as a favorite.

He can't move so does it matter?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Could he be suffocated by his backpack if he falls face down>. (A la beached whales)

EDIT/ADD
Just noticed, his title does not match his post. Are we talking Strength Statistic or Strength Bonus?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

To expand on Mr. Risner's comment...

"A character with a Strength score of 0 is too weak to move in any way and is unconscious. Some creatures (such as incorporeal creatures) do not possess a Strength score and have no modifier at all to Strength-based skills or checks."


1 person marked this as a favorite.

His carrying capacity is low enough that he can't even carry himself at all.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Such creature is unable to move and unconscious. (BTW, there's a difference btween having Strength Score 0 and having no Strength Score.) But, for whatever it's worth, table here gives the answer: 0 , 0 and 0.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
UlrichVonLichtenstein wrote:
If a character has a Str bonus of 0 (zero), then what is his carrying capacity- light, medium, heavy loads?

Wanted to point out that Strength bonus and Strength score are different. A creature with a Strength of 10 or 11 has a Strength modifier of +0. An ability score modifier can be called a bonus when it is not negative.

So to answer your question, a medium-sized bipedal creature with a Strength bonus of 0 can carry up to 33 lbs and have a light encumbrance, up to 66 lbs and have a medium encumbrance. At 67 lbs or more the character has a heavy encumbrance. The character can not carry more than 100 lbs unless using the special rules for lifting and dragging. Thats for Str 10. For Str 11 its a little higher.

But if the question was about those with a Strength score of 0, you cannot lift anything. You are too weak to move and fall unconscious.


James Risner wrote:
He can't move so does it matter?

So, an archer with 10 Strength (+0), can't even walk a straight line, is that what you're saying?

OH BOY! HAVE I BEEN PLAYING WRONG ALL THESE YEARS!

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

No, your question was unclear. Refer to Adjoint's link for the table with the answers you need.

Str. Light. Medium. Heavy. Str bonus
10 0-33 34–66 67–100 +0


1 person marked this as a favorite.
UlrichVonLichtenstein wrote:
James Risner wrote:
He can't move so does it matter?

So, an archer with 10 Strength (+0), can't even walk a straight line, is that what you're saying?

OH BOY! HAVE I BEEN PLAYING WRONG ALL THESE YEARS!

James Risner didn't read your post carefully enough, but you didn't word it perfectly either.

Carring capacity works of strength score, not strength bonus/modifer. A character with Str 11 can carry slight more than one with Str 10. Ciaran Barnes got it right in the post above.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
UlrichVonLichtenstein wrote:
So, an archer with 10 Strength (+0),

An ability score of 10 is different from an ability score of 0.

Your character apparently has a Strength of 10, not 0 as you stated in the headline for this topic.

+0 is called the ability score modifier. The score is a different thing.

Your character has a score of 10 and a modifier of +0

Terminology matters


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Ulrich.

Your error here, your title cites Strength only, which implies the statistic.
Your post cites Strength BONUS.

People will always be more aware of the Title than the body text.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Strength score of 10 gives a +0 bonus. Your max heavy load is 100 lb.

A strength score of 0 gives a -5 penalty. Your max heavy load is lower than your own damn weight, so you collapse immediately.


Yes, I know that Ability Score and Bonus are two different things.

"Str bonus of 0 (zero)"

I never mentioned Ability Scores.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Ulrich, reread your Title.
What you wrote may not be what you meant.

EDIT Aggh Aouto correct,


1 person marked this as a favorite.

So was this a joke?


3 people marked this as a favorite.
UlrichVonLichtenstein wrote:

Yes, I know that Ability Score and Bonus are two different things.

"Str bonus of 0 (zero)"

I never mentioned Ability Scores.

Yes you did, in the way you worded the title. "Carrying Capacity for Character with Str of 0 ".

That says a Strength of 0, not a strength modifier of 0. And if you really did mean a strength modifier of 0, that means nothing in this case, as your strength modifier has absolutely nothing to do with your carrying capacity. Your strength score itself does (in addition to size and if you are bipedal or quadrupedal).

You can not determine carrying capacity from a strength modifier. A strength of 10 and 11 both have the same ability modifier (+0), but have different carrying capacities.

Shadow Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Question answered, no further replies needed.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I get the impression we're being trolled. I'm perfectly willing to be wrong.

Still, the question in the title has been adequately answered: you collapse and fall unconscious.

The question in the post has also been adequately answered:

33/66/100 or 38/76/115, depending on the actual Strength score involved.

Now, the real answer to the question is RTFM since this is a completely basic piece of information that's available in the CRB and on the PRD.

Then there's the other real answer which is "seriously? Your GM enforces carrying capacity?"


1 person marked this as a favorite.
UlrichVonLichtenstein wrote:
The title says it all!


1 person marked this as a favorite.
UlrichVonLichtenstein wrote:

Yes, I know that Ability Score and Bonus are two different things.

"Str bonus of 0 (zero)"

I never mentioned Ability Scores.

When people say a str of ____ they are talking about the score. Your title asked for str, but in your post you said "bonus".

The extra rules chapter covers your carrying capacity which is determined by score. Your bonus is not relevant. As an example a score of 10 and 11 have the same bonus, the carrying capacity is different.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Carrying Capacity for Character with Str of 0 All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions