Monk + "in-hand weapons" = unarmed strike?


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Here's a simple question i'd like clarified-

If a Monk uses either the Cestus, Emei Piercer, or any other "in-hand weapon" is the monk still considered unarmed for the benefit on Unarmed Strikes?

The Emei Piercer says "used to augment unarmed martial tecnhiques"

thanks.


No, because they are using a weapon they are not unarmed.


if you're attacking with the weapon it's not an unarmed strike. But having a weapon in hand doesn't stop you from making an Unarmed strike using a different part of your body instead of your hands.

Scarab Sages

You can still make an unarmed strike while wielding one of those weapons in hand. However, the unarmed strike will not use any enhancement bonus or special properties of the weapon.

If you use the weapon, you use the damage type, die, and critical modifier listed on the weapon description. You do not use your unarmed strike damage with the weapon unless you have a specific feat or class ability that allows you to do so.

Scarab Sages

Even if you have a Weapon in each Hand youre able to make Unarmed Strikes ... using your feet, your head, your body or any other Body part you fancy .... the only exception to this is the strike/ feat you want to use to make an unarmed Strike specifically states that you need a hand free or is made using a fist or similar. Improved Unarmed Strike makes your body a weapon so no specific part is needed to strike or make an AoO.


As others have said, no they are weapons and don't count as unarmed strikes.

If you would please be more specific about what combination of things are interacting we could give you better more specific answer so you can better understand how things work.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Claxon wrote:

As others have said, no they are weapons and don't count as unarmed strikes.

If you would please be more specific about what combination of things are interacting we could give you better more specific answer so you can better understand how things work.

+1

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Monk + "in-hand weapons" = unarmed strike? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions