Can you 5' step out of Grease?


Rules Questions

1 to 50 of 85 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

4 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Grease wrote:
A creature can walk within or through the area of grease at half normal speed with a DC 10 Acrobatics check.

To me that means whatever movement you make is halved. So if you tried to take a 5' step you'd move 2.5 feet, which effectively blocks you from taking a 5' step, even though grease isn't technically difficult terrain.

The reason I'm asking is you're in a party and you cast grease on a BBEG. Your meattank 5' steps back. Is the BBEG able to take a 5' step forward and make a full attack? Or is he required to take a move action to move the distance required?


9 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 4 people marked this as a favorite.

Normally, you only worry about the terrain you're moving INTO, not OUT OF. But, the Grease spell calls out "within", so it seems like they intend the difficulties of the Grease spell to apply to anyone moving within the area of effect even if they're moving out of it. If so, this would be different than the default movement rules and should have been clarified better - which is probably why this comes up on this forum so often and nobody ever answers it definitively.

For me, I suggest that the area of effect is so small (only 10'x10') so EVERY TIME you use it, the enemy could just step out of it with no harm, no foul (except the initial save when the spell is cast). Maybe that was the intent, but if so, the "within" preposition in the description has no real meaning. In order to make "within" meaningful AND, more importantly, to actually have it affect an enemy trying to move on his turn (which seems to be the RAI of the spell), I assume that the Grease spell affect targets even when they move out of it.

That said, the 5'Step rules prevent you from making a 5'Step INTO difficult terrain, not out of it, and Grease doesn't even explicitly label its area of effect as "difficult terrain". Therefore, it should be possible by RAW to take a 5'Step out of Grease, or even into another space covered with Grease (the Grease spell forces you to move at half speed; a human would go from 30' speed to 15' speed, and you can always take a 5'Step if your speed is grater than 5').

So, by RAW, I would say that the Grease spell doesn't prevent 5'Steps at all.

But by RAI, I think it should.


Doesn't Hampered Movement cover all forms of cost multipliers? Difficult terrain is x2 (or double) same as the grease cost. By virtue of the additional movement cost it is "Difficult Terrain".

Also, I'm not sure where you are getting 5' steps only check on you going into another square. The pertinent quote I got was:

Quote:
You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn't hampered by difficult terrain or darkness.

Which would indicate if you are in difficult terrain you are prohibited from taking a 5'.

I know rules are sometimes in odd places so, I'm sure it is possible I may be missing something.


Moving out of difficult terrain is normally done at full speed. (I think; I've never seen it played any other way. "Each square of difficult terrain counts as 2 squares of movement.") That means your movement isn't normally hampered while moving out of difficult terrain. Therefore you take a 5' step out. Probably.

Sovereign Court

You "pay the movement cost" of squares you move into. You can't 5ft step if a square costs more than 5ft to step into.

I disagree about Grease affecting your movement out of it. That would be a major divergence from normal practice and would need much more explicit rules; compare to spells like Entangle that actually keep you from moving out at will.

Does that mean Grease is only so-so at stopping people? Hardly. The chance to make enemies go prone, blocking charges - very nice. Disarming, improving Escape Artist/CMD vs. grapple - very nice.

As for movement, basically you get to limit a creature's movement in some but not all directions. "You're not allowed to 5ft step there." Which might be stopping someone from 5ft stepping closer inside your polearm dead zone, or 5ft stepping away from you to cast a spell.


Ssyvan wrote:
Grease wrote:
A creature can walk within or through the area of grease at half normal speed with a DC 10 Acrobatics check.

To me that means whatever movement you make is halved. So if you tried to take a 5' step you'd move 2.5 feet, which effectively blocks you from taking a 5' step, even though grease isn't technically difficult terrain.

Your speed is a number that tells you how far, in feet, you can move with a single move action. "At half normal speed" means that, if your normal speed is 30, it is now 15. Therefore, so long as your normal speed is greater than 10, you can take a 5-foot-step within or through an area of grease, provided you make a DC 10 Acrobatics check.


Ascalaphus wrote:

You "pay the movement cost" of squares you move into. You can't 5ft step if a square costs more than 5ft to step into.

I disagree about Grease affecting your movement out of it. That would be a major divergence from normal practice and would need much more explicit rules; compare to spells like Entangle that actually keep you from moving out at will.

Does that mean Grease is only so-so at stopping people? Hardly. The chance to make enemies go prone, blocking charges - very nice. Disarming, improving Escape Artist/CMD vs. grapple - very nice.

As for movement, basically you get to limit a creature's movement in some but not all directions. "You're not allowed to 5ft step there." Which might be stopping someone from 5ft stepping closer inside your polearm dead zone, or 5ft stepping away from you to cast a spell.

I rather like this explanation coupled with DM_Blake's, you both really get to the heart of the matter acknowledging that the within/stepping out issue is where thinks get kind of muddled.

Is there a FAQ Request for this somewhere? I did a bit of digging, but haven't seen anything with more than a couple of requests.


I think the rules (such as they are for this) have been covered fairly well.

Conceptually though, grease being treated different than other movement makes a certain amount of sense, as slippery terrain wouldn't be more difficult to move into but instead more difficult to move out of.

The rules don't particularly cover that well, but I think treating it as a special case makes a fair amount of sense. Being in a greased square having of effect of making every adjacent square difficult terrain is a sensible ruling in my opinion.


"You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn't hampered by difficult terrain or darkness. Any creature with a speed of 5 feet or less can't take a 5-foot step, since moving even 5 feet requires a move action for such a slow creature."

So, if Grease doesn't hamper your movement (difficult terrain), you can move out of it no problem.

Does Grease hamper movement by creating difficult terrain?

This is a yes/no question.


alexd1976 wrote:

"You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn't hampered by difficult terrain or darkness. Any creature with a speed of 5 feet or less can't take a 5-foot step, since moving even 5 feet requires a move action for such a slow creature."

So, if Grease doesn't hamper your movement (difficult terrain), you can move out of it no problem.

Does Grease hamper movement by creating difficult terrain?

This is a yes/no question.

Are you saying you can't 5-foot-step out of difficult terrain?


Yes.

Though there are exceptions.

Like this one from ARG:
Rock Stepper: Dwarves with this racial trait can skillfully negotiate rocky terrain. They can ignore difficult terrain created by rubble, broken ground, or steep stairs when they take a 5-foot step. This racial trait replaces stonecunning.


alexd1976 wrote:

"You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn't hampered by difficult terrain or darkness. Any creature with a speed of 5 feet or less can't take a 5-foot step, since moving even 5 feet requires a move action for such a slow creature."

So, if Grease doesn't hamper your movement (difficult terrain), you can move out of it no problem.

Does Grease hamper movement by creating difficult terrain?

This is a yes/no question.

While not explicitly defined as difficult terrain, the wording of Grease does recap the rules for treacherous terrain.


alexd1976 wrote:

"You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn't hampered by difficult terrain or darkness. Any creature with a speed of 5 feet or less can't take a 5-foot step, since moving even 5 feet requires a move action for such a slow creature."

So, if Grease doesn't hamper your movement (difficult terrain), you can move out of it no problem.

Does Grease hamper movement by creating difficult terrain?

This is a yes/no question.

That post applies if you're moving INTO a Grease effect. The decision about whether it's difficult terrain or not only applies when moving into it.

Moving OUT of it, you should treat it like moving out of all other difficult terrain. Specifically, the terrain you are in has no bearing on your ability to move to the next square. Only the terrain of the square you're moving INTO matters.

I'm arguing that Grease makes much more sense if we approach it from the viewpoint that, when it says affects creatures moving "within", they meant that to mean "starting within" but were not entirely clear on their wording. I could be wrong on that point, but that's how I interpret it.

Anyone who's ever stood on a patch of smooth ice and then tried to take a step might remember that you fall down long before you take more than one or two steps - often just lifting your foot and leaning forward for that first step is enough to cause your standing foot to slide out from under you. I think Grease works just like that. IMO.


Matthew Downie wrote:
alexd1976 wrote:

"You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn't hampered by difficult terrain or darkness. Any creature with a speed of 5 feet or less can't take a 5-foot step, since moving even 5 feet requires a move action for such a slow creature."

So, if Grease doesn't hamper your movement (difficult terrain), you can move out of it no problem.

Does Grease hamper movement by creating difficult terrain?

This is a yes/no question.

Are you saying you can't 5-foot-step out of difficult terrain?

I'm saying you definitely can.

I'm also saying the wording of Grease makes me think the spell intends to make an exception to that, but it's poorly worded and unclear.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
DM_Blake wrote:
Matthew Downie wrote:
alexd1976 wrote:

"You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn't hampered by difficult terrain or darkness. Any creature with a speed of 5 feet or less can't take a 5-foot step, since moving even 5 feet requires a move action for such a slow creature."

So, if Grease doesn't hamper your movement (difficult terrain), you can move out of it no problem.

Does Grease hamper movement by creating difficult terrain?

This is a yes/no question.

Are you saying you can't 5-foot-step out of difficult terrain?

I'm saying you definitely can.

I'm also saying the wording of Grease makes me think the spell intends to make an exception to that, but it's poorly worded and unclear.

My reading is the opposite. "You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn't hampered by difficult terrain or darkness." This means that since your movement *in the square you're in* is hampered, you can *not* take a 5' step out of difficilt terrain, and by extension, neither can you take a 5' step out of grease.

I certainly agree that the wording of the grease spell is ambiguous. As is the language of the 5' step. But surely we should all agree that a character's movement *in* a square with difficult terrain is "hampered".


Wheldrake wrote:
DM_Blake wrote:
Matthew Downie wrote:
alexd1976 wrote:

"You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn't hampered by difficult terrain or darkness. Any creature with a speed of 5 feet or less can't take a 5-foot step, since moving even 5 feet requires a move action for such a slow creature."

So, if Grease doesn't hamper your movement (difficult terrain), you can move out of it no problem.

Does Grease hamper movement by creating difficult terrain?

This is a yes/no question.

Are you saying you can't 5-foot-step out of difficult terrain?

I'm saying you definitely can.

I'm also saying the wording of Grease makes me think the spell intends to make an exception to that, but it's poorly worded and unclear.

My reading is the opposite. "You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn't hampered by difficult terrain or darkness." This means that since your movement *in the square you're in* is hampered, you can *not* take a 5' step out of difficilt terrain, and by extension, neither can you take a 5' step out of grease.

I certainly agree that the wording of the grease spell is ambiguous. As is the language of the 5' step. But surely we should all agree that a character's movement *in* a square with difficult terrain is "hampered".

So does that mean you apply the difficult terrain modifier twice? Once when they move into it and once when they move out of it? That will be weird when counting movement.

SRD, Combat, Movement, Difficult Terrain wrote:
Difficult terrain, such as heavy undergrowth, broken ground, or steep stairs, hampers movement. Each square of difficult terrain counts as 2 squares of movement.

Consider this diagram:

H . . D . X

A Human (H) wants to move to square X (which is an empty space). The dots are empty spaces and the D is Difficult Terrain. This is a 30' move because the dots are 5' each (total 15'), the x is 5', and the D counts as 2 squares. Total 6 squares, 30'.

Notice that the square H is in does NOT count. If that is an empty space, the move is 30' (the empty square he is in does not count as part of his move). Also, if it is difficult terrain it STILL does not count as part of his move.

So if you are applying the difficult terrain penalty (counting it as 2 squares) to the square he starts in, suddenly that same move counts as 40' of movement when it's really only 30' of movement.

Likewise, you would not make him count D as 10' when he moves into and 10' when he moves out of it, right? That would bring this move up to 50' of total movement to move 5 squares?

Clearly, you can only count the bolded part of the quote as applying to squares he moves into.

Likewise, you can only count the "No 5'Step in hampered terrain" as applying to the square he moves into.

That's the only consistent way to play it, right?


It always amuses me when I discover some of the most basic rules of the game being interpreted different ways.

This is the best thread I could find for the basic question of whether you can 5-foot step out of difficult terrain.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

DM Blake, I totally get what you're saying. When you're counting out movement, only the actual square or squares designated as difficult terrain count as 2 squares.

However, it is the square of difficult terrain which has "hampered movement". So if you stop there, and wait for your next turn, surely you must agree that you are *in* a square of "hampered movement" and thus unable to take a 5' step out of it. Even though when moving out of it you do not count double.


Wheldrake wrote:

DM Blake, I totally get what you're saying. When you're counting out movement, only the actual square or squares designated as difficult terrain count as 2 squares.

However, it is the square of difficult terrain which has "hampered movement". So if you stop there, and wait for your next turn, surely you must agree that you are *in* a square of "hampered movement" and thus unable to take a 5' step out of it. Even though when moving out of it you do not count double.

Could you 5'Step INTO that square of hampered movement?


Wheldrake wrote:
However, it is the square of difficult terrain which has "hampered movement". So if you stop there, and wait for your next turn, surely you must agree that you are *in* a square of "hampered movement" and thus unable to take a 5' step out of it. Even though when moving out of it you do not count double.

The text says you can take the 5' step "if your movement isn't hampered". It doesn't refer to "a square of hampered movement". You could walk at full speed out of the square so, in my opinion, your movement isn't hampered and you can take the 5' step.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

IMO, no, you could not.
This question is actually quite a big deal, since difficult terrain is often present on a game map, if only in the form of stairs. Grease certainly has to count as difficult terrain for all intents and purposes. Someone starting in a greased-up square should suffer penalties, even if their first action is to move out of it.

The definition of "hampered movement" should definitely apply to the square you start out in, despite the fact that when you move, you don't count double for the first square.

Silly me, I assumed that was self evident. My players never questioned the ruling I made. I see from the above discussion that table variation is the order of the day.


Wheldrake wrote:
I certainly agree that the wording of the grease spell is ambiguous. As is the language of the 5' step. But surely we should all agree that a character's movement *in* a square with difficult terrain is "hampered".

The wording and intent of the Grease spell predate the rules for 5' steps. The language was never cleaned properly up when the new rules were introduced. The only concession was they explicitly address becoming flat-footed.


I am in agreement with Wheldrake: If you start in a square that is treated as difficult terrain as you move through it, then no free 5' step out of that difficult terrain. Even though, the movement action would allow you to make a full move if every square you entered was non difficult terrain.

This is an interpretation of RAI - I can see that by strict RAW, you could interpret "if your movement isn't hampered" to only apply to the squares to which you move, and not the square you start in.


Wheldrake wrote:

IMO, no, you could not.

This question is actually quite a big deal, since difficult terrain is often present on a game map, if only in the form of stairs. Grease certainly has to count as difficult terrain for all intents and purposes. Someone starting in a greased-up square should suffer penalties, even if their first action is to move out of it.

The definition of "hampered movement" should definitely apply to the square you start out in, despite the fact that when you move, you don't count double for the first square.

Silly me, I assumed that was self evident. My players never questioned the ruling I made. I see from the above discussion that table variation is the order of the day.

I'm just curious why you apply a double standard to movement.

If I've read your posts correctly, you only COUNT the square (as 5' or 10' of movement) one time, when he moves into it but not when he moves out of it. But you treat it as "hampered movement" when he moves into it AND when he moves out of it, at least for determining eligibility of 5'Steps.

That seems inconsistent to me (both internally inconsistent in how you run it and inconsistent with how the rules are written).

I assume you don't think it's inconsistent?


I don't see it as inconsistent in that, if you are in an square which hampers movement, it has the potential to have some small effect on your movement which, while not changing the cost of squares of movement away from it, would/could affect the initial step(s) which would prevent a 5' step.

A similar specific rule is diagonal movement - every odd square costs you 5' but every second diagonal square costs you 10'. (Note: I'm not saying that moving from a hampered square would count as diagonal movement.)

Again - this is my opinion based on my reading of RAW and my thoughts of RAI. Strictly on RAW, the rules are silent on the explicit question of a 5' step from a grease square to a non-grease square. The general rules of movement indicate that a 5' step out of a hampered square is possible.


RegUS PatOff wrote:
I don't see it as inconsistent in that, if you are in an square which hampers movement, it has the potential to have some small effect on your movement which, while not changing the cost of squares of movement away from it, would/could affect the initial step(s) which would prevent a 5' step.

But that's double penalizing them. Once to move in and once to move out. No other movement rule works like that.

RegUS PatOff wrote:
A similar specific rule is diagonal movement - every odd square costs you 5' but every second diagonal square costs you 10'. (Note: I'm not saying that moving from a hampered square would count as diagonal movement.)

Not the same. This is basic math. The hypotenuse ("diagonal") of a square is longer than its side. A 5'x 5' square has a "diagonal" of almost exactly 7' while a 10' x 10' square has a "diagonal" of about 14.1'.

We can't move in 7' increments on a grid of 5' squares, so they rounded down and count the first diagonal as 5'. We also can't move 14.1' on a grid of 5' squares so they rounded up and counted it as 15'. The easiest way to "count" squares as you move is the 5'-10' rule.

It actually makes sense and it's mathematically sound (enough) for fairly short moves - way more accurate than treating them all as 5'. Most importantly, it's easier than using a calculator to determine how many squares to move.

RegUS PatOff wrote:
Again - this is my opinion based on my reading of RAW and my thoughts of RAI. Strictly on RAW, the rules are silent on the explicit question of a 5' step from a grease square to a non-grease square. The general rules of movement indicate that a 5' step out of a hampered square is possible.

Now there we agree.

It's a fun debate. Comes up a lot. Nobody can agree. It might be a good candidate for a FAQ or two (one for Grease, one for hampered movement in general).


Going back to grease, it seems to me that you must "walk within or through the area of grease" when moving from a greased square to a non-greased square, and therefore your speed is halved and an Acrobatics check is required.


If you really want to break it down, you're moving from roughly the center of one square to the center of another. It's still 5 feet, but 2.5 feet is within the first square and 2.5 feet is within the next. If grease slows you to half speed, it takes 5 feet worth of movement to cross the 2.5 feet between the middle of your current square and the edge of your current square, thus 7.5 feet worth of movement based on the Pathfinder abstraction of the grid. If it takes more than 5' of movement to cross the space, you cannot 5' step and it eats 5' worth of movement to "leave" your current square so your total move distance is reduced by 5' (eg. a 30 speed character can move 25 feet from their starting spot with no further speed hampering).

And I'd certainly say that the effect of grease is difficult terrain. Terrain doesn't hamper movement because it is difficult, it is difficult because it hampers movement. So if the terrain hampers movement, it is considered difficult. "Difficult terrain" is simply a label that the system uses to indicate whether or not the terrain of the square hampers movement.


DM_Blake wrote:

Not the same. This is basic math. The hypotenuse ("diagonal") of a square is longer than its side. A 5'x 5' square has a "diagonal" of almost exactly 7' while a 10' x 10' square has a "diagonal" of about 14.1'.

We can't move in 7' increments on a grid of 5' squares, so they rounded down and count the first diagonal as 5'. We also can't move 14.1' on a grid of 5' squares so they rounded up and counted it as 15'. The easiest way to "count" squares as you move is the 5'-10' rule.

It actually makes sense and it's mathematically sound (enough) for fairly short moves - way more accurate than treating them all as 5'. Most importantly, it's easier than using a calculator to determine how many squares to move.

If you move two squares diagonally, it costs you 15' of movement.

Yet, you say you can take a 5' step in each of two rounds to cover the same distance?

That sounds about as mathematically sound as the 5' step out of difficult terrain scenario. ;)


_Ozy_ wrote:
DM_Blake wrote:

Not the same. This is basic math. The hypotenuse ("diagonal") of a square is longer than its side. A 5'x 5' square has a "diagonal" of almost exactly 7' while a 10' x 10' square has a "diagonal" of about 14.1'.

We can't move in 7' increments on a grid of 5' squares, so they rounded down and count the first diagonal as 5'. We also can't move 14.1' on a grid of 5' squares so they rounded up and counted it as 15'. The easiest way to "count" squares as you move is the 5'-10' rule.

It actually makes sense and it's mathematically sound (enough) for fairly short moves - way more accurate than treating them all as 5'. Most importantly, it's easier than using a calculator to determine how many squares to move.

If you move two squares diagonally, it costs you 15' of movement.

Yet, you say you can take a 5' step in each of two rounds to cover the same distance?

That sounds about as mathematically sound as the 5' step out of difficult terrain scenario. ;)

Doing something in two rounds obviously takes longer than doing it in 1 round. Counting squares of movement is a function of not only distance, but time. You know, because Speed = Distance/Time. So movement speed (30' for a human) is a function of distance AND time.

If you want to move 2 squares diagonally RIGHT NOW then you count them as a hypotenuse and it takes you 15' of movement speed. But if you want to slow yourself down and spend two whole rounds doing it, sure, you can take your time and count it as 5' of speed this round and 5' of speed next round.

But that's slower, not faster. Because two rounds. Because that orc over there with the bow gets to shoot you twice (once each round) instead of only once like he would if you moved the full 15' in one round.

So I remain unconvinced. Not that any of that is relevant to whether you can 5' step OUT of difficult terrain, but even as an unrelated tangent it's still unconvincing.


It's still just 10' of movement vs. 15' when done in one round. That is the basic math: 5' + 5' = 10'.

My point is that you can't just use basic math when taking 5' steps, whether you're moving diagonally or whether you are trying to 5' step out of grease.


_Ozy_ wrote:

It's still just 10' of movement vs. 15' when done in one round. That is the basic math: 5' + 5' = 10'.

My point is that you can't just use basic math when taking 5' steps, whether you're moving diagonally or whether you are trying to 5' step out of grease.

I agree with your point, but not sure how it's relevant. You also cannot do basic math when landing a space craft on Mars or when designing a stealth bomber or even when filing corporate taxes for Apple Corporation.

None of that has any bearing on what kind of move a SINGLE step out of Grease would be. The answer remains entirely dependent on what kind of terrain you're stepping INTO, not out of.

The Concordance

Hampered Movement wrote:


Difficult terrain, obstacles, and poor visibility can hamper movement (see Table: Hampered Movement for details). When movement is hampered, each square moved into usually counts as two squares, effectively reducing the distance that a character can cover in a move.

Seems straightforward that movement penalties happen depending on what you are "moving into." You can't 5' step into Grease because that square counts as two. You can 5' step out of an area of Grease because that outside square counts as one.


ShieldLawrence wrote:
Hampered Movement wrote:


Difficult terrain, obstacles, and poor visibility can hamper movement (see Table: Hampered Movement for details). When movement is hampered, each square moved into usually counts as two squares, effectively reducing the distance that a character can cover in a move.
Seems straightforward that movement penalties happen depending on what you are "moving into." You can't 5' step into Grease because that square counts as two. You can 5' step out of an area of Grease because that outside square counts as one.

You can 5' step out of Grease - as long as you pass your acrobatics check.

Even if you succeed, you are still flat-footed for the round.


ShieldLawrence wrote:
Hampered Movement wrote:


Difficult terrain, obstacles, and poor visibility can hamper movement (see Table: Hampered Movement for details). When movement is hampered, each square moved into usually counts as two squares, effectively reducing the distance that a character can cover in a move.
Seems straightforward that movement penalties happen depending on what you are "moving into." You can't 5' step into Grease because that square counts as two. You can 5' step out of an area of Grease because that outside square counts as one.

The possible hang up is, if you are unable to specifically take a 5' step versus a movement of 5'. It may be 5' but that doesn't mean you get all that a 5' step entails.

It is personal tactical movement versus actually overland terrain.

By no means am I arguing that it doesn't cost 5' of tactical movement to go OUT of difficult terrain. But stating that terrain you are in is no longer difficult terrain as it doesn't cost more tactical movement to LEAVE the space isn't a sound argument.

Difficult terrain is... Well, difficult. It costs "extra" personal tactical movement to traverse. That extra cost seems to be paid "up front" when made, but that doesn't remove the fact it is difficult terrain. If you are standing in difficult terrain you are "dealing" with it and whatever particulars that terrain entails.

The Concordance

Skylancer4 wrote:
ShieldLawrence wrote:
Hampered Movement wrote:


Difficult terrain, obstacles, and poor visibility can hamper movement (see Table: Hampered Movement for details). When movement is hampered, each square moved into usually counts as two squares, effectively reducing the distance that a character can cover in a move.
Seems straightforward that movement penalties happen depending on what you are "moving into." You can't 5' step into Grease because that square counts as two. You can 5' step out of an area of Grease because that outside square counts as one.
The possible hang up is, if you are unable to specifically take a 5' step versus a movement of 5'. It may be 5' but that doesn't mean you get all that a 5' step entails.

Moving from a square of Grease into a square of normal terrain costs one square of movement (5 feet). The square you move into doesn't hamper your movement, therefore you can 5' step because your movement isn't hampered.

You are able to take the specific 5' Step action.


ShieldLawrence wrote:
Skylancer4 wrote:
ShieldLawrence wrote:
Hampered Movement wrote:


Difficult terrain, obstacles, and poor visibility can hamper movement (see Table: Hampered Movement for details). When movement is hampered, each square moved into usually counts as two squares, effectively reducing the distance that a character can cover in a move.
Seems straightforward that movement penalties happen depending on what you are "moving into." You can't 5' step into Grease because that square counts as two. You can 5' step out of an area of Grease because that outside square counts as one.
The possible hang up is, if you are unable to specifically take a 5' step versus a movement of 5'. It may be 5' but that doesn't mean you get all that a 5' step entails.

Moving from a square of Grease into a square of normal terrain costs one square of movement (5 feet). The square you move into doesn't hamper your movement, therefore you can 5' step because your movement isn't hampered.

You are able to take the specific 5' Step action.

One square of movement isn't the same as a 5' step, there are restrictions on a 5' step.

Unless you are saying that difficult terrain is only difficult when moving into it. That it magically stops being difficult terrain when you start your turn in it.

You can make 5' of tactical movement out of it, yes. But the quote I took from 5' step could be taken to mean you are unable to take one when in difficult terrain as well.


ShieldLawrence wrote:
Skylancer4 wrote:
ShieldLawrence wrote:
Hampered Movement wrote:


Difficult terrain, obstacles, and poor visibility can hamper movement (see Table: Hampered Movement for details). When movement is hampered, each square moved into usually counts as two squares, effectively reducing the distance that a character can cover in a move.
Seems straightforward that movement penalties happen depending on what you are "moving into." You can't 5' step into Grease because that square counts as two. You can 5' step out of an area of Grease because that outside square counts as one.
The possible hang up is, if you are unable to specifically take a 5' step versus a movement of 5'. It may be 5' but that doesn't mean you get all that a 5' step entails.

Moving from a square of Grease into a square of normal terrain costs one square of movement (5 feet). The square you move into doesn't hamper your movement, therefore you can 5' step because your movement isn't hampered.

You are able to take the specific 5' Step action.

That isn't the point. The point is you are still "traveling" through the original square of difficult terrain. You are moving through difficult terrain which doesn't happen to affect your tactical movement as you "paid" for it last time you moved.

The square you are standing in didn't magically stop being difficult. And difficult terrain is the only thing the 5' step rule checks for. Not how much tactical movement you make, but if your movement is hampered by terrain.


Technically you occupy the entire square of difficult terrain, including the far edge that you're stepping out of.

Imagine you're standing in a park somewhere, and there is a large bush that is about 5'x5'. You spend some time and effort stepping INTO that bush and you clamber to the far side of it. You've technically passed almost all the way through the bush. A moment later, you step onto the nice flat lawn of the park - you're stepping out of that bush but you really just move your right foot to the lawn and you're there, out of the bush, on the lawn.

That's just about no effort. In fact, if you were standing on a flat sidewalk and made the same simple step onto the same lawn, it would be the SAME effort. Leaving that bush, from the edge of the area it occupies, is the same as leaving that sidewalk - in both cases the amount of difficulty is determined by the lawn you're stepping onto rather than the area you stepped away from.

It's a simple game construct that models what I just described very nicely and doesn't worry about pseudo-realistic notions of measuring from the center of the bush to the center of the lawn, or any other such thing - I guess the assumption is that if we want to step onto the lawn this turn we probably spent last turn getting ourselves to the edge of the bush (or whatever that difficult terrain was).

Simple assumption, simple rule, and it's internally consistent with ALL the other movement rules.

I'm still perplexed as to why anyone wants to make it complicated and inconsistent, or why anyone assumes it's meant to be.

The Concordance

Skylancer4 wrote:
ShieldLawrence wrote:
Skylancer4 wrote:
ShieldLawrence wrote:
Hampered Movement wrote:


Difficult terrain, obstacles, and poor visibility can hamper movement (see Table: Hampered Movement for details). When movement is hampered, each square moved into usually counts as two squares, effectively reducing the distance that a character can cover in a move.
Seems straightforward that movement penalties happen depending on what you are "moving into." You can't 5' step into Grease because that square counts as two. You can 5' step out of an area of Grease because that outside square counts as one.
The possible hang up is, if you are unable to specifically take a 5' step versus a movement of 5'. It may be 5' but that doesn't mean you get all that a 5' step entails.

Moving from a square of Grease into a square of normal terrain costs one square of movement (5 feet). The square you move into doesn't hamper your movement, therefore you can 5' step because your movement isn't hampered.

You are able to take the specific 5' Step action.

That isn't the point. The point is you are still "traveling" through the original square of difficult terrain. You are moving through difficult terrain which doesn't happen to affect your tactical movement as you "paid" for it last time you moved.

The square you are standing in didn't magically stop being difficult. And difficult terrain is the only thing the 5' step rule checks for. Not how much tactical movement you make, but if your movement is hampered by terrain.

The Five Foot Step rules don't ban you from using it within difficult terrain, only if it hampers you.

Quote:
You can only take a 5-foot-step if your movement isn't hampered by difficult terrain or darkness.

If you can move normally, your movement isn't hampered is it?


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

There is no "walk" action. Clearly, grease halves all movement within or through its area, effectively forbidding 5' steps by most characters.

But it also clear to me that, if you are on the edge of the grease, and you do not fall, you can step into normal terrain without difficult, as that is not "within" or "through" the grease.


PRD wrote:

Hampered Movement

Difficult terrain, obstacles, and poor visibility can hamper movement (see Table: Hampered Movement for details). When movement is hampered, each square moved into usually counts as two squares, effectively reducing the distance that a character can cover in a move.

"When movement is hampered, each square moved into usually counts as two squares..." It doesn't specify that the square you move into must be what hampers your movement, only that if your movement "is hampered", moving into a square counts as two squares. If you are standing in an area of grease, your movement "is hampered". Therefore, moving into another square, even if that square is not difficult terrain, takes 10' of movement.

The Concordance

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Kazaan wrote:
PRD wrote:

Hampered Movement

Difficult terrain, obstacles, and poor visibility can hamper movement (see Table: Hampered Movement for details). When movement is hampered, each square moved into usually counts as two squares, effectively reducing the distance that a character can cover in a move.
"When movement is hampered, each square moved into usually counts as two squares..." It doesn't specify that the square you move into must be what hampers your movement, only that if your movement "is hampered", moving into a square counts as two squares. If you are standing in an area of grease, your movement "is hampered". Therefore, moving into another square, even if that square is not difficult terrain, takes 10' of movement.

Grease doesn't use the word "hampered" or even "difficult terrain" in its description. But rather:

Quote:
A creature can walk within or through the area of grease at half normal speed with a DC 10 Acrobatics check.

I'd argue that walking out of Grease (Grease square to normal square) is neither walking within (Grease square to Grease square) or walking through (normal square to Grease square(s) to normal square).


The cost of your movement is based on what you move into, so when walking into difficult areas, you can't 5-foot. You can OUT of difficult areas, as that movement costs normal.

I don't personally see the text of grease as being any different than the default rules in this way.

Keep in mind also that if you rule for moving out = no 5 foot, then you just made simple longspears insanely good too.


ShieldLawrence wrote:
Kazaan wrote:
PRD wrote:

Hampered Movement

Difficult terrain, obstacles, and poor visibility can hamper movement (see Table: Hampered Movement for details). When movement is hampered, each square moved into usually counts as two squares, effectively reducing the distance that a character can cover in a move.
"When movement is hampered, each square moved into usually counts as two squares..." It doesn't specify that the square you move into must be what hampers your movement, only that if your movement "is hampered", moving into a square counts as two squares. If you are standing in an area of grease, your movement "is hampered". Therefore, moving into another square, even if that square is not difficult terrain, takes 10' of movement.

Grease doesn't use the word "hampered" or even "difficult terrain" in its description. But rather:

Quote:
A creature can walk within or through the area of grease at half normal speed with a DC 10 Acrobatics check.
I'd argue that walking out of Grease (Grease square to normal square) is neither walking within (Grease square to Grease square) or walking through (normal square to Grease square(s) to normal square).

Hamper (v) :to hold back; hinder; impede. Grease hampers your movement, thus your movement is hampered. If your movement is hampered, moving into a square costs twice the normal amount. It doesn't matter if the hampering effect is within the square you move to or the square you move from; your movement is hampered.


Quote:
Grease hampers your movement

It doesn't say that, though, in any general sense. It only mentions hampering effects when you walk either within or through the area. So it is conditionally hampering only.

Walking out of the area is neither walking within nor through it, so it doesn't fall within the conditions under which grease is hampering. "Within" would be "between two locations in the area" and "through" would be "entering and then exiting", those are both pretty normal not super ambiguous seeming prepositions.

(Note that in the special case of grease, unlike bushes, simply entering and then not moving another square would also not be moving within or through, and also shouldn't provoke a reflex save by itself)


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

It doesn't matter. If you don't fall down, you can move. If you move out of the area, from the edge of the area, you aren't moving "within" or "through" and grease doesn't affect you at all.


I think the question is whether leaving the greased square is free or not. Clearly you can use a move action to leave, but that's not free as it's a move action and you can't full attack that round.

I think comparing movement rates doesn't apply as we all agree the movement paid is INTO the next square.

So it boils down to the hampered movement and the spell saying within. Creatures are clearly within the area effect of the spell. They should roll the acrobatics check when they declare their intent to move. Making that roll means it hampers movement, thus no free step but you can 5ft move as normal out of the square.

I'm pretty sure there will be some table variance on that as not everyone is going to want to read it my way.

Common wisdom tells you to move OUT OF the slippery area once you're in it and not to stop in the mess. Those unlucky to be caught by the initial casting of the spell need to get out of the area of effect (and that ain't free).


Quote:
Creatures are clearly within the area effect of the spell.

That's not actually clear. Many places in the rules treat a creature's location as a point that can exist along edges and corners (such as the ray tracing rules for cover, for example). If you can functionally exist at your most advantageous corner for being shot at with arrows, why can't you at the start of a 5-foot step? Thus not necessarily having to move through any actual distance of grease.

But I do definitely see how that opens doubt, if you choose to be detailed simulationist about it.

1 to 50 of 85 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can you 5' step out of Grease? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.