Using timeworn gear in PFS


Pathfinder Society


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Firstly, I'm really sorry if this has been covered elsewhere, but I did have a good look around first and couldn't find confirmation.

if someone could confirm whether I have this right or not, that would be awesome.

When a PC uses a piece of timeworn tech for the first time in that scenario, the item has a 50% chance of glitching.

Is that also the case for timeworn tech in their possession, I mean on their inventory list, bought, and all that. You roll the 50% chance each scenario. Is that right?

Thanks in advance for any help!

Silver Crusade 5/5 5/55/5 Venture-Captain, Germany—Bavaria

From the

Guide to Organized play page 28 wrote:

When a timeworn technological item is first in
a scenario, there’s a 50% chance that it will glitch.
Additionally, when using an item in a way that would drain
its last charge, there’s a 50% chance it will glitch. If an item
requires a d20 roll (such as a skill check or an attack roll) to
activate or use, it automatically glitches on a natural 1.

The glitch table is on the same page.


Pathfinder Companion Subscriber

Yeah, I got that.

But is that the scenario in which the item appears, or in that scenario and in any further scenario it may also appear due to being bought by a PC off the chronicle sheet?

I think the second case, I just wanted to check..

Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Agent, Colorado—Denver aka roll4initiative

Is this item in a "PFS Scenario" or in something else, like, an Adventure Path encounter, or in a Technology Guide?

Silver Crusade 5/5

There are a couple of season six scenarios that have some timeworn tech items on their certs.

Edit: As far as I can tell, it looks like you'll have to check for a glitch the first time you use the item each scenario.

Silver Crusade

As there is not determining the time off between scenarios it is probably assumed that there is a month off (especially when there is 3 weeks of travel written into an adventure) so you have to make the glitch check for every scenario. At least that's what I'm reading into it.

Technology Guide wrote:
When a timeworn technological item is first used after a month or more of inactivity, there’s a 50% chance that it will glitch. Additionally, when using an item in a way that would drain its last charge, there’s a 50% chance it will glitch. If an item requires a d20 roll (such as a skill check or an attack roll) to activate or use, it automatically glitches on a natural 1.

"But that's just my opinion, I could be wrong" - Dennis Miller

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I think Sebastian Hirsch's quote from Guide to Organized play overrules Tamec's quote from Technology Guide.

Sebastian Hirsch wrote:

From the

Guide to Organized play page 28 wrote:

When a timeworn technological item is first in
a scenario,
there’s a 50% chance that it will glitch.
Additionally, when using an item in a way that would drain
its last charge, there’s a 50% chance it will glitch. If an item
requires a d20 roll (such as a skill check or an attack roll) to
activate or use, it automatically glitches on a natural 1.

The glitch table is on the same page.

I believe the line has a typo and is intended to say is "is first used in a scenario", meaning the first 50% glitch roll only happens in first scenario you use it and not every scenario you use it.

Liberty's Edge 4/5

You should also note that using an item in the scenario you found it will not impact the charges it has when you purchase it. You buy the item fresh from the sheet, meaning the one you buy will have it's first chance to glitch the first time you use it after that scenario.

You will need to check for a glitch upon picking it up and using it in the scenario but any glitches that occur during said scenario (additional charges lost or regained) don't carry over to the purchased item.

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Maps Subscriber
Eric Mulder 817 wrote:

You should also note that using an item in the scenario you found it will not impact the charges it has when you purchase it. You buy the item fresh from the sheet, meaning the one you buy will have it's first chance to glitch the first time you use it after that scenario.

You will need to check for a glitch upon picking it up and using it in the scenario but any glitches that occur during said scenario (additional charges lost or regained) don't carry over to the purchased item.

... unless the item is already in use when you grab it. That's a little open to interpretation though.

Silver Crusade 3/5

TetsujinOni wrote:
Eric Mulder 817 wrote:

You should also note that using an item in the scenario you found it will not impact the charges it has when you purchase it. You buy the item fresh from the sheet, meaning the one you buy will have it's first chance to glitch the first time you use it after that scenario.

You will need to check for a glitch upon picking it up and using it in the scenario but any glitches that occur during said scenario (additional charges lost or regained) don't carry over to the purchased item.

... unless the item is already in use when you grab it. That's a little open to interpretation though.

What is there to interpret? Charges used on an item—whether magical or technological—during the course of the scenario—whether used by PC or NPC—do not reduce the number of charges the item has on the chronicle. Potions and scrolls consumed in the scenario appear on the chronicle. Weapons sundered or thrown into the Inner Sea appear on the chronicle. Technological or magical items that use their last charge appear on the chronicle unchanged.

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Maps Subscriber
The Fox wrote:
TetsujinOni wrote:
Eric Mulder 817 wrote:


You will need to check for a glitch upon picking it up and using it in the scenario but any glitches that occur during said scenario (additional charges lost or regained) don't carry over to the purchased item.
... unless the item is already in use when you grab it. That's a little open to interpretation though.
What is there to interpret?

Edited the inner quote to highlight the part that I was referring to

Silver Crusade 3/5

Again, I don't think there is any interpretation involved. Items on the chronicle are available as they appear on the chronicle.


Mitch Anderson wrote:

I think Sebastian Hirsch's quote from Guide to Organized play overrules Tamec's quote from Technology Guide.

Sebastian Hirsch wrote:

From the

Guide to Organized play page 28 wrote:

When a timeworn technological item is first in
a scenario,
there’s a 50% chance that it will glitch.
Additionally, when using an item in a way that would drain
its last charge, there’s a 50% chance it will glitch. If an item
requires a d20 roll (such as a skill check or an attack roll) to
activate or use, it automatically glitches on a natural 1.

The glitch table is on the same page.

I believe the line has a typo and is intended to say is "is first used in a scenario", meaning the first 50% glitch roll only happens in first scenario you use it and not every scenario you use it.

That doesn't seem to be the context and it fails when the indeterminate time between scenarios is taken into account. Also if that was the case shouldn't there be a procedure for recording that that glitch chance had occurred so later GM's would know?

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Maps Subscriber
The Fox wrote:
Again, I don't think there is any interpretation involved. Items on the chronicle are available as they appear on the chronicle.

If the item is in use by an NPC, I don't believe it requires a glitch check when you continue using it.

That's the point that's subject to some interpretation, though.

Items on the chronicle are those on the chronicle and follow their normal rules.

Paizo Employee 5/5 Developer

3 people marked this as a favorite.

If the timeworn object is used by an NPC first, the glitch-per-month feature is already done and over with; a PC need not glitch under that circumstance.

Charges expended from a found timeworn item, like for any found charge/expendable item, do not count against what is found on the Chronicle sheet. Have fun with the treasure, and look at it as a way to try out a new toy before deciding whether or not to buy it later.

Grand Lodge 4/5

John Compton wrote:

If the timeworn object is used by an NPC first, the glitch-per-month feature is already done and over with; a PC need not glitch under that circumstance.

Charges expended from a found timeworn item, like for any found charge/expendable item, do not count against what is found on the Chronicle sheet. Have fun with the treasure, and look at it as a way to try out a new toy before deciding whether or not to buy it later.

Spoiler:

I loved the Chainsaw and Gravity Clip..

The bad guys in Tapestry's Toil..(My next scenario). facing a 12 foot winged alchemist.. not so much.

Silver Crusade 3/5

TetsujinOni wrote:
The Fox wrote:
Again, I don't think there is any interpretation involved. Items on the chronicle are available as they appear on the chronicle.

If the item is in use by an NPC, I don't believe it requires a glitch check when you continue using it.

That's the point that's subject to some interpretation, though.

Items on the chronicle are those on the chronicle and follow their normal rules.

I apologize. I thought you were saying that this is what was open to interpretation:

Quote:
...any glitches that occur during said scenario (additional charges lost or regained) don't carry over to the purchased item.

You were saying the first part was open to interpretation.

Sorry for the misunderstanding.

Dark Archive

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Maps Subscriber
The Fox wrote:
TetsujinOni wrote:
The Fox wrote:
Again, I don't think there is any interpretation involved. Items on the chronicle are available as they appear on the chronicle.

If the item is in use by an NPC, I don't believe it requires a glitch check when you continue using it.

That's the point that's subject to some interpretation, though.

Items on the chronicle are those on the chronicle and follow their normal rules.

I apologize. I thought you were saying that this is what was open to interpretation:

Quote:
...any glitches that occur during said scenario (additional charges lost or regained) don't carry over to the purchased item.

You were saying the first part was open to interpretation.

Sorry for the misunderstanding.

I try to not trim quotes to preserve context and prevent the appearance of cherrypicking; it added confusion instead of clarity this time.

No problem a'tall, Fox. And John has clarified that my interpretation is the official one.

Cooperatin' away... Three weeks til the Big Show!

Silver Crusade 5/5

Mitch Anderson wrote:

I think Sebastian Hirsch's quote from Guide to Organized play overrules Tamec's quote from Technology Guide.

Sebastian Hirsch wrote:

From the

Guide to Organized play page 28 wrote:

When a timeworn technological item is first in
a scenario,
there’s a 50% chance that it will glitch.
Additionally, when using an item in a way that would drain
its last charge, there’s a 50% chance it will glitch. If an item
requires a d20 roll (such as a skill check or an attack roll) to
activate or use, it automatically glitches on a natural 1.

The glitch table is on the same page.

I believe the line has a typo and is intended to say is "is first used in a scenario", meaning the first 50% glitch roll only happens in first scenario you use it and not every scenario you use it.

Can we get clarification on this? I have been operating under the assumption that the glitch check for timeworn tech is done the first time each scenario, but others appear to believe otherwise. I think it's every scenario, but since I've got a character that picked up a timeworn tech item I would like to be certain. The rules for Timeworn Tech from the Tech Guide make it seem like it shoud be each scenario, but the rules in the GtOP are less clear.

Does a PC need to need to roll for a glitch the first time they use a piece of timeworn tech, or the first time they use that timeworn tech each scenario?

Additionally, the GtOP only has the glitch table for weapons, if a player has a timeworn tech item that isn't a weapon, what table do they roll on? I would assume they use the applicable table from the Tech Guide, since we are required to own the tech guide to use those items anyways, but I wanted to double check.

Paizo Employee 5/5 Developer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Technology Guide inside cover wrote:

Timeworn technology doesn't always work as intended. There's a 50% chance that timeworn items glitch under the following conditions.

  • When an item is first used after a month or more of inactivity.
  • There's an indeterminate amount of time between scenarios, which is rather convenient for recharging staves, crafting alchemical items (for alchemist PCs), performing Day Job checks, and having one's equipment upgraded. Page 23 of the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play even references recharge rates of 1/week and 1/month effectively being 1/scenario. Unfortunately, this is a little rough for timeworn weapons, which start each scenario as though it had been a month or more since it was last used; as a result the first use per scenario has the 50% chance to trigger a glitch.

    *I'm inclined to say that if a PC is playing straight through a multi-part series back-to-back, that assumption of a month's passage could be waived at the GM's discretion, but that could also unevenly apply to other PCs using that flexible time frame to perform thousands of gold pieces worth of magical enhancements. I'm open to hearing what others think on that matter before committing to anything.*

    Grand Lodge 4/5 Venture-Captain, California—Sacramento aka FLite

    John Compton wrote:


    *I'm inclined to say that if a PC is playing straight through a multi-part series back-to-back, that assumption of a month's passage could be waived at the GM's discretion, but that could also unevenly apply to other PCs using that flexible time frame to perform thousands of gold pieces worth of magical enhancements. I'm open to hearing what others think on that matter before committing to anything.*

    I would restrict that to series where there is a specific rule / boon tied to playing the scenarios back to back. For example, the scenarios

    Spoiler:
    Rats of round mountain
    give you a special boon if you don't stop to recharge.

    But I wouldn't be upset if a GM at a different table (for example: The Devil you know series) ruled either way.

    Sczarni 4/5

    I have a minor question regarding the timeworn technology. I personally do not own the Technology Guide, but have GMed multiple scenario's where technological timeworn items are used. Can the GM/player simply assume that timeworn weapons have 50% of not working properly instead of consulting to the glitch table each time that weapon glitches? Unless I misunderstood it, you have to use the pretty large table each time that glitch happens. This isn't very practical and consumes a lot of time if GM/player isn't prepared.

    I apologize upfront if I misunderstood something within the rules.

    Adam

    Paizo Employee 5/5 Developer

    2 people marked this as a favorite.
    Malag wrote:

    I have a minor question regarding the timeworn technology. I personally do not own the Technology Guide, but have GMed multiple scenario's where technological timeworn items are used. Can the GM/player simply assume that timeworn weapons have 50% of not working properly instead of consulting to the glitch table each time that weapon glitches? Unless I misunderstood it, you have to use the pretty large table each time that glitch happens. This isn't very practical and consumes a lot of time if GM/player isn't prepared.

    I apologize upfront if I misunderstood something within the rules.

    Adam

    Also note that the rules for weapon glitches appear in the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play on page 28, and the entire set of tables is available on the Pathfinder Reference Document. Please use these or the Technology Guide itself when resolving glitches.

    5/5 Venture-Agent, California—San Francisco Bay Area North & East aka Pirate Rob

    For simplicity's sake my vote would be to have them glitch anew every scenario, with the occasional special scenario above to rule otherwise.

    Shadow Lodge 5/5 5/55/55/55/5 Venture-Captain, Indiana—Southern aka CanisDirus

    Another option would be for a player using Timeworn technology to keep track on their chronicle sheets when they use their TW devices, and use "real time" to track whether it's been a month or not.

    That said, I like the simplicity of Robert's suggestion.

    Grand Lodge

    Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
    The Fox wrote:
    TetsujinOni wrote:
    Eric Mulder 817 wrote:

    You should also note that using an item in the scenario you found it will not impact the charges it has when you purchase it. You buy the item fresh from the sheet, meaning the one you buy will have it's first chance to glitch the first time you use it after that scenario.

    You will need to check for a glitch upon picking it up and using it in the scenario but any glitches that occur during said scenario (additional charges lost or regained) don't carry over to the purchased item.

    ... unless the item is already in use when you grab it. That's a little open to interpretation though.
    What is there to interpret? Charges used on an item—whether magical or technological—during the course of the scenario—whether used by PC or NPC—do not reduce the number of charges the item has on the chronicle. Potions and scrolls consumed in the scenario appear on the chronicle. Weapons sundered or thrown into the Inner Sea appear on the chronicle. Technological or magical items that use their last charge appear on the chronicle unchanged.

    Items however not found in the first place, generally are crossed off the chronicle.

    2/5

    Mike Bramnik wrote:

    Another option would be for a player using Timeworn technology to keep track on their chronicle sheets when they use their TW devices, and use "real time" to track whether it's been a month or not.

    That said, I like the simplicity of Robert's suggestion.

    I would disagree with that ruling as it disadvantages those who don't play frequently.

    Shadow Lodge 5/5 5/55/55/55/5 Venture-Captain, Indiana—Southern aka CanisDirus

    Atragon wrote:
    Mike Bramnik wrote:

    Another option would be for a player using Timeworn technology to keep track on their chronicle sheets when they use their TW devices, and use "real time" to track whether it's been a month or not.

    That said, I like the simplicity of Robert's suggestion.

    I would disagree with that ruling as it disadvantages those who don't play frequently.

    I agree with you - another reason why I like Robert's idea of just making it every scenario unless it's a one-two or a special circumstance (GM discretion) where the PC has clearly gone from Scenario/Module X to Scenario/Module Y on a shortened time frame.

    Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Using timeworn gear in PFS All Messageboards

    Want to post a reply? Sign in.