Deck 6 - City of Locusts questions


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

So I just got Deck 6 in the mail today and I have a few questions:

The scenario setup for Onslaught on Drezen is as follows:

Quote:

Villain: none

Henchmen: Abyssal Armies
During this scenario: At the start of the secnario, gain a medal on the troop Champions of Mendev.

When you close any location, shuffle its remaining banes into the location Sanctum, summoning it and building it, if necessary. When you would build the location Sanctum, shuffle the villain Aponavicius into that location deck.

I'm guessing you win the scenario by defeating and cornering Aponavicius, correct? Also, if you close a location and there are no banes in it, do you still build the location, Sanctum?


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yes for both.


The scenario Closing the Worldwound does not have enough henchmen listed. It has Favored of Deskari, Gimcrack, Blackfire Adepts. It seems to read that we should use multiple adepts to fill out the locations but there was only one in the base set. Was that a misprint? Which henchmen should we use if we have more than four locations?

Pathfinder ACG Developer

Mundane61 wrote:
The scenario Closing the Worldwound does not have enough henchmen listed. It has Favored of Deskari, Gimcrack, Blackfire Adepts. It seems to read that we should use multiple adepts to fill out the locations but there was only one in the base set. Was that a misprint? Which henchmen should we use if we have more than four locations?

Vic already has an FAQ ready, but understandably hasn't posted AD6 yet and I believe is also out tomorrow.

If you play it in the meantime, I believe the answer is Brimoraks.


Is the "Pleasure Center" a location card I should have? Do i treat the scenario card itself as a location? How do I close it?

Should the scenario card instruct to add all extra henchmen to the Yearning House instead?

Adventure Card Game Designer

Rebel Song wrote:

Is the "Pleasure Center" a location card I should have? Do i treat the scenario card itself as a location? How do I close it?

Should the scenario card instruct to add all extra henchmen to the Yearning House instead?

It should. We hadn't noticed that one. We will fix it.

We have a number of errata to issue for deck 6, but we have always issued errata on release day, which is a week and a half away.


Mike Selinker wrote:


We have a number of errata to issue for deck 6, but we have always issued errata on release day, which is a week and a half away.

Since people have already received deck 6 from Paizo, and will start playing it, could the errata publication be moved up? I think it makes sense for it to coincide with the actual release, not the official release.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

No, you guys on the East side of the pond should refrain from opening the boxes until we guys on our side have it (which is still 3-4 weeks away or so). And no one should spoil any question until then. And don't even try to read those cards, let alone play with them. Only exceptions are 1) MyFly should get all the promo cards a week in advance and 2) Hawkmoon should receive all cards three months later so we have a chance to play it wrong for a while before he tells us what we should have understood in the first place. That should leave us a little room in those forums for non-serious posts.

... Just kidding.

Adventure Card Game Designer

Things we know:

  • Closing the Worldwound needs some Brimorak henchmen and its adventure deck number-heightening power to affect only banes.
  • Dragonbreath Bow needs the 2-Handed trait.
  • Bountiful Bottle needs the Object trait, not the Item trait.
  • Master's Lash's immunity-ignoring power works only when you add the additional damage and Poison trait.
  • Rasping Rift Portal's Mental damage cannot be reduced.
  • Winds of Vengeance gets discarded on a successful recharge, not banished.
  • Dire Griffon has the Griffon's teammate-riding errata.
  • The Pleasure Center puts cards into the Yearning House.

Vic will have proper wording and rulings when the time comes.


Additional question: In the super special 6th scenario of Deicide, we discovered that it is possible to use one of the adventure 5 allys to search the location for a villain and put it on top of the deck (and because we can recreate our decks it's not possible to miss it. We don't even need to deal with the harsh penalties to acquire it) thereby avoiding the entire guantlet that seems intended.

In other scenarios like this, the villain tends to have an evade ability to the bottom of the location unless it is the only card left.

I am asking this because I'd actually rather like to do the challenging gauntlet rather than cheese it and it feels like this is not the intended way to go through the scenario.


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

A simple evasion power would still allow you to cheese it with Mythic Trickster. But if you don't want to cheese it, then simply don't! Don't take the ally that lets you put the villain on top, or if you took it for a different scenario, don't use it for that power.

If you really need a houserule to apply because you don't trust yourself/your group to go down the Fun Path, add the following to the scenario card:

"When you would encounter Deskari and he is not the only card in the location deck, put Deskari on the bottom of the location deck instead."

I don't really see the need for any official errata/FAQ for this though; even though you're mythic heroes doesn't mean you can't take the side door instead of the front door when you come knocking on the enemy base to avoid a bunch of superfluous battles. If that feels cheaty to you, then simply don't play it that way :)

Adventure Card Game Designer

We'll take a look at that.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Also, if you fail to defeat a henchman it'll shuffle back into the deck, moving the villain further up that way even without needing to resort to cheese. A better resolution may be just not even putting Deskari in the deck originally but by making the When Closing of the location "Summon and defeat the villain Deskari." That combined with the inability to close via henchmen means that you need to fully empty the deck before being able to face the guy.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

I'm hesitating on this one.
On one hand, you definitively don't want the climax of an AP to be easy or anything but heroic and difficult.
On the other hand, the capacity for characters (especially heroic ones) to combine their characters' powers and cards' powers to play with the decks is a great part of that game. If you start designing villains and other banes to be imune to that, you lose part of the fun.
So that might be oK for one specific end of AP villain, but should be very exceptional.
I'm sure Mike has tons of other ways to increase difficulty and mess with our carefuly prepared plans.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Frencois wrote:
No, you guys on the East side of the pond should refrain from opening the boxes until we guys on our side have it (which is still 3-4 weeks away or so).

Uhhh... you're on the East side of the pond (est, not ouest), not us :)


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
zeroth_hour wrote:
Frencois wrote:
No, you guys on the East side of the pond should refrain from opening the boxes until we guys on our side have it (which is still 3-4 weeks away or so).
Uhhh... you're on the East side of the pond (est, not ouest), not us :)

Depends which pond... This said you are right, I was very tired when I wrote that post...


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Should the Iron Flasks have the Item trait?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Should the Immolation Cloaks have the armor-proficiency-recharge power? I thought maybe not because they're cloaks, but they do have the Light Armor trait as opposed to the Robe of Vision and Robe of Energy Resistance which have the Clothing trait.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Malcolm_Reynolds wrote:
Should the Iron Flasks have the Item trait?

That should be Object as well.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Thanks!

Minor typo: Infinite Rod's second power reads, "You may discard this card to to..."

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

We won't FAQ that, but we'll update our files. Thanks!

Also, the art that *I* wanted for Infinite Rod is this.


Another question! :-) How do you win the scenario Threshold of the End? I assume it's by beating the villain, but when you defeat him you add a token to the scenario card and then it says what to do when you encounter him again.

I get the feeling it's a farming scenario in that you can gain more power feats, so therefore when you beat the villain, you treat him as undefeated so he runs away. Sort of like the Lady of Valor in that you can choose to win our keep playing to get more loot. It doesn't specifically say so I wanted to double check. ;-)

(Sorry if this is worded oddly, I'm on my phone).


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Don't have cards on me at the moment, but I'm pretty sure you win by defeating and cornering the villain as per usual. This lends to a strategy where you try to fish out the villain and beat him without closing locations due to henchmen, empty cards, etc. and leaving them open as valid escape points to bash on the villain again and again.


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

What are the odds of getting a Twilight Zone themed Adventure Path?

re: Threshold of the End, by the end of the AP you have 11 Power Feats, so there's little incentive to beat him more than twice (unless someone has managed to lose a feat).


skizzerz wrote:
Don't have cards on me at the moment, but I'm pretty sure you win by defeating and cornering the villain as per usual. This lends to a strategy where you try to fish out the villain and beat him without closing locations due to henchmen, empty cards, etc. and leaving them open as valid escape points to bash on the villain again and again.

I'm playing in a two-player game, and more often than not we manage to close two locations before we run into the villain, so we normally only have to defeat him once. So I totally forgot he could escape! Ha.

Ironically (coincidentally?), we hadn't closed any locations when we ran into this guy, so I had to beat him up twice. So we'll be all maxed out on power feats by the end! Don't know how I feel about a non-mage-person (Imrijka) having a 7 hand size though... makes me a bit uncomfortable.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Mike Selinker wrote:
Rebel Song wrote:

Is the "Pleasure Center" a location card I should have? Do i treat the scenario card itself as a location? How do I close it?

Should the scenario card instruct to add all extra henchmen to the Yearning House instead?

It should. We hadn't noticed that one. We will fix it.

We have a number of errata to issue for deck 6, but we have always issued errata on release day, which is a week and a half away.

Added to FAQ (along with the other things Mike mentioned).


skizzerz wrote:
A better resolution may be just not even putting Deskari in the deck originally but by making the When Closing of the location "Summon and defeat the villain Deskari."

I like this idea, but I'm not sure how we'll end up playing it yet.


Question on dragonbreath bow.

When spend one mythic charge for its additional power (2d10+3 & trait), is that considered part of the "determine which skill you're using" or "play cards & powers that affect check"?

Reason is if it was the former then there is one mythic charge less for the mythic dex bonus.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Zenarius wrote:

Question on dragonbreath bow.

When spend one mythic charge for its additional power (2d10+3 & trait), is that considered part of the "determine which skill you're using" or "play cards & powers that affect check"?

Reason is if it was the former then there is one mythic charge less for the mythic dex bonus.

Seems to me the dragonbreath bow's "mythic" power doesn't help you "determine which skill you're using" but totally belongs to "powers that affect check". So is there even a question here?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

The reward for City of Locusts allows you to attempt the Scenario Justifiable Deicide as a reward. Does this mean that you only get to try Justifiable Deicide once for each playthrough of WotR? I don't think that's the case, but I'm not positive.


Frencois wrote:
Zenarius wrote:

Question on dragonbreath bow.

When spend one mythic charge for its additional power (2d10+3 & trait), is that considered part of the "determine which skill you're using" or "play cards & powers that affect check"?

Reason is if it was the former then there is one mythic charge less for the mythic dex bonus.

Seems to me the dragonbreath bow's "mythic" power doesn't help you "determine which skill you're using" but totally belongs to "powers that affect check". So is there even a question here?

That works for me. just wanted to be sure cos it was all in one paragraph on the card.

Adventure Card Game Designer

Kumarei wrote:
The reward for City of Locusts allows you to attempt the Scenario Justifiable Deicide as a reward. Does this mean that you only get to try Justifiable Deicide once for each playthrough of WotR? I don't think that's the case, but I'm not positive.

Not quite, but that's a reasonable question. The reward says you can try the scenario right then; if you choose not to, you're done with the Adventure Path. If you choose to go on, two things can then happen: You win the final scenario, in which case you're done, or you lose the scenario, in which case this happens.

Rulebook, page 17 wrote:
You do not earn the reward on the scenario card, and if you’re playing an adventure, you didn’t complete that scenario; you will need to replay it successfully before you can attempt the next scenario in the adventure.

So that very paragraph now gives you the ability to try the scenario again. Repeat as needed.


For abyssal army it's mythic bane, does everyone gain a mythic when defeated or just the char who initiated the encounter?


Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Don't have the rulebook on me at the moment, but I'm fairly certain that the mythic charge is gained after you encounter and defeat a mythic bane. The army cards are encountered by the person that pulls them, it just happens that everybody has to make one of their checks (and everybody takes a penalty if anybody fails). Because of that, we played it as only the person encountering getting the mythic charge.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Yep—the person encountering the card is the only one who actually defeats the card, and is thus the only one who can get a mythic charge.


Thanks vic!


Sorry one more.

deskari says 'if undefeated you die' - this 'you' applies to the character encountering him right?

As opposed to khorram which is clear if 'you fail a check to defeat, you die.' so another player trying to assist for khorram also could perish while for deskari only the one encountering him is at risk.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

That would be my understanding of the card. We played it that way.

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Yep. Just like "If defeated, you may immediately close the location this henchman came from" allows only the person who encountered the henchman to attempt to close the location, even when the henchman has multiple checks and different characters succeeded at them.


Very clear, thanks vic & frencois!


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Vic Wertz wrote:
Mike Selinker wrote:
Rebel Song wrote:

Is the "Pleasure Center" a location card I should have? Do i treat the scenario card itself as a location? How do I close it?

Should the scenario card instruct to add all extra henchmen to the Yearning House instead?

It should. We hadn't noticed that one. We will fix it.

We have a number of errata to issue for deck 6, but we have always issued errata on release day, which is a week and a half away.

Added to FAQ (along with the other things Mike mentioned).

Regarding the Pleasure Center FAQ: since you add henchmen to the Yearning House "after you build location decks", there's no henchman left when you "Add Villains and Henchmen", right?

So all henchmen are in the Yearning House, the villain is randomly located somewhere (but you know exactly where since the person who's building the scenario knows where she put it), and all locations other than the Yearning House (if they do not house the villain) can't be closed without encountering all the cards.

This looks a bit strange. Should the FAQ start with "After you add Villains and Henchmen" instead of "After you build location decks"?


Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Card Game, Lost Omens, Maps, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Fayries wrote:
Vic Wertz wrote:
Mike Selinker wrote:
Rebel Song wrote:

Is the "Pleasure Center" a location card I should have? Do i treat the scenario card itself as a location? How do I close it?

Should the scenario card instruct to add all extra henchmen to the Yearning House instead?

It should. We hadn't noticed that one. We will fix it.

We have a number of errata to issue for deck 6, but we have always issued errata on release day, which is a week and a half away.

Added to FAQ (along with the other things Mike mentioned).

Regarding the Pleasure Center FAQ: since you add henchmen to the Yearning House "after you build location decks", there's no henchman left when you "Add Villains and Henchmen", right?

So all henchmen are in the Yearning House, the villain is randomly located somewhere (but you know exactly where since the person who's building the scenario knows where she put it), and all locations other than the Yearning House (if they do not house the villain) can't be closed without encountering all the cards.

This looks a bit strange. Should the FAQ start with "After you add Villains and Henchmen" instead of "After you build location decks"?

FAQ wrote:
After you build location decks, shuffle any henchmen from this scenario that remain in the box into the Yearning House

This does not impact the regular villain and henchmen for the scenario, only the extras you would not normally be using. The regular ones are still distributed normally.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

I'm sure this is the intention. But per the rulebook:

Quote:

Setting up:

• …
• Build the Location Decks,
• Add Villains and Henchmen,
• …

So after building location decks, all henchmen are still in the box. Per the FAQ, I put them in the Yearning House, and there's no henchman left when I "Add Villains and Henchmen".

Paizo Employee Chief Technical Officer

Fayries wrote:
Should the FAQ start with "After you add Villains and Henchmen" instead of "After you build location decks"?

Arg—this is one of my least favorite kinds of error: one we had spotted in proofing, but managed to not get fixed. FAQ updated.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Deck 6 - City of Locusts questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion