2-1B, 2-1C, 2-1D - How did you do?


Pathfinder Adventure Card Society


Running with Manzar, Alain, Athnul and Radillo (me). Yes, lots of STR and WIS and little DEX and INT. Blame the particular class deck order.

In 2-1B I ran into the dreaded mutated Warchanter as Radillo and rolled a 1. (Which meant I needed to pass a CON check and a WIS check to do anything). I just recharged everything I could and 3 damage.

2-1C was the standard shopping scenario except everyone hated us. It was still really easy to finish.

2-1D, I asked for an Augury in my opening hand (I have 2 in the deck at this point). I get one of them. Away the Goblin Raiders go. Other than that, I had a silly Augury chain when I used Augury to put a monster on top, used an attack spell to pull it into my hand, Augury'd again, put the monster on top, used a blessing to explore and another attack spell to defeat it and pulled the Augury into my hand, and Augury'd again to finally get the villain on top (we were running low on time and we knew the villain was at the location), then stepped away and let Alain fight because I would not survive the Big Chief Wortus encounter.

Oh well. It was my fault in the first place for going to the Woods and encountering the Poison Trap on the first explore, causing me to purposely lose to it. I forgot I was playing Radillo instead of a WIS character.


As much as I love Radillo, the d4 WIS is too brutal for me to play her any more. I have her at Tier 3 right now just sitting there from season 0. I think part of the problem is that outside of combat, WIS checks are the most common. Having Alain in your group could be a big help after you get role cards. His Glory Hound role will allow him to take some of those bad encounters off your hands.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

In 2-1B, is there any reason why the "During This Scenario" section, they used the phrase, "...bury a card from your deck" rather than "bury the TOP card of your deck"? Should we be picking a card to bury? Seems counter-intuitive.

Pathfinder ACG Developer

James McKendrew wrote:
In 2-1B, is there any reason why the "During This Scenario" section, they used the phrase, "...bury a card from your deck" rather than "bury the TOP card of your deck"? Should we be picking a card to bury? Seems counter-intuitive.

Top of the deck is technically redundant (that is what you do with a deck that is face down), so much like not using "cannot move or be moved", I suspect editing is paring down on excess language.

Grand Lodge Venture-Lieutenant, Pennsylvania—Lancaster aka Theryon Stormrune

Keith Richmond wrote:
James McKendrew wrote:
In 2-1B, is there any reason why the "During This Scenario" section, they used the phrase, "...bury a card from your deck" rather than "bury the TOP card of your deck"? Should we be picking a card to bury? Seems counter-intuitive.
Top of the deck is technically redundant (that is what you do with a deck that is face down), so much like not using "cannot move or be moved", I suspect editing is paring down on excess language.

I'm sure it is just that, Keith. Interacting with a face-down deck follows similar rules on pg 9 of the rulebook ("Rules: Drawing Cards").


Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

In scenario 2-1C, are you really supposed to empty all locations so they can be closed? There seems to be no other provision to close a location, with there being no henchmen or villains available.

This sounds rather difficult with multiple players. For four players, you would have to dig through 54 cards in 30 turns, and with six players it's 72 cards, which means you have to clear at least 2-3 cards in each and every turn.

Or am I missing something?

Silver Crusade 5/5

Well, they are ally-heavy locations, I believe, and there is a condition to make acquiring allies both harder and easier. Ally-heavy locations generate more explores.

Grand Lodge Venture-Lieutenant, Pennsylvania—Lancaster aka Theryon Stormrune

1 person marked this as a favorite.

You're not missing anything, Zaister. It is a difficult scenario if you're not equipped to gather allies and other means of multiple explores. Very easy to fail due to running out of time.

And Eliandra is correct about the harder/easier stuff.


Most of 2-1C's locations are designed for multiple explores a turn:

General Store gets an extra explore if not encountering an armor, item or weapon
The Rusty Dragon Inn has 3 allies and allows you to recharge one when you close it
Town Square has a discard a card to explore ability and 2 allies
Glassworks has 2 allies
Waterfront has a discard 2 cards to explore ability and 2 allies
Temple has 4 blessings
Apothecary allows you to reshuffle discarded allies if you don't explore, and has 1 ally and 2 blessings
Swallowtail Festival has 2 allies and 2 blessings

I don't think it's that bad; Glassworks is probably the worst in terms of clearing.


Paizo Charter Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Charter Superscriber

Ah ok I guess that makes mre sense, then.

Silver Crusade 3/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Missouri—Springfield aka Heathwool

2-1B Solo adventures with Flenta. Started at Treacherous Caves, because I couldn't roll to get there otherwise. Defeated villian at all 3 locations and done. Acid damage taken: 1

Solo Lem and Grazzle. Easy as pi. Acid damage taken: 0.

2-1C Solo Flenta, this "came down to the wire", as in I wanted to see how many spells I could acquire, and try to squeeze out a 6 charisma using a d10+1 (topaz replacing charisma). I acquired 20 spells, and finally closed Rusty Dragon on my I think 8th total attempt and my last turn.

Solo Grazzle and Lem. D12+3 Diplomacy for allies, recycling heals with Lem, and Auto Recharge with Grazzle. Needless to say, this was easy.

Probably going through 2-1D tomorrow with my favorite Fighter Flenta.


Heathwool wrote:
Started at Treacherous Caves, because I couldn't roll to get there otherwise.

The location power restricts you when you try to move away from the Caves, not when you move there. Other people have been confused by this.

Heathwool wrote:
2-1C I acquired 20 spells..

How? There aren't that many spells in the scenario.

Silver Crusade 3/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Missouri—Springfield aka Heathwool

elcoderdude wrote:
Heathwool wrote:
Started at Treacherous Caves, because I couldn't roll to get there otherwise.
The location power restricts you when you try to move away from the Caves, not when you move there. Other people have been confused by this.

Oh. I was confused on the wording.

Heathwool wrote:

2-1C I acquired 20 spells..

How? There aren't that many spells in the scenario.

Flenta's power. Unless I am reading it wrong, everytime she casts an Arcane spell, she gets one b or c arcane spell from the box. She has to banish her spells because she doesn't have Arcane (but with a power feat I have, she has arcane:intelligence 2 when she uses attack spells). Spammed Sleep, recharge a new spell recharge sleep (it has attack).

Silver Crusade 5/5

I think Flenta's power to have arcane only works when she casts the spell, not when she recharges it. So when it says, "For your combat check, use your arcane skill +2d4," you get arcane: intelligence + 2. But when you recharge the spell, you're not playing it anymore. It's a different step, so the skill is gone. Flenta must banish.


Any spell Flenta casts, she banishes. Always. She then draws a B level Arcane spell from the box and recharges that. She'd need a lot of deck-shuffling to do this 20 times in a scenario.

Silver Crusade 3/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Missouri—Springfield aka Heathwool

Well that makes things different. I guess I wouldn't have been able to reuse sleep, but still had 3 copies of it.


Heathwool wrote:
Flenta's power. Unless I am reading it wrong, everytime she casts an Arcane spell, she gets one b or c arcane spell from the box. She has to banish her spells because she doesn't have Arcane (but with a power feat I have, she has arcane:intelligence 2 when she uses attack spells). Spammed Sleep, recharge a new spell recharge sleep (it has attack).

Flenta's actual power feat reads: "For your combat check that has the Attack trait, you may use the skill Arcane: Intelligence +2." It's limited to the combat check only, so by the time she tries to recharge the spell, she doesn't have the Arcane skill anymore and has to banish the card.

Sovereign Court RPG Superstar 2011 Top 32

Just played these with my solo Enora. Not too tough, although I had a couple issues with 2-1D - what do you do when the scenario text contradicts itself? I met a goblin at Junk Beach, and rolled the number which would force me to move, but Junk Beach wasn't closed so I couldn't move. I went with the move being impossible as that seemed to be the spirit of the scenario.

The 2-1D villain was pretty tough with my d4 Con. Lost to him the first time due to the -2 per die, on my second fight with him I managed to roll a 34 on 6 dice(3d12 BoPharasma+2d6 spell+d4 acolyte) so even with a -12 I beat him. 16 is pretty tough for an AD1 villain, especially if you happen on him unprepared.


ryric wrote:
I met a goblin at Junk Beach, and rolled the number which would force me to move, but Junk Beach wasn't closed so I couldn't move. I went with the move being impossible as that seemed to be the spirit of the scenario.

That was the right call. There was a thread on this. No one moves anywhere until Junk Beach is closed.

Silver Crusade 3/5 Venture-Lieutenant, Missouri—Springfield aka Heathwool

Solo adventures of El Flenta

2-1D ran into Collapsed Ceiling at the Junk Beach brought me to 0 left in deck. Decided to fail the scenario to avoid death

Attempt 2 with a RotRu Sajan as a pregen. Got to the end of the scenario to find the boss. My luck was rolling a 1 on the 2 times I fought him. Failed both my checks the first time. Took a -12 against my 2d10+1d12+3 (24). 2nd time burned a blessing to succeed 1 time, fail the second time. Used a Shock Glaive +1 and decided (stupidly) to do the 2 chances for 2d10 straight roll for 16. Failed. Died.

It was fun while it lasted, but now to build a different Fighter.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Darago, Maznar, Athnul, Raz, and RotR Lini ran outta time on 2-1B. Darago got hand-wiped before his first turn, and risked exploring only to turn up Black Fang, which lost us several blessings. Athnul and Darago both were at Death's Door for more than half the Scenario with two cards in hand and Cures hiding from all the Divine casters.

In the end, there were no deaths, two open locations, and due to a bad roll, we couldn't close one (which would have allowed us to examine the deck and know for sure where Black Fang was hiding).

And to top it all off, only one AD1 deck upgrade was available (Item). Rough time...


So far my Group has only failed 2-1a. Alahazra, Brielle, Ramexes, and Agna just ran out of time. I don't think we did anything wrong, we had two henchmen at the bottom of their location decks. Won the next play though.

2-1b - Next Night swapped out Ramexes and Agna for Sajan. Didn't find this one difficult. We did have the bonus of Sajan picking up an amulet of Fortitude which he handed off to Brielle to go fight Blackfang with. Also helps when Alahazra Scouted Blackfang and 2 of the other 4 henchmen so that we could prep for the checks.

2-1c - This was a rough one. We had a Siren that appeared undefeatable. She stomped everyone that ran into her even with blessings. This was sheerly due to unlucky rolls. And we had two people get their hands wiped by explosive runes. The saving factor was Sajan again found a key item pick up. He encountered the Holy candle and with Alahazra's blessings he grab it. Got us 4 more turns. Finished with 2 cards in the blessing deck.

Will be doing 2-1d soon, I will let you know how that goes.


Not sure what it is about 2-1B, but in both my game group and solo I came very close to losing on time.

I played 2-1B in a group with CD Sajan, CD Lini, Olenjack, Maznar and CD Seelah. We were down to 2 open locations with three turns left. We had the explores to explore one location fully but not the other. Hit the villain as the last card in the location we could clear.

My solo run used Athnul, CD Ezren, CD Lini and S&S Alahazra. I lost a couple henchman fights since my highest Dexterity die was a d6. Got lucky finding the villain when I was down to two blessings with a lot of cards left in 2 locations. Alahazra made a 6 Dexterity closing check with her d4 to secure the win.

One thing about the monks, they need a lot of healing. Sajan has 9 allies and blessings and ends up discarding those frequently. Athnul has even more. In my solo runs Lini and Alahazra both tend to use their Cures on Athnul.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Clearly, Lini is the common flaw. B-)


James McKendrew wrote:
Clearly, Lini is the common flaw. B-)

I take it you're joking, but Lini can discard an animal ally in her hand to explore and get it back the next turn. Lini explores more than some other characters do.


I totally agree on CD Lini. She cycles through her deck like a champ. One might say...she explores like a beast....

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Actually, I meant Lini in general, as our Lini is RotR rather than CD, and yes, I was joking. That was just the one character I could find in common with all three instances of near- or complete-time-outs. As I said, in the session I played, it was Athnul and Darago who were constantly low on cards. I was playing Darago, and I would squint and turn my face mostly away from the table every time I turned over a card after my second turn. I want a power feat to LOWER my hand size like Ostog the (Un?)slain.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Try two went MUCH better. We had six players (RotR-Lini, Athnul, CD-Damiel, Mother Myrtle, Darago, and CD-Sajan).

This time, Darago took no damage (he remembered his proficiency with Necromancy, you see) and ended up discarding very little. Even facing Black Fang was no trouble (mostly from a lucky d4 roll on the acid damage and a spare Magic Chain Mail that he tripped over... and the eye patch).

The plethora of healers was pretty nice. Poor Sajan closed two locations back to back. What was his reward? Both said, "Recharge an item from your discard pile!" Did Sajan have an item in his discard pile either time? No.

I was kind of astounded that three characters had Knowledge skill, and FOUR characters had Fortitude. We had no problems acquiring armor, I can tell you... Though we had LESS success making those avoid-Black-Fang's-acid rolls (We encountered him three or so times).

As I mentioned in another thread, Damiel and Lini were co-habitating, and had a nasty exchange of triggered events that caused damage to everyone at the location, where the one who encountered the card in question invariably ended up taking no damage. There was much amusement over the potential "in character" dialogue. (I now wonder if this is what a marriage between an Alchemist and a Druid would be like.)

Mother Myrtle is now rocking a new lab coat, and Darago went into a back ally with Ezren and came out alone wearing new Arcane Robes... So, quite the wardrobe change.


Running with Athnul, Koren, and Raznak.

We had little trouble with 2-1B rolls due to the decent Fort:Con bonuses.
Plus we picked up armor like free candy and were promptly passed on to Koren (me) for the 6d power.

1 acid damage the entire game (Ranzak). Rolls were on spot, but no Black Fang in sight. Came down to doing some risky "you go there and I'll go here, and hopefully we find him and if we succeed at the temp close, maybe a win."
This all actually worked out. It was a 50/50 shot (we had two cards left in the location on our last turn) and Athnul flipped the beast, Koren threw out some d6 power to help Ranzak temp close as Athnul killed (escapes) the beast.

2-1C...
I don't want to talk about...

We don't speak so good and people no like us much...

Some how Koren ended up with one card left in his deck, I think I was burning cards left and right trying to help. Luckily, it was an armor. I just recharged that armor for the rest of the game boosting Ranzak's boon thieving hands around the board. We gained little in the way of friends, but one badass lady (Athnul) who hangs around a one handed, one legged goblin and a half-orc brute, what did we expect?

What was funny was we actually encountered the Mayor at a location and all three of us laughed out loud about how we were not even going to try to acquire that hateful woman that just disowned us from her town.

Oh,... good times.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Timed out on 2-1D. Two monks, two alchemists, a wizard and a druid... The Villain was waiting on top of one of our two remaining open locations.

We got a head start, because Darago picked up his Augury Red Rover spell to send three Goblins back over (to the far side of Junk Beach, while everything else got mixed around). We managed to get the Poison Trap after dealing with only two of the beggars (both in the same turn, faced by CD-Damiel). Athnul got the close.

Darago camped on the Farmhouse until Mother Myrtle came out of the Woods and closed the barn door. CD-Sajan cleared out the Goblin Fortress without hardly trying. Athnul bludgeoned Bandits in the Guard Tower 'til they stopped comin'. CD-Lini re-consecrated the Desecrated Vault so that no more Zombie Ogres would come out...

And that left Sajan at the Warrens, where he explored until exhausted (and leaned on Big Chief Wortus to catch his breath, as he was, we discovered after the game ended, the next card on the Location deck in the Warrens) and Lini at the Garrison, which she did her best to clean, but ended on a Mattock.

We'll give 'er another go next week.


2-1D

Not much really to discuss here, we bashed our way out of the Junk Beach with little more then some help with throwing multiple d6's on the Goblin table, and with it being early game... whatevs.

Pushing around the table we gathered many Adventure 1 weapons. (woot woot).

Until...

The last card in the whole shebang (we still had 7 turns remaining). Big Chief Wortus crawled out of his hole and demanded successful con fort rolls. We obliged. He blew up. What a wildly uneventful close.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Adventure Card Society / 2-1B, 2-1C, 2-1D - How did you do? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Adventure Card Society