
VoodistMonk |

My instinct is to say no, but that's only because my spirit has been broken by countless "hands' worth of effort" arguments here in the rules arena.
However, as a GM, I would probably allow it... even though closer inspection seems to point towards my instincts being right... the answer is probably no.
Normal: If you wield a second weapon in your off hand, you can get one extra attack per round with that weapon.
Combat Juggling wrote:
"... This ability doesn’t grant the juggler additional attacks, though it does allow him to use different weapons as part of a full attack..."
Nothing in Fast Reactions/Deflect Arrows/Snatch Arrows has anything to add, either.
You might be able to find a creative use for the Switch Hands 1-handed Weapon Trick, but otherwise you are just using multiple/different main hand weapons with main hand attacks...

![]() |

Discussion from a few years ago somewhat related to this topic: https://paizo.com/threads/rzs2ucg3?Can-you-two-weapon-fight-with-the-same-t hrown#8

Derklord |

The answer is crystal clear: "If you wield a second weapon in your off hand, you can get one extra attack per round with that weapon." CRB pg. 202, emphasis mine.
Your first weapon is not a second weapon.
My instinct is to say no, but that's only because my spirit has been broken by countless "hands' worth of effort" arguments here in the rules arena.
Why is it you keep bringing up "hands' worth of effort" again and again and again in threads that don't have the slightest bit to do with it?
It literally only applies when you want to TWF with a two-handed weapon (and another weapon). It doesn't apply to natural attacks, it doesn't apply to Flurry of Blows and Spell Combat, and it doesn't apply to the question whether you can TWF with a single weapon.
If you hate it, why do you keep trying to shoehorn it in?

zza ni |

i wouldn't allow him to use the same weapon for two weapon fighting any more then i would allow some1 with a bastard sword (and the exotic weapon proficiency that allow him to one handed it) to attack with it in one hand. use a free action to grip it with the 2nd and an other free action to release it from his first hand and then attack with the off hand using two weapon fighting extra attack rules. (not talking about high bab extra attack)
the ability grant him the option to hold(\wield etc) up to 3 (or more later) weapons while normal people can only hold 2. that is why they need to explain that this doesn't allow for more attacks,. you'd might think - with holding one weapon i get one attack. with two i get two so maybe 3 will give me 3.
i would allow him to use a different weapon for the off-hand extra attack of 2 weapon fighting.

VoodistMonk |

Regardless, there is nothing in Combat Juggling suggesting you are considered to ever wield any of the weapons being juggled in you "off hand". And wielding a weapon in your off hand is required to get any additional attacks from fighting with two weapons. It even says he is considered to have a free hand, as there are several feats and abilities that require a free hand... and that, alone, suggests that you are not to be considered wielding any of the weapons in your off hand... your off hand is considered a free hand, not a hand wielding a weapon. Could maybe make a specific case for creatures with more than two hands, but that would be an exception, not the norm.
Combat Juggling wrote:
At 2nd level, a juggler can hold and wield (in other words, “juggle”) up to three items or weapons in his hands. The juggler must be able to hold and wield an object in one hand in order to juggle it.
This ability doesn’t grant the juggler additional attacks, though it does allow him to use different weapons as part of a full attack. As long as he is juggling fewer than three objects, the juggler is considered to have a free hand (for the purposes of drawing a weapon, using somatic components, using Deflect Arrows, and so on).

Derklord |

It even says he is considered to have a free hand, as there are several feats and abilities that require a free hand... and that, alone, suggests that you are not to be considered wielding any of the weapons in your off hand... your off hand is considered a free hand, not a hand wielding a weapon.
No, this ability is the exception. The free hand part is a benefit, not a limitation. A Juggler Bard can TWF with juggled weapons, just not with a single one.
One hand (it doesn't say it's the off-hand!) is considered free. That's fundamentally different from "one hand must remain free", which is what would be needed to disallow TWF.

zza ni |

Regardless, there is nothing in Combat Juggling suggesting you are considered to ever wield any of the weapons being juggled in you "off hand". And wielding a weapon in your off hand is required to get any additional attacks from fighting with two weapons. It even says he is considered to have a free hand, as there are several feats and abilities that require a free hand... and that, alone, suggests that you are not to be considered wielding any of the weapons in your off hand... your off hand is considered a free hand, not a hand wielding a weapon. Could maybe make a specific case for creatures with more than two hands, but that would be an exception, not the norm.
Combat Juggling wrote:
At 2nd level, a juggler can hold and wield (in other words, “juggle”) up to three items or weapons in his hands. The juggler must be able to hold and wield an object in one hand in order to juggle it.This ability doesn’t grant the juggler additional attacks, though it does allow him to use different weapons as part of a full attack. As long as he is juggling fewer than three objects, the juggler is considered to have a free hand (for the purposes of drawing a weapon, using somatic components, using Deflect Arrows, and so on).
if you bother to quote it, then reading it is also advised.
"...hold and wield...hands" (= plural).
that include his main and off hand (as long as were talking a 2 handed person)