Ghlorofaex

Zenarius's page

293 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS

1 to 50 of 293 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | next > last >>

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Mike & all - game is unique, beautifully designed and executed. Your responses and dedication have been exemplary and most importantly my players have had loads of fun playing it. As expected some parts needed concepts to sink into head but once the basic premise has been understood there was little that stood in the way of effective gameplay and enjoyment.

Please consider to continue to develop more past mummy mask! (I just read/glanced at hell's vengeance from the last email update - pacg play as villians? Hell yeah... )


That's how we played it.


Hopefully this isn't a big spoiler but later if you take the 'advanced' mythic path imrijka can become effectively a freaking nasty warrior cleric - both combat and high level divine spells/wisdom no problem. But even without she's really effective with the right spells. Just got hold of miracle.. such an amazing game changer to be able to pick any spell in the box when the time is right.


Either guardian or champion works. I found that the guardian ability helps patch the Constitution weakness if you want a well balanced char.


Nice work! We're still slowly making our way there.. Killed khorram already.


Hi folks. Sorry for the lesser raise dead on this thread but we recently noticed the text on this card : dismissal

Says "for your check to defeat a bane that has the outsider trait, use your arcane or divine skill + 2d8 + the scenarios adventure deck number"

Suddenly we realized it would work as a one off for tyrannomancer when encountering lady of valor for the AD5-1 scenario?? There's no specific requirement that this be a combat check. Instead of a hopeless pile of d4 he should be able to use his arcane which is a charisma d10.


Just as horribly bad. Defeat deskari (or not), location not empty (won't close), deskari escapes to rift, shuffle him in..


Very clear, thanks vic & frencois!


MuffinB wrote:
If so, I will most definitely change my Mythic Path choice (even though rules say I can't, I will ;) Otherwise, Harsk will have a hard time to make good use of his Mythic commitement)

As quoted in another thread somewhere... Mike will never know... :)


Sorry one more.

deskari says 'if undefeated you die' - this 'you' applies to the character encountering him right?

As opposed to khorram which is clear if 'you fail a check to defeat, you die.' so another player trying to assist for khorram also could perish while for deskari only the one encountering him is at risk.


Thanks vic!


For abyssal army it's mythic bane, does everyone gain a mythic when defeated or just the char who initiated the encounter?


elcoderdude wrote:
Zenarius wrote:
Just had a thought. For the suture cohort, it's not a boon when encountered, so it's compulsory to attempt its acquire condition right?

The Suture is a support card, so neither bane nor boon. In regards to acquiring it, we have nothing to go by but the FAQ and the card.

The card overrules the FAQ, and the card doesn't make the check sound optional, so I'd say it's compulsory.

Thanks. I thought so too. Makes the storm king scenario scary without scouts.. he he


Just had a thought. For the suture cohort, it's not a boon when encountered, so it's compulsory to attempt its acquire condition right?


Keith Richmond wrote:
Fwiw, my general experience has been that bilious bottles scare people a ton, so they immediately figure out ways to cope with the location without suffering its effects (burning allies and blessings immediately, using it for temp closes, fortune-tellers, etc.

Haha.. yes we felt that way every time.. not sure why it has that effect on folk...


Vogrin Winterborn wrote:
Eliandra Giltessan wrote:
Okay, Rebel. If and when we do Wrath, you're going to have to help me see how Imrijka is awesome. I was burned by her mediocre combat before, but I'm determined to make her work.

Strength based bows are her weapon of choice, but don't be afraid to go for melee weapons - she's only 1 point worse with them, and a good "discard to reroll" polearm is a nice insurance policy. She is very flexible that way - she can acquire and use pretty much any weapon in the game.

Her mysterious disc is also great insurance, if you have that set of cards.

Compound bow, marksman bow, glaive

Spells : flames of faithful, cure (one will do) and steal soul (as have most recommended threads).

Items: disk, fortune arrow, archer bracers

Blessings : Shelyn (awesome with her wisdom based skills)

Generally you'll need the best combat weapon you can find, then spam her primary ability to fight and get more explores. If you go cold iron, the examine power is amazing.


The Lexicon should work as you'd be attempting to close. The only difference is temp close will open again and you don't get the 'when permanently closed' effects.


Frencois wrote:
Zenarius wrote:

Question on dragonbreath bow.

When spend one mythic charge for its additional power (2d10+3 & trait), is that considered part of the "determine which skill you're using" or "play cards & powers that affect check"?

Reason is if it was the former then there is one mythic charge less for the mythic dex bonus.

Seems to me the dragonbreath bow's "mythic" power doesn't help you "determine which skill you're using" but totally belongs to "powers that affect check". So is there even a question here?

That works for me. just wanted to be sure cos it was all in one paragraph on the card.


Question on dragonbreath bow.

When spend one mythic charge for its additional power (2d10+3 & trait), is that considered part of the "determine which skill you're using" or "play cards & powers that affect check"?

Reason is if it was the former then there is one mythic charge less for the mythic dex bonus.


Much thanks & appreciation mike! That was an awesome blog post.


Awesome read mike. Thanks!

Holy cow.. we ground through elven the hard way.. didn't realize vinst was sleeping on the job!


I believe the adventure path is completed, every scenario written/listed has been completed - so you'd get the last card feat before attempting deicide.


Tali Wah wrote:
Per the previous ruling for the Abyssal Rift, that Hawk liked above, you never get to the banishing other cards, because the location cannot be closed.

Ahh! Reread carefully. Very nicely done. Thanks tali/vic/hawk/everyone... good gawd.. don't ever shuffle the rift... or change deskari's position in the deck... sonofa...!! I like.. mmm... no loophole... Nice.. very nice...


Or perhaps a mythic confetti spell - toss at least two feet into the air. You may additionally tear into pieces before toss. Each bane that the card (or pieces) touch upon landing are defeated instantly & removed from game.

That'd prob violate copyright somewhere huh...


Wait.. A bit weird.. you'll still banish all the henchmen cards after defeating deskari. He goes back in and fight one more time?


I hope there's a buried star gate somewhere in this adventure..


Heh.. makes sense to me too..


And the advanced power to examine a card after defeating a monster still works, just that you can't explore after.


Per rules if something is impossible, don't do it. I believe you'll just ignore it.


Wow this is intriguing. We haven't managed to try it yet. So is the trick of losing to a henchmen (shuffling), orengofta moving deskari up and/or using tricks like enora scholar ability to pull the villian up before the henchmen actually work? It seems one school of thought says no but another yes.


I'm 100% for making this scenario non-hackable... Only real heroes can slay their way into legend....


Andrew L Klein wrote:
But do I have to give him a PACG card? Can I give him a Magic card? Or a random half-torn Christmas card I have stashed in storage somewhere? I demand an FAQ.

Perhaps that old get out of jail free card.. should still be around somewhere..


From those of us with lousier English we finally settled on the long form : when you move to this location or are moved to this location...


I swear this 'simple' game keeps surprising me every other day...


Yikes... So multiple magic armors can't be recharged at end of turn reset.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It really does feel like an epic conclusion... great stuff.

Need to play the final fantasy vii encounter music when we draw khorramzadeh & deskari....


Yup. It's the horde that needs everyone to defeat.. (not evade, must defeat..)


Longshot11 wrote:
Zenarius wrote:

Sorry folks I guess I missed the point.

So if glory hound steals the encounter he can or cannot close the location?

If he steals the scenario Henchman, he is then allowed himself to summon (not steal!) the location Henchman and close.

If the other player attempts to close in the "attempt to close" phase of the turn and the GL steals the summoned Henchman - the attempt fails, according to Vic.

Oho! I see.. thanks! Interesting..


Sorry folks I guess I missed the point.

So if glory hound steals the encounter he can or cannot close the location?


And it also works for knowledge checks... :)


Iammars wrote:
Zenarius wrote:

[ clap... Clap... Clap...!!]

Er.. you did roll separately for transmogrify for each check right..?

Dammit!

I'm actually more frustrated that I have to change how I resolve encounters with Transmogrify in the future than I am that I now have an asterisk next to the Baphomet win. It was nice to get an annoying piece of math out of the way up front. Now it's a bit more fiddly.

I believe we would accept the asterisk and continue *applause*


*facepalm* why do I keep playing on hard mode...


Don't have all the answers but the way we played :

1. Yes (she's a biatch)

2. Yes (did I mention biatch..?)

4. Yes

5. She lives. you win before end of turn. :) Many times we've encountered this.. it's the epic gawddamned-woohoo-we-win-in-your-face-hands-shaking-high-five situation..


The way it's worded seems to indicate a choice of card but I felt it meant the top card. Faq time! :)


[ clap... Clap... Clap...!!]

Er.. you did roll separately for transmogrify for each check right..?


Awesome. Snub the lady and she snubs you big time... moral of the story : never be late or evade an important interview.


MightyJim wrote:
Mike Selinker wrote:
Still on it. I'm writing a blog post that will explain how decisions like this get made. Won't be long.

Thanks for this.

Like a lot of people, I've made my thoughts on this particular character known in some detail, but I think it's great for the game when you give us a peek into the design process.

Much appreciated and (wow.. A blog? Were just expecting a simple faq)

Come to think of it, that reflects how much this is treated seriously. Ppl feel very strongly about their characters in games like these - am glad even 'small' (?) (heh) changes aren't taken lightly.


SlappyWhite wrote:
we have run through 6-3 now and holy griffon batman.

Omg I see what you mean... With that its a +12 combat to every recursive explore, continuously.. for free..

Can we please have a ruling soon? Even an interim one would help.


Our AD6 just arrived... hope the adjustment comes soon..


Say.. Did anyone try the archmage ultimate ability yet on 5-1?

1 to 50 of 293 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | next > last >>