Opportune Parry and Riposte


Rules Questions


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hey everyone, got a disagreement that we want some more opinions on.

Opportune Parry and Riposte (Ex): At 1st level, when an opponent makes a melee attack against the swashbuckler, she can spend 1 panache point and expend a use of an attack of opportunity to attempt to parry that attack. The swashbuckler makes an attack roll as if she were making an attack of opportunity; for each size category the attacking creature is larger than the swashbuckler, the swashbuckler takes a –2 penalty on this roll. If her result is greater than the attacking creature's result, the creature's attack automatically misses. The swashbuckler must declare the use of this ability after the creature's attack is announced, but before its attack roll is made. Upon performing a successful parry and if she has at least 1 panache point, the swashbuckler can as an immediate action make an attack against the creature whose attack she parried, provided that creature is within her reach. This deed's cost cannot be reduced by any ability or effect that reduces the number of panache points a deed costs.

The question here is, if I declare a parry and the attacker rolls a nat 20, can it be parried if my parry roll exceeds his attack roll?

Badguy A rolls nat 20, with an 8 attack bonus for a total of 28. I roll an 19+10 (29 total). Do I parry him, or does he hit because nat 20?

Sovereign Court

You parry it.

Just like Deflect Arrows, or pre-Errata Crane Wing, the hit is simply negated.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Just like Azura posted, all you need to do is exceed the score and you'll negate the melee attack.


That´s actualy table variation territory and up to GMs.
A natural 20 is always a hit, what could as well be an exception to parry & riposte.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Not really, Hayato. The rule is pretty clear as written. Some GMs may house-rule otherwise, but it's not an ambiguous rule.


Since a natural 20 does not auto hit against concealment, I don't see why it bypasses other non-AC based defenses automatically.

Sovereign Court

"If her result is greater than the attacking creature's result, the creature's attack automatically misses."

There's no room for ambiguity in that sentence.

It's also virtually verbatim for the Duelist, which is a Core Rulebook Prestige Class:

"If her attack roll is greater than the roll of the attacking creature, the attack automatically misses."


Table variation. As a member of the holy order of the Icosahedron i'm inclined to favor the nat 20 over a first level ability parry.

Good FAQ though.

Sczarni

You can take Deflect Arrows at level 1.

Do you still rule that a nat 20 hits with an arrow?


Nefreet wrote:

You can take Deflect Arrows at level 1.

Do you still rule that a nat 20 hits with an arrow?

Re reading deflect arrows, it seems to be automatic, not roll vs roll so I'd let it work.

Sczarni

What about "roll vs roll" makes you think it doesn't work as well?


Nefreet wrote:
What about "roll vs roll" makes you think it doesn't work as well?

Not quite "does not work" its "may not work"

If I'm the DM i'll let the pc swashbuckler parry the nat 20

If i'm the swashbuckler (wow. Been a while since i got to play reynard or Reinhart...) I'll let the dm hit me with a nat 20.

as to the argument... a nat 20 is an automatic hit. The point of it is that the numbers don't matter anymore. That's up against an ability where the numbers do matter. The parry is effectively your new AC , and AC doesn't matter to a nat 20.

Sczarni

BigNorseWolf wrote:
The parry is effectively your new AC , and AC doesn't matter to a nat 20.

That's the case with Snake Style. The Sense Motive check replaces your AC value, so a nat 20 still hits, no matter how high you crank up your Sense Motive.

The difference in wording here doesn't stand out to you?


Nefreet wrote:
BigNorseWolf wrote:
The parry is effectively your new AC , and AC doesn't matter to a nat 20.

That's the case with Snake Style. The Sense Motive check replaces your AC value, so a nat 20 still hits, no matter how high you crank up your Sense Motive.

The difference in wording here doesn't stand out to you?

It does, but we're both well aware of the differences between whats said and whats meant

The Concordance

Opportune Parry and Riposte includes zero language to compare it to AC, unlike Snake Style.

A Nat 20 automatically hits and a successful parry causes an attack to automatically miss. As both explicitly labeled as "automatic" I'm inclined to rule in favor of specific (OP&R) over general (Nat 20).


parry blocks if you roll higher


"Nat 20 always hits" is the general rule

"Parry under condition X" is the specific rule.

Specific trumps general.


Throw another one on the "Parry works if the check beats the natural 20" pile.


Ok, I am going to Necro this, but on another topic of the ability.

I know you have to roll for the parry. My questions is, do you use the parry roll for the Riposte or do you roll a d20 a second time for the follow up strike?

I am in favor for the second d20 roll due to it being a separate action and it says to make an attack in the wording of the ability?


you make another attack as they are separate things. you can parry and not do a riposte.


That's what is what I assumed as well. Thanks for confirming that.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Opportune Parry and Riposte All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.