Ifrit Arcanist


Advice


2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'm debating on building an Ifrit Arcanist because it seems like it could be a good mix on the surface. These are my thoughts:

If I take Blood Archanist archetype and thus select elemental (Fire) bloodline, does this give the same benefit as it would to the vanilla Ifrit Sorcerer? The benifit being receiving an effective +2 bonus to CHA?

Same question applies when not taking the archetype but instead the bloodline development exploit for elemental (Fire)

Answers aside to the questions above, overall, what is anyone's opinion on an Ifrit Arcanist as a potential build?


As those abilities simulate sorcerer levels I'd say the bonus to cha applies, but only to the abilities from Blood Arcanist or the bloodline developement exploit, not for the other exploits.

Ifrit is a decent choice as any race without a penalty to Int, the bonus to Cha is nice because it's useful to some exploits, while the Dex bonus is welcomed by any arcane caster for the AC.

The penalty to Wis sucks but the fact that Will is already a good save for you helps


Ifrit, Fire Affinity wrote:
Ifrit sorcerers with the elemental (fire) bloodline treat their Charisma score as 2 points higher for all sorcerer spells and class abilities. Ifrit spellcasters with the Fire domain use their domain powers and spells at +1 caster level.

So, based on the pure text, no, you would not gain any benefit.

Now, this is before Arcanist or Bloodrager existed, so do I think it should apply to the Elemental (Fire) bloodline powers (and only the bloodline powers, not other class features) of those classes?

Yes.

In fact, a Ifrit Bloodrager with Elemental (Fire) bloodline would be pretty sweet.


Samasboy1 wrote:
Ifrit, Fire Affinity wrote:
Ifrit sorcerers with the elemental (fire) bloodline treat their Charisma score as 2 points higher for all sorcerer spells and class abilities. Ifrit spellcasters with the Fire domain use their domain powers and spells at +1 caster level.
So, based on the pure text, no, you would not gain any benefit.

True that the ifrit ability specifically calls for sorcerer levels, but the Blood Arcanist explicitly says to treat Arcanist levels as Sorcerer levels.

More strongly, the Bloodline Development Exploit literally says as though she were a 1st-level sorcerer.

So as strict ruling there's still the possibility those options apply as they mention sorcerer levels instead of Bloodragers and Eldritch Scions that only mention Bloodlines


Entryhazard wrote:
Samasboy1 wrote:
Ifrit, Fire Affinity wrote:
Ifrit sorcerers with the elemental (fire) bloodline treat their Charisma score as 2 points higher for all sorcerer spells and class abilities. Ifrit spellcasters with the Fire domain use their domain powers and spells at +1 caster level.
So, based on the pure text, no, you would not gain any benefit.

True that the ifrit ability specifically calls for sorcerer levels, but the Blood Arcanist explicitly says to treat Arcanist levels as Sorcerer levels.

More strongly, the Bloodline Development Exploit literally says as though she were a 1st-level sorcerer.

So as strict ruling there's still the possibility those options apply as they mention sorcerer levels instead of Bloodragers and Eldritch Scions that only mention Bloodlines

OK so you're seeing the same thing that I am that because it mentions treating the Arcanist level as Sorcerer levels, this is effectively saying I am a sorcerer and thus aught to receive the bonus. I can probably expect table variation for GM ruling with PFS on this. Again for anyone that wants to chime in. Taking a leap that *IF* there were an official ruling that said an Ifret Arcanist as above does receive the benefits as outlined... is it worth it for the increased effective CHA bonus giving up three exploits from 1st, 3rd and probably 9th levels (given PFS play goes to around 11th level). This leaves the character two exploits to choose from over the course of its life.


Zantumal wrote:
OK so you're seeing the same thing that I am that because it mentions treating the Arcanist level as Sorcerer levels, this is effectively saying I am a sorcerer and thus aught to receive the bonus. I can probably expect table variation for GM ruling with PFS on this. Again for anyone that wants to chime in. Taking a leap that *IF* there were an official ruling that said an Ifret Arcanist as above does receive the benefits as outlined... is it worth it for the increased effective CHA bonus giving up three exploits from 1st, 3rd and probably 9th levels (given PFS play goes to around 11th level). This leaves the character two exploits to choose from over the course of its life.

Almost paradoxically the wording of Bloodline Developement Exploit is more strong that the Blood Arcanist's.

If you go the Blood Arcanist route, keep in mind that you can still get Extra Exploit as a feat from level 5 onward

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Advice / Ifrit Arcanist All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.