Weird question about incorporeality


Rules Questions


If I were so inclined could I as a sufficiently small creature (say a gnome) become incorporeal, go inside the body of a sufficiently large creature (call it a great wyrm dragon) and recorporate? It struck me that in the face of lots of teeth, claws and natural armor it might be beneficial to destroy a creature from its stomach rather than allow it to chew first. The mechanism of incorporeality I was thinking of was a suit of Mosswater Stained Leather so anyone could use the tactic. I just wonder if it's legal.

Grand Lodge

Technically that armor makes you Ethereal, not Incorporeal. And it does it as per Ethereal Jaunt, which tells you the following:

Quote:
If you end the spell and become material while inside a material object (such as a solid wall), you are shunted off to the nearest open space and take 1d6 points of damage per 5 feet that you so travel.


The nearest open space, not the nearest safe space, so it could be inside a creature.


While the inside of a sufficiently large creature may qualify as 'space', I think it's safe to say that by most definitions it does not qualify as *open* space.

Your GM may say otherwise, but I think most people would say 'no'.


I would tend to rule "no", but appearing submerged in gastric acid for 10d6 damage per round would also be tempting.


Incorporeal creatures are still creatures and still follow the rules that apply to creatures. One such rule is that they cannot occupy the same square. In some cases they can (particularly when they are at least three size categories apart), but that says they occupy the same square, none of it says that they the same actual space.

We have rules that say you can't do this, so unless you can find a rule that says you can (I am unaware of such a rule), then it is impossible for an incorporeal creature to pass through the body of another creature.

I do know of an oracle ability that grants the specific ability for the oracle to become incorporeal and pass through his allies to heal them, but that is a specific case applicable only to that class ability; I don't think it sets a precedent for all incorporeals to enter other creatures.


Goblin_Priest wrote:
I would tend to rule "no", but appearing submerged in gastric acid for 10d6 damage per round would also be tempting.

...even the Tarrasque only deals 6d6 acid damage per round

I'd say there isn't space unless it has the swallow whole ability, in which case you can appear in its stomach. Not that you'd want to.


DM_Blake wrote:

Incorporeal creatures are still creatures and still follow the rules that apply to creatures. One such rule is that they cannot occupy the same square. In some cases they can (particularly when they are at least three size categories apart), but that says they occupy the same square, none of it says that they the same actual space.

We have rules that say you can't do this, so unless you can find a rule that says you can (I am unaware of such a rule), then it is impossible for an incorporeal creature to pass through the body of another creature.

I do know of an oracle ability that grants the specific ability for the oracle to become incorporeal and pass through his allies to heal them, but that is a specific case applicable only to that class ability; I don't think it sets a precedent for all incorporeals to enter other creatures.

"An ethereal creature is invisible, insubstantial, and capable of moving in any direction, even up or down, albeit at half normal speed. As an insubstantial creature, you can move through solid objects, including living creatures."


Renata Maclean wrote:
...even the Tarrasque only deals 6d6 acid damage per round

Yeah, but MY acid is heavily-armored acid!

But don't forget my other 6d6 + 22 crushing damage as my heavily-armored insides crush that silly gnome to gnome-paste.


Were I your GM, I would probably use the Swallow Whole rules for this.

Liberty's Edge

DM_Blake wrote:

Incorporeal creatures are still creatures and still follow the rules that apply to creatures. One such rule is that they cannot occupy the same square. In some cases they can (particularly when they are at least three size categories apart), but that says they occupy the same square, none of it says that they the same actual space.

We have rules that say you can't do this, so unless you can find a rule that says you can (I am unaware of such a rule), then it is impossible for an incorporeal creature to pass through the body of another creature.

I do know of an oracle ability that grants the specific ability for the oracle to become incorporeal and pass through his allies to heal them, but that is a specific case applicable only to that class ability; I don't think it sets a precedent for all incorporeals to enter other creatures.

Energy Body wrote:


Once per round, if you pass through a living allied creature's square or the ally passes through your square, it heals 1d6 hit points + 1 per oracle level. You may use this ability to heal yourself as a move action.

Unless youa re thinking of something different, energy body let's you pass through an ally square and heal him, not through its body.

Liberty's Edge

Renata Maclean wrote:


"An ethereal creature is invisible, insubstantial, and capable of moving in any direction, even up or down, albeit at half normal speed. As an insubstantial creature, you can move through solid objects, including living creatures."

Full text:

PRD wrote:


Ethereal Jaunt

School transmutation; Level cleric 7, sorcerer/wizard 7

Casting Time 1 standard action

Components V, S

Range personal

Target you

Duration 1 round/level (D)

You become ethereal, along with your equipment. For the duration of the spell, you are in the Ethereal Plane, which overlaps the Material Plane. When the spell expires, you return to material existence.

An ethereal creature is invisible, insubstantial, and capable of moving in any direction, even up or down, albeit at half normal speed. As an insubstantial creature, you can move through solid objects, including living creatures. An ethereal creature can see and hear on the Material Plane, but everything looks gray and ephemeral. Sight and hearing onto the Material Plane are limited to 60 feet.

Force effects and abjurations affect an ethereal creature normally. Their effects extend onto the Ethereal Plane from the Material Plane, but not vice versa. An ethereal creature can't attack material creatures, and spells you cast while ethereal affect only other ethereal things. Certain material creatures or objects have attacks or effects that work on the Ethereal Plane.

Treat other ethereal creatures and ethereal objects as if they were material.

If you end the spell and become material while inside a material object (such as a solid wall), you are shunted off to the nearest open space and take 1d6 points of damage per 5 feet that you so travel.

"Inside another creature" isn't an empty space.

A creature stomach contain gastric acids and possibly its last meal.
A empty stomach contract, while we are eating it expand, so even the stomach of a creature with swallow whole hasn't much free space unless it is swallowing something. So unless you can time your reappearance so that you get there exactly when it is swallowing a creature of your size or larger you would not reappear in the creature stomach. You will reappear outside its body.

Maybe some Kaiju is large enough that this tactic can work, but I doubt it.


RAW, I agree, inside a creature is not an open space that can be 'phased into' from the Ethereal or from Incorporeal.

Rule of cool, for creatures with the swallow whole ability, I'd allow it. Because with these creatures you have:

  • Rules specifying a creature can exist in the space
  • Rules addressing what you can do to the creature
  • Rules addressing what the creature's stomach does to you


It is an excessively bad idea to allow your players easily kill tough monsters with such a gimick, as it will trivialise many future encounters.


Deadalready wrote:
It is an excessively bad idea to allow your players easily kill tough monsters with such a gimick, as it will trivialise many future encounters.

True, but that's a double-edged sword. I'll kill them back with incorporeal svirfneblin...

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Deadalready wrote:
It is an excessively bad idea to allow your players easily kill tough monsters with such a gimick, as it will trivialise many future encounters.

+1


HibikiSatsuo wrote:
The nearest open space, not the nearest safe space, so it could be inside a creature.

Like its stomach?


DM_Blake wrote:
Deadalready wrote:
It is an excessively bad idea to allow your players easily kill tough monsters with such a gimick, as it will trivialise many future encounters.
True, but that's a double-edged sword. I'll kill them back with incorporeal svirfneblin...

I always let my players determine the level of this stuff they want present in the game.

If the players make an argument asking for this tactic to be usable by the party, my first question is, "Sure, as long as you're ok with enemies doing it to you."


Renata Maclean wrote:
Goblin_Priest wrote:
I would tend to rule "no", but appearing submerged in gastric acid for 10d6 damage per round would also be tempting.

...even the Tarrasque only deals 6d6 acid damage per round

I'd say there isn't space unless it has the swallow whole ability, in which case you can appear in its stomach. Not that you'd want to.

So?

There's no swallow whole ability for great wyrms, but there are "submerged in acid" rules: http://paizo.com/pathfinderRPG/prd/coreRulebook/environment.html#acid-effec ts

10d6.

And even if there were swallow whole rules, you seem to imply that they would have to be followed. There is no RAW dragon anatomy, but a lot of the things they are said to consume would take pretty intense forces to dissolve. And for creatures that do have swallow whole, and that don't exist IRL (such as t-rexes), RAW doesn't stipulate that this swallow whole damage is caused by a unique digestion organ. Maybe the torrasque has a kind of gizzard, and that 6d6 acid damage is just the primary digestion, and that it also has a stronger stomach that could deal more damage (but only dead things are brought there because it is otherwise more fragile than the primary digestion organ).


Goblin_Priest wrote:
Renata Maclean wrote:
Goblin_Priest wrote:
I would tend to rule "no", but appearing submerged in gastric acid for 10d6 damage per round would also be tempting.

...even the Tarrasque only deals 6d6 acid damage per round

I'd say there isn't space unless it has the swallow whole ability, in which case you can appear in its stomach. Not that you'd want to.

So?

There's no swallow whole ability for great wyrms, but there are "submerged in acid" rules: Linkified

10d6.

I'm going to suggest that the kind of acid that dissolves people who fall in traps is probably stronger than your typical stomach acid. Even mine. So the "submerged in acid" 10d6 rules are probably meant for something like (pure) hydrochloric or sulfuric acid or some such thing.

Goblin_Priest wrote:
And even if there were swallow whole rules, you seem to imply that they would have to be followed. There is no RAW dragon anatomy, but a lot of the things they are said to consume would take pretty intense forces to dissolve. And for creatures that do have swallow whole, and that don't exist IRL (such as t-rexes), RAW doesn't stipulate that this swallow whole damage is caused by a unique digestion organ.

I agree that if this tactic were allowed in the first place, it could be used on anything with or without swallow whole. And there would be NO acid damage unless you did pop into the stomach or gall bladder or liver. If you popped into the heart or lung or brain or spleen or bladder or kidney or left foot or whatever, there would be no acid. Crushing damage and risks of suffocation, plus you'd be fully grappled, maybe pinned - hard to swing weapons or cast spells or do much of anything that requires moving.

Goblin_Priest wrote:
Maybe the torrasque has a kind of gizzard,

It's TARRASQUE. I don't get your name wrong...

And please, I don't have a gizzard. What am I, a freaking bird?

I DO have three stomachs. One for digesting meat, one for digesting villages, and one for digesting dwarves - they get their own stomach since I eat so many of them.

Goblin_Priest wrote:
and that 6d6 acid damage is just the primary digestion, and that it also has a stronger stomach that could deal more damage (but only dead things are brought there because it is otherwise more fragile than the primary digestion organ).

Fragile?

FRAGILE?

Get real, bub. My stomachs, all of them, are fully armored like the rest of me. My epithelial parietal cells are as hard as ten-fold steel.

Fragile. Now I've heard everything...

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Weird question about incorporeality All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions