
Seeker 26 |

My group has been having a disagreement about how many AAOs an archer provokes with his bow when using rapid shot. We understand the FAQ ruling that scorching ray only provokes 1 AOO because all the rays are fired simultaneously (like manyshot for an archer) but this is rapid shot. Here is the scenario:
An archer is standing adjacent to a melee fighter.
The melee fighter has combat reflexes with an 18 dex.
The archer is unable to 5 foot step away.
The archer uses rapid shot (not manyshot) and fires 3 arrows at the melee fighter.
In this scenario, would the fighter get an AOO for each arrow fired (3 AOOs) since each arrow fired is a new AOO opportunity; or would the fighter get only 1 AOO since its 1 full round action? Please send cite sources for your response so we can ended this debate. Thanks in advance for taking the time.
-Seeker

Damon Griffin |

This table notes that a Full Attack doesn't provoke an AOO, and doesn't distinguish between melee and ranged the way it does for the Attack action near the top of the table.
Since Rapid Shot can only be used with a Full Attack action, I'd say the number should be 0, rather than 1 or 3.

Rynjin |
3 people marked this as a favorite. |

You don't provoke for Full Atacking, no. But you still provoke for making a Ranged Attack.
The act of taking a Full Round action to Full Attack does not provoke.
The act of making several ranged attacks within that Full Attack does however.
You provoke every time you make a ranged attack. If you make 3 attacks, that's 3 AoOs. If you make 16 attacks, that's 16 AoOs. Doesn't matter.

fretgod99 |

You don't provoke for Full Atacking, no. But you still provoke for making a Ranged Attack.
The act of taking a Full Round action to Full Attack does not provoke.
The act of making several ranged attacks within that Full Attack does however.
You provoke every time you make a ranged attack. If you make 3 attacks, that's 3 AoOs. If you make 16 attacks, that's 16 AoOs. Doesn't matter.
This is correct. Each ranged attack provokes. Absent other abilities directing you otherwise, if you make an attack roll with a ranged weapon, you're going to provoke (so Manyshot only provokes once, because it's just one attack that fires two arrows).

AndIMustMask |

far as i know, your opponent can't make multiple AoOs on a target for doing an action that triggers it more than once (such as moving several squares through someone's threatened area), so i think he'd get one ffrom the first shot, and that's it (especially if he doesnt have combat reflexes).
let me dig up the post about it.

DM_Blake |

Answer: Zero AoOs if he has the Point Blank Master feat.
Otherwise, the archer will provoke 3 times.
Consider this: if that archer dropped his bow and tried to punch the fighter in nose 3 times in one round (maybe he has iterative attacks, or he's hasted and TWF, whatever), but he doesn't have Improved Unarmed Strike, would you say those three punches provoke three times or only once? It's fairly clear the he would be making multiple provoking punches in his action and would provoke multiple times.
Rapid Shot is not different - it lets the archer make multiple provoking shots in his action, so it provokes multiple times.
Now would be a good time for that archer to consider droping his bow and drawing a sword for melee.

DM_Blake |

far as i know, your opponent can't make multiple AoOs on a target for doing an action that triggers it more than once (such as moving several squares through someone's threatened area), so i think he'd get one ffrom the first shot, and that's it (especially if he doesnt have combat reflexes).
let me dig up the post about it.
I think the moving through multiple threatened squares is just a single exception that is specifically handled by the rules. Other actions that provoke multiple AoOs are not handled by this movement rule, nor is there a default rule to limit multiple AoOs.

Nicos |
AndIMustMask wrote:I think the moving through multiple threatened squares is just a single exception that is specifically handled by the rules. Other actions that provoke multiple AoOs are not handled by this movement rule, nor is there a default rule to limit multiple AoOs.far as i know, your opponent can't make multiple AoOs on a target for doing an action that triggers it more than once (such as moving several squares through someone's threatened area), so i think he'd get one ffrom the first shot, and that's it (especially if he doesnt have combat reflexes).
let me dig up the post about it.
Correct.

![]() |

Combat Reflexes and Additional Attacks of Opportunity: If you have the Combat Reflexes feat, you can add your Dexterity bonus to the number of attacks of opportunity you can make in a round. This feat does not let you make more than one attack for a given opportunity, but if the same opponent provokes two attacks of opportunity from you, you could make two separate attacks of opportunity (since each one represents a different opportunity). Moving out of more than one square threatened by the same opponent in the same round doesn't count as more than one opportunity for that opponent. All these attacks are at your full normal attack bonus.

![]() |
Answer: Zero AoOs if he has the Point Blank Master feat.
Otherwise, the archer will provoke 3 times.
Consider this: if that archer dropped his bow and tried to punch the fighter in nose 3 times in one round (maybe he has iterative attacks, or he's hasted and TWF, whatever), but he doesn't have Improved Unarmed Strike, would you say those three punches provoke three times or only once? It's fairly clear the he would be making multiple provoking punches in his action and would provoke multiple times.
Rapid Shot is not different - it lets the archer make multiple provoking shots in his action, so it provokes multiple times.
Now would be a good time for that archer to consider droping his bow and drawing a sword for melee.
Or making that 5 foot step back. Or thinking a move or two ahead of time if you see someone closing on you. Or putting in some switch hitting into your build if you're a fighter or ranger.

DJEternalDarkness |

I would say 1 based off of an action can only provoke 1 AoO for said action.
As noted here, ranged attacks DO draw attacks of opportunity. But it's only one action, so I'd say only 1 attack.

Kazaan |
I would say 1 based off of an action can only provoke 1 AoO for said action.
As noted here, ranged attacks DO draw attacks of opportunity. But it's only one action, so I'd say only 1 attack.
It isn't the action (full-attack) that provokes but the "ranged attack" subroutine that provokes. This is why a spellcaster provokes twice when casting a Ray spell; once for casting the spell, and a second time for aiming and firing the Ray. Similarly, whereas the Charge action doesn't provoke, the movement you perform during the action does provoke. Provocation isn't based on an action-by-action basis, it's based on an instance-by-instance basis. Sometimes, a whole action provokes. Other times, subordinate parts of an action such as movement or making a ranged attack are what provoke.