
KingGramJohnson |

Hello. Even after reading the rules for it, I'm a little confused on pinning a creature.
Do you have to grapple someone and then automatically pin them (using a standard action), or do you have to beat the creature's CMD a second time to establish a pin?
E.g. Do you:
A. Roll against creature's CMD and established a grapple, then use an action to pin the creature
OR.
B. Roll against creature's CMD, establish the grapple, then to pin beat the creature's CMD a second time?
Thanks in advance for the help!

GM 1990 |
Hello. Even after reading the rules for it, I'm a little confused on pinning a creature.
Do you have to grapple someone and then automatically pin them (using a standard action), or do you have to beat the creature's CMD a second time to establish a pin?
E.g. Do you:
A. Roll against creature's CMD and established a grapple, then use an action to pin the creature
OR.
B. Roll against creature's CMD, establish the grapple, then to pin beat the creature's CMD a second time?
Thanks in advance for the help!
This one:
"B. Roll against creature's CMD, establish the grapple, then to pin beat the creature's CMD a second time?"But your 2d attempt (which is a standard action) doesn't happen until your next turn. Also, if you still are the grappler this 2d check is at a +5 bonus. (see below because you may not be by your next turn).
You may not be the grappler any more because, on their turn, they'll have opportunity to escape the grapple (and either end it, or become the grappler if they succeed).
One thing that's been unclear for me is if I'm pinned, and I succeed in "escape the grapple" do I go all the way back to becoming the grappler or ending it as a free action -or- do I just improve my position from pinned to grappled?

Wonderstell |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Hello. Even after reading the rules for it, I'm a little confused on pinning a creature.
Do you have to grapple someone and then automatically pin them (using a standard action), or do you have to beat the creature's CMD a second time to establish a pin?
E.g. Do you:
A. Roll against creature's CMD and established a grapple, then use an action to pin the creature
OR.
B. Roll against creature's CMD, establish the grapple, then to pin beat the creature's CMD a second time?
Thanks in advance for the help!
Pinning a creature is an option you can choose after you have succeeded on your grapple check to maintain your grapple. You can only do so if you are already the initiator of a grapple, which means that it normally can't be done in the same round in which you succeeded on your first grapple check.
Round 1: You make a grapple check (as a standard action) against an enemy. You succeed.
Round 1: The enemy attempts to beat your CMD and become the initiator of the grapple (as a standard action). He fails.
Round 2: You make a grapple check to maintain your grapple (as a standard action) with a +5 circumstance bonus. You succeed, and can choose between Moving, Damaging, Pinning and Tying him up. You chose to pin him, and does not need to make another check.
Round 2: The enemy does now have the pinned condition, and can only attempt to free himself (as a standard action), but will do so with one successful check.
*****
@ GM 1990
A grappled creature succeeding in "escape the grapple" would become free.
...and I don't think you can become the grappler if you were pinned.
A pinned creature is tightly bound and can take few actions. A pinned creature cannot move and is denied its Dexterity bonus. A pinned character also takes an additional –4 penalty to his Armor Class. A pinned creature is limited in the actions that it can take. A pinned creature can always attempt to free itself, usually through a combat maneuver check or Escape Artist check. A pinned creature can take verbal and mental actions, but cannot cast any spells that require a somatic or material component. A pinned character who attempts to cast a spell or use a spell-like ability must make a concentration check (DC 10 + grappler's CMB + spell level) or lose the spell. Pinned is a more severe version of grappled, and their effects do not stack.

GM 1990 |
KingGramJohnson wrote:Hello. Even after reading the rules for it, I'm a little confused on pinning a creature.
Do you have to grapple someone and then automatically pin them (using a standard action), or do you have to beat the creature's CMD a second time to establish a pin?
E.g. Do you:
A. Roll against creature's CMD and established a grapple, then use an action to pin the creature
OR.
B. Roll against creature's CMD, establish the grapple, then to pin beat the creature's CMD a second time?
Thanks in advance for the help!
Pinning a creature is an option you can choose after you have succeeded on your grapple check to maintain your grapple. You can only do so if you are already the initiator of a grapple, which means that it normally can't be done in the same round in which you succeeded on your first grapple check.
Round 1: You make a grapple check against an enemy. You succeed.
Round 1: The enemy attempts to beat your CMD and become the initiator. He fails.
Round 2: You make a grapple check to maintain your grapple (with a +5 circumstance bonus). You succeed, and can choose between Moving, Damaging, Pinning and Tying him up. You chose to pin him, and does not need to make another check.
Round 2: The enemy does now have the pinned condition, and can only attempt to free himself, but will do so with one successful check.
*****
@ GM 1990
A grappled creature succeeding in "escape the grapple" would become free.
...and I don't think you can become the grappler if you were pinned.
Someone said wrote:A pinned creature is tightly bound and can take few actions. A pinned creature cannot move and is denied its Dexterity bonus. A pinned character also takes an additional –4 penalty to his Armor Class. A pinned creature is limited in the actions that it can take. A pinned creature can always attempt to free itself, usually through a combat maneuver check or Escape...
Thanks - that's how we've been playing it, but it always seems like a real waste since you use two turns to initiate grapple (only if you succeed), and then pin opponent (again...only if you succeed with +5 bonus), while your opponent can be out of the grapple either by your failure to maintain or by success on their part. My players have used it a couple times to attempt to restrain someone, and it always turns into keystone cops. Better off striking them to dying state, and then stabilizing them...but of course risks killing them outright if you roll too much damage.

KingGramJohnson |

Wonderstell wrote:...KingGramJohnson wrote:Hello. Even after reading the rules for it, I'm a little confused on pinning a creature.
Do you have to grapple someone and then automatically pin them (using a standard action), or do you have to beat the creature's CMD a second time to establish a pin?
E.g. Do you:
A. Roll against creature's CMD and established a grapple, then use an action to pin the creature
OR.
B. Roll against creature's CMD, establish the grapple, then to pin beat the creature's CMD a second time?
Thanks in advance for the help!
Pinning a creature is an option you can choose after you have succeeded on your grapple check to maintain your grapple. You can only do so if you are already the initiator of a grapple, which means that it normally can't be done in the same round in which you succeeded on your first grapple check.
Round 1: You make a grapple check against an enemy. You succeed.
Round 1: The enemy attempts to beat your CMD and become the initiator. He fails.
Round 2: You make a grapple check to maintain your grapple (with a +5 circumstance bonus). You succeed, and can choose between Moving, Damaging, Pinning and Tying him up. You chose to pin him, and does not need to make another check.
Round 2: The enemy does now have the pinned condition, and can only attempt to free himself, but will do so with one successful check.
*****
@ GM 1990
A grappled creature succeeding in "escape the grapple" would become free.
...and I don't think you can become the grappler if you were pinned.
Someone said wrote:A pinned creature is tightly bound and can take few actions. A pinned creature cannot move and is denied its Dexterity bonus. A pinned character also takes an additional –4 penalty to his Armor Class. A pinned creature is limited in the actions that it can take. A pinned creature can always attempt to free itself, usually through a
Awesome! Thank you for the help!

Wolfovich |
Nice Thread for my question:
What happens in next round if a pinned character fail attempt to free? How long "pinned" condition works:
1)Until just before Grappler's next turn(1 round) and Grappler must SPEND "pin" action as part of maintain grapple to extend "pinned" condition in next round.
2)Until grappler fail check to maintain grapple(as grapple rules about "grappled" condition).
Other words - Can alone grappler without Greater Grapple feat use Move, Damage, Tie Up Actions against pinned by him enemy?