Does an unseen servant occupy a square and thus block enemy movement?


Rules Questions

51 to 70 of 70 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

Yep, throw me into the "obviously no" camp. Spells that create forces that occupy squares explicitly state that they do.


Rysky wrote:
No, being an object or creature doesn't really matter. It's formless. faerie fire wouldn't work since there's nothing to outline.

It's not "formless". It's "shapeless". This term appears to most frequently be applied to garments. So, both clothes and unseen servants can be "shapeless". So, if you can't cast faerie fire on an unseen servant, then you wouldn't be able to apply it to some clothes either.

Silver Crusade

Melkiador wrote:
Rysky wrote:
No, being an object or creature doesn't really matter. It's formless. faerie fire wouldn't work since there's nothing to outline.
It's not "formless". It's "shapeless". This term appears to most frequently be applied to garments. So, both clothes and unseen servants can be "shapeless". So, if you can't cast faerie fire on an unseen servant, then you wouldn't be able to apply it to some clothes either.

Uh, no. Clothes have shapes. "Shapeless" in the context of clothes means baggy. Pretty sure the effect of the spell isn't to summon a "loose fitting" servant.

Shapeless/Formless = nothing to outline.


Rysky wrote:
Melkiador wrote:
Rysky wrote:
No, being an object or creature doesn't really matter. It's formless. faerie fire wouldn't work since there's nothing to outline.
It's not "formless". It's "shapeless". This term appears to most frequently be applied to garments. So, both clothes and unseen servants can be "shapeless". So, if you can't cast faerie fire on an unseen servant, then you wouldn't be able to apply it to some clothes either.

Uh, no. Clothes have shapes. "Shapeless" in the context of clothes means baggy. Pretty sure the effect of the spell isn't to summon a "loose fitting" servant.

Shapeless/Formless = nothing to outline.

Going by your interpretation, then the servant could occupy your space, and you would be able to "wear" it as loose fitting clothing. That clothing would just be invisible. And wouldn't travel with you.

Silver Crusade

Melkiador wrote:
Rysky wrote:
Melkiador wrote:
Rysky wrote:
No, being an object or creature doesn't really matter. It's formless. faerie fire wouldn't work since there's nothing to outline.
It's not "formless". It's "shapeless". This term appears to most frequently be applied to garments. So, both clothes and unseen servants can be "shapeless". So, if you can't cast faerie fire on an unseen servant, then you wouldn't be able to apply it to some clothes either.

Uh, no. Clothes have shapes. "Shapeless" in the context of clothes means baggy. Pretty sure the effect of the spell isn't to summon a "loose fitting" servant.

Shapeless/Formless = nothing to outline.

Going by your interpretation, then the servant could occupy your space, and you would be able to "wear" it as loose fitting clothing. That clothing would just be invisible. And wouldn't travel with you.

What? No. Actually pay attention to what you're responding to.

I said they Weren't using the clothing definition for Shapeless. They are using the literal meaning of having no shape.

Sczarni

You can occupy its space.

It's a "force", as in "energy" or "presence".

Not [force], as with Spiritual Ally.


It's certainly an object or creature though, because it's a creation spell. And there are other creatures made of energy, so being made of energy doesn't really matter. There are probably examples of objects made of energy too though. I'm just not aware of any.

Silver Crusade

It 's not energy though, it's a mindless, shapeless force. It barely even exists.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'm not sure that just because the creation subschool talks about 'objects or creatures' that is all that definitive. I think that a) subschool explanations are sometimes descriptive, rather than definiational, and b) that the term object or creature, as used there, may not be quite as specific as objects or creatures as used in other places in the rules.

There are certainly other creation spells that are only somewhat objects, at least objects in how Pathfinder usually deals with the term.

The fog spells for example. Fog is sort of an object but it certainly doesn't prevent movement in any way, and in the game is usually in the environmental condition category rather than the object category.

Gate/Phase Door. These are really more holes in reality than objects in and of themselves. They aren't treated in any way like other objects.

Glitterdust. Is the 'dust' an object? In a way yes, but once again, not anything that prevents movement.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I think I've figured out how to resolve this issue, but it requires that we first determine how many Unseen Servants can dance on the head of a pin.


I'm now trying to figure out what can come from putting a near infinite number of them in the same square. I'm surprised I can't find rules for assisting someone carrying or dragging a weight.


Frick's sake, if you want a level one spell to summon something that occupies a space cast Summon Monster! It amazes me the shenanigans people try and come up with.


MendedWall12 wrote:
Frick's sake, if you want a level one spell to summon something that occupies a space cast Summon Monster! It amazes me the shenanigans people try and come up with.

But that only lasts a few seconds, as opposed to several hours, and a summoned monster can be killed with a sword. I certainly understand the desire for this particular shenanigan; if allowed, it would make unseen servant among the most powerful first level spells in the game.


Orfamay Quest wrote:
I certainly understand the desire for this particular shenanigan; if allowed, it would make unseen servant among the most powerful first level spells in the game.

That's exactly why I don't understand it, and why I labeled it shenanigans. At any point does the logical part of a person's brain lend itself to thinking the spell called "unseen servant" should be one of the most powerful first level spells in the game? If the devs had wanted it to do what the OP is asking they would have renamed it "unseen combat stopping power of awesomesauceness-orama!"


MendedWall12 wrote:
Orfamay Quest wrote:
I certainly understand the desire for this particular shenanigan; if allowed, it would make unseen servant among the most powerful first level spells in the game.
That's exactly why I don't understand it, and why I labeled it shenanigans. At any point does the logical part of a person's brain lend itself to thinking the spell called "unseen servant" should be one of the most powerful first level spells in the game? If the devs had wanted it to do what the OP is asking they would have renamed it "unseen combat stopping power of awesomesauceness-orama!"

oddly - depending on your imagination and the situation - it does rank up there.

You can use an unseen servant to pick up weapons, hold items, open/shut doors - etc. You really don't get another spell that has the duration or versatility and the ability to change the battlefield in ways that would have otherwise cost you actions.

This spell with silent image, or even dancing lights can cause serious distractions for your opponents.


Can I play devil advocate at the risk of being beat up mercilessly?

I will say yes it does block movement. However, it has no CMD so anyone can get by it. I suppose it could stop a creature from charging. Note, however, that if you have the Unseen Servant carry a chair, it could block a charge anyway. Have it caryy a tower shield and it can provide cover.

I actually think this is the better ruling because if you say that it can't block a creature, you are also saying that no creature can block it. While I can't off of the top of my head think of a game-breaking way to use the unblockable unseen servant, I am sure that there is a clever way.

I will admit that everything I just said is off the top of my head. Let the beating commence.


By the way, I hit the FAQ for a couple of reasons. First, its a low level spell, so how it operates can affect any game. Two, there are pros and cons to a ruling either way. Three, the spell may already be too powerful in the minds of the creative (as I have already outlined) and the FAQ may act as a nerf opportunity, if nothing else.


Driver_325yards wrote:

Have it caryy a tower shield and it can provide cover.

Not happening. Unseen servant can lift 20 pounds, tower shield weighs 45 lbs. It could drag the shield for you, but I don't what good that would do. Interestingly, this does bring up the idea that an unseen servant is well within the parameters of the spell to carry a heavy steel shield. Do with that whatever you will. I still wouldn't let it block movement because it has no CMD, and an angry barbarian could barrel through it like a strong gust of wind.


MendedWall12 wrote:
Driver_325yards wrote:

Have it caryy a tower shield and it can provide cover.

Not happening. Unseen servant can lift 20 pounds, tower shield weighs 45 lbs. It could drag the shield for you, but I don't what good that would do. Interestingly, this does bring up the idea that an unseen servant is well within the parameters of the spell to carry a heavy steel shield. Do with that whatever you will. I still wouldn't let it block movement because it has no CMD, and an angry barbarian could barrel through it like a strong gust of wind.

Oh, it does not have to be a tower shield does it. The point is that it can provide cover and can block a charge if it is carrying something. You don't need CMD to block a charge. You just need an obstacle.

So what exactly do you take away from Unseen Servant by saying no. It is all on the plus side if you say no. If you say yes, that is the limiting answer.

I am starting to think of a lot of good things to do with Unseen Servants who are unblockable and occupy no space.


1 wand of Unseen Servant? 750 gp
8 Heavy Steel Shields? 160 gp

Having your own moving phalanx? Priceless...

51 to 70 of 70 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does an unseen servant occupy a square and thus block enemy movement? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions