Brett Johnson's page

Organized Play Member. 18 posts (151 including aliases). No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 23 Organized Play characters. 1 alias.


RSS


Thanks, I'm glad it's not just me thinking this was weird


How is the barbed arrow supposed to work when the bow doesn't have reach?

Spoiler:
Ranged Tactics Toolbox wrote:
Barbed Arrow: *snip* When a barbed arrow is attached to a length of silk rope and fired from a bow, the arrow’s range increment is reduced to 30 feet, but it gains the grapple special weapon quality *snip*
Ultimate Equipment wrote:
Grapple: On a successful critical hit with a weapon of this type, you can attempt a combat maneuver check to grapple your opponent as a free action. *snip* While you grapple the creature using a grappling weapon, you can only move or damage the creature on your turn. You are still considered grappled, though you do not have to be adjacent to the creature to continue the grapple. If you move far enough away that the creature you’re grappling is no longer within the weapon’s reach, you end the grapple with that action.


It's not a double weapon, so it'd count as a single weapon, similAR to a double crossbow.


I don't see why not. They'd suffer major penalties to their attacks and skills.


Sry, yes That is what I'm talking about, due to the typo you can use any inspiration on any skill for free.


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Was the altered inspiration ability ever FAQd to remove the "or" loophole?

1/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

A druid w a pair of squid on his back firing him around like a jet pack.


I'm not going to argue with anyone anymore about this. Lets just wait for the FAQ to fix things, until then, just agree to disagree.

@ Chris
sorry about that. It won't happen again. Edited this post as it had a response to a removed post.


@ _ozy_
graystone has quoted the same text previously, without actually posting the text in his comments, to show how his argument is shown in the text as valid.

i don't see that you have touched on the sling stone example in your response. what is your thoughts on that?


Purple Dragon Knight wrote:
Agreed. The intent was clearly to target any nonmagical ammo found within the container.

would this then apply towards alchemical ammo, since it is not magical?


Purple Dragon Knight wrote:
Based on careful reading of abundant ammunition spell, it appears that any non-magical ammo is replaced (the word including usually implies "but not limited to" in the English language), and that would include alchemical ammo (i.e. anything that does not radiate magic is non-magical)

i don't see anything in the spell description that limits it to non-magical ammo.

for the spell to function (since it can still be casting on the container w/o meeting #1), it only requires...
1- the container has non-magical ammo in it
2- the replaced item must be ammo

say you have a quiver with a 1 darkwood arrow, 1 +1 arrow, and 1 loaf of bread. it meets requirement #1, since it contains non-magical ammo.

when you draw the normal arrow, it meets requirement #2, since the drawn item is an arrow and it replaces a new one in the quiver.

if you draw a +1 arrow, it meets requirement #2, since that is also ammo and is replaced in the quiver by a new one.

if you draw the loaf of bread, it does not meet requirement #2, since it is not ammo to any known weapon.
-----------

what i really want out of my thread, is to find out whether or not there has been an official ruling, and that has been satisfied


Claxon wrote:

Alchemical weapons aren't "thrown weapons", they are splash weapons, which use different rules to determine what happens with them. And arrows as specifically listed as ammo.

You're logic does not provide a "conclusive" reason that alchemical weapons are ammo.

we'll just have to agree to disagree and wait for a FAQ


Could a juggler bard use the same juggled weapon as a primary and offhand weapon?


What would happen if you drop a bow when you have a quiver? Do they cease to count as ammo as long as the spell is in effect?
No. You could still draw them from the bag, but w/o a bow (or other arrow shooting process), they can't be shot and disappear.

'Projectile weapons use ammunition'

also, in Ranged Tactics pg5, says 'thrown weapons are their own ammunition'

this seems pretty conclusive that alchemical weapons are ammo.


hybridized ammo is using the Hybridization Funnel to combine, say, acid and holy water. since these are used by both the Flask Thrower and Launching Crossbow, they would count as ammo.


thank you everyone, despite being derailed a little. ;)

so there are no erratas/FAQ/etc, yet not really an overall agreement on which works and which does not.


28 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the errata. 3 people marked this as a favorite.

I've seen a million AA threads. But never saw an official running while browsing through.

Has there been an official ruling/errata/FAQ on how Abundant Ammunition works in relation any/all of the following...

1- container w both magical and no magical ammo.
2- improved ammo (via Blanches, etc.).
3- Hybridized alchemical ammo.
4- any others not covered above.

this thread need only be about the rulings, not people's opinions on which is RAW and which is RAI.


Kobold Cleaver wrote:
PRD wrote:

Tea Ceremony (Su)

By spending 10 minutes preparing an elaborate tea ceremony, a geisha may affect her allies with inspire courage, inspire competence, inspire greatness, or inspire heroics. The ceremony’s effects last 10 minutes. The geisha must spend 4 rounds of bardic performance for each creature to be affected.

Wait, am I misreading this, or does this ability make Inspire Greatness and Inspire Heroics available at first level?

has this been discussed, here or elsewhere?