| DeathlessOne |
It summons an ooze in the next available square of your choice or simply fails to activate.
The ooze is not under the alchemist’s control, but is otherwise treated as a summoned creature.
Creatures cannot be summoned into an environment that cannot support them.
Bottled Ooze is not "an elixir, infused extract, poison, or potion" therefore it is not a valid target for the spell.
That, too.
Carla the Profane
|
It summons an ooze in the next available square of your choice or simply fails to activate.
Bottled ooze wrote:The ooze is not under the alchemist’s control, but is otherwise treated as a summoned creature.Summon Monster wrote:Creatures cannot be summoned into an environment that cannot support them.
Some oozes can definitely survive inside someone's body. A gelatinous cube, for example, fits into spaces that's only a fraction of its own size. It's also so big that I could probably be inside you and envelop you at the same time. That, and if you have a huge ooze, a medium creature could fit inside its space... Would a person that is injection with a huge ooze not simply be enveloped by it from the start?
Dave Justus wrote:Bottled Ooze is not "an elixir, infused extract, poison, or potion" therefore it is not a valid target for the spell.That, too.
The discovery literally says you can make an infused extract of it, so I don't get this point at all.
Voadkha 11
|
I would say that if the character ALSO had the infusion discovery then it would work, otherwise it would fail because, I would treat the bottled ooze as an extract (per the bottled ooze discovery) but not elixir/infused extract/poison/potion.
If he had the infusion discovery, I would rule that the bottled ooze becomes an infused extract and therefore becomes an acceptable target for the spell.
That said, I would rule that the 'injected' ooze occupies the touched person's square and that it's first attack automatically hits. If I was feeling generous I'd have the player roll a D20 and if he rolled a 20 the 'automatic hit' was also a critical.
| Douglas Muir 406 |
There was an adventure in Dungeon magazine back in the early 2000s that involved something like this. [googles] Yah, "Caverns of the Ooze Lord" from Dungeon #132. Maniac discovers way to infect inhabitants of a village with ooze; once infected, they gradually mutate into monstrous ooze-human hybrids, then simply into oozes, all under maniac's control. He plans to unleash an army of etc. etc.
Unfortunately for your purposes, it addressed the infection problem by creating a special new type of ooze (olive slime) and a new magic item (the [i]sickstone[/]). Fun high concept adventure, though.
Doug M.
| QuidEst |
It's treated as a summoned creature. Unless specifically allowed by the spell, you can't summon anything inside another creature.
If you don't accept that interpretation, then it's up to the GM to decide. It would be polite to inform your GM before you take it of your intentions.
Additional issue: the dicovery has a specific activation method. I would consider this a good candidate for "specific overrides general".
| Jader7777 |
I remember reading something about barrels of beer that secretly contained oozes and that they would be ingested and begin dealing wisdom damage (that appeared just like they were becoming extremely drunk) the save was fort, to vomit them back up, but it's was difficult to figure out what was going on and people didn't think they needed to worry about being so inebriated. Unless the mass suggestion evil wizard came along.
I imagine an ooze inside someone would just be doing the same as a poison.
Wolfsnap
|
Additional issue: the dicovery has a specific activation method. I would consider this a good candidate for "specific overrides general".
If this were my home game, I'd be tempted in this one case to say "rule of cool overrides specific and general" but I'd definitely make sure that whatever happened the ooze would get consumed in the process.