New FAQ, the improvised Longspear


Rules Questions

1 to 50 of 81 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Grand Lodge

8 people marked this as a favorite.

As noted with this FAQ, you can now, without a doubt, use normal weapons in improvised fashion.

How does this play out with other weapons?

For your benefit, here it is:

FAQ wrote:

Can I use my longspear to attack at both 10 feet and 5 feet? I know that the rules for reach weapons don't allow them to attack adjacent foes, but can I use the improvised weapon rules to say that the blunt end of my longspear resembles a club and use it to attack adjacent foes? I know that the improvised weapon rules say they are for objects not designed to be weapons, but the blunt end of my longspear was not designed to be a weapon, right?

You could choose to wield your longspear as an improvised blunt weapon. In this case, it threatens only your adjacent squares, and not the further squares. If you are wielding it as a longspear, though, to threaten the further squares, then your grip precludes the use as an improvised blunt weapon. The rules are silent on how long it would take to shift between the two, but switching between a one-handed and a two-handed grip with a one-handed weapon like a longsword is a free action (and can thus be only taken on your turn), so it should take at least as long as that, thus preventing you from simultaneously threatening all of the squares at once. Incidentally, using the longspear as an improvised weapon in this way would not allow you to benefit from any magical enhancements it may possess, nor would you add benefits that apply when attacking with a longspear (such as Weapon Focus (longspear), but you would apply any benefits from using an improvised weapon (such as Catch Off-Guard).


Myself, I'm not seeing the altered grip. It's using the haft as a staff and that can be done with an unaltered grip. For instance, a longstear is 8' long and a quarterstaff can be 7' long. Why would I have to alter my grip for one and not the other? Or would you have to alter your grip if you use a staff as a double weapon but want to hit once?


You can use the pommel of your dagger or longsword to do bludgeoning damage, then. That's always been a little unclear in RAW, although nearly all GMs would allow it, because duh.

Grand Lodge

4 people marked this as a favorite.

This also seems to answer the question on threatening with improvised weapons.


blackbloodtroll wrote:

This also seems to answer the question on threatening with improvised weapons.

I'd always figured that they threatened. I'd also figured that weapons could be improvised too. It's nice to get it ruled on though on the off chance it ever becomes an issue.

As far as other weapons, it now means that no one can complain about people using a ranged weapon as melee weapons.


blackbloodtroll wrote:

As noted with this FAQ, you can now, without a doubt, use normal weapons in improvised fashion.

How does this play out with other weapons?

For your benefit, here it is:

FAQ wrote:

Can I use my longspear to attack at both 10 feet and 5 feet? I know that the rules for reach weapons don't allow them to attack adjacent foes, but can I use the improvised weapon rules to say that the blunt end of my longspear resembles a club and use it to attack adjacent foes? I know that the improvised weapon rules say they are for objects not designed to be weapons, but the blunt end of my longspear was not designed to be a weapon, right?

You could choose to wield your longspear as an improvised blunt weapon. In this case, it threatens only your adjacent squares, and not the further squares. If you are wielding it as a longspear, though, to threaten the further squares, then your grip precludes the use as an improvised blunt weapon. The rules are silent on how long it would take to shift between the two, but switching between a one-handed and a two-handed grip with a one-handed weapon like a longsword is a free action (and can thus be only taken on your turn), so it should take at least as long as that, thus preventing you from simultaneously threatening all of the squares at once. Incidentally, using the longspear as an improvised weapon in this way would not allow you to benefit from any magical enhancements it may possess, nor would you add benefits that apply when attacking with a longspear (such as Weapon Focus (longspear), but you would apply any benefits from using an improvised weapon (such as Catch Off-Guard).

I remember arguing against this because there was a class feature that allows you to shorten your grip, but the penalty still existed. I guess that class feature still allows you to use any feats or magical enhancements on the weapon however so it still has some use. As long as the class feature gives some benefit I have no problem with it.

Grand Lodge

4 people marked this as a favorite.

Well, I agree with this FAQ.

After being told I only speak on FAQ I dislike(which is mostly true), I decided to discuss this one.


wraithstrike wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:

As noted with this FAQ, you can now, without a doubt, use normal weapons in improvised fashion.

How does this play out with other weapons?

For your benefit, here it is:

FAQ wrote:

Can I use my longspear to attack at both 10 feet and 5 feet? I know that the rules for reach weapons don't allow them to attack adjacent foes, but can I use the improvised weapon rules to say that the blunt end of my longspear resembles a club and use it to attack adjacent foes? I know that the improvised weapon rules say they are for objects not designed to be weapons, but the blunt end of my longspear was not designed to be a weapon, right?

You could choose to wield your longspear as an improvised blunt weapon. In this case, it threatens only your adjacent squares, and not the further squares. If you are wielding it as a longspear, though, to threaten the further squares, then your grip precludes the use as an improvised blunt weapon. The rules are silent on how long it would take to shift between the two, but switching between a one-handed and a two-handed grip with a one-handed weapon like a longsword is a free action (and can thus be only taken on your turn), so it should take at least as long as that, thus preventing you from simultaneously threatening all of the squares at once. Incidentally, using the longspear as an improvised weapon in this way would not allow you to benefit from any magical enhancements it may possess, nor would you add benefits that apply when attacking with a longspear (such as Weapon Focus (longspear), but you would apply any benefits from using an improvised weapon (such as Catch Off-Guard).

I remember arguing against this because there was a class feature that allows you to shorten your grip, but the penalty still existed. I guess that class feature still allows you to use any feats or magical enhancements on the weapon however so it still has some use. As long as the...

The class feature in question

Pole Fighting from Polearm Master Fighter Archetype wrote:
At 2nd level, as an immediate action, a polearm master can shorten the grip on his spear or polearm with reach and use it against adjacent targets. This action results in a –4 penalty on attack rolls with that weapon until he spends another immediate action to return to the normal grip. The penalty is reduced by –1 for every four levels beyond 2nd.

With that class feature you keep all weapon training, Focus, Specialization, ect. Essentially you can take a attack penalty to temporarily remove the reach quality.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

So, can one use a Tower Shield as an improvised weapon?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

You also get to use the Polearm Master class feature as an immediate action which is different from the FAQ where switching grips is at least a free action. This allows the Polearm Master to threaten all of the squares both adjacent and at reach.

The Polearm Master class feature refers to "shortening" your grip which, as I read it, means the character is still using the head of the weapon to attack. On the other hand the FAQ response seems to be referring to using the butt end of the weapon to attack. This would mean a character needs to "switch" their grip rather than shorten it, and this would also explain why they do not benefit from magical enhancements when used in this way.

I suppose an argument could be made that Polearm Masters can "shorten" their grip because of special training whereas characters without this class feature just simply cannot in the same way that, barring special training, they cannot wield a two-handed weapon in one hand.


blackbloodtroll wrote:
So, can one use a Tower Shield as an improvised weapon?

I think the Tower Shield should probably remain unable to be used as a weapon, but mostly due to size. It's just too cumbersome to use as weapon.

In any event, I'm glad to see this codified into an FAQ. It's nice to have official support that I can use the flat of my blade to smack a skeleton, or use my longspear like a club (though honestly it should probably be like a quarterstaff, but baby steps).

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
FAQ wrote:

Can I use my longspear to attack at both 10 feet and 5 feet? I know that the rules for reach weapons don't allow them to attack adjacent foes, but can I use the improvised weapon rules to say that the blunt end of my longspear resembles a club and use it to attack adjacent foes? I know that the improvised weapon rules say they are for objects not designed to be weapons, but the blunt end of my longspear was not designed to be a weapon, right?

You could choose to wield your longspear as an improvised blunt weapon. In this case, it threatens only your adjacent squares, and not the further squares. If you are wielding it as a longspear, though, to threaten the further squares, then your grip precludes the use as an improvised blunt weapon. The rules are silent on how long it would take to shift between the two, but switching between a one-handed and a two-handed grip with a one-handed weapon like a longsword is a free action (and can thus be only taken on your turn), so it should take at least as long as that, thus preventing you from simultaneously threatening all of the squares at once. Incidentally, using the longspear as an improvised weapon in this way would not allow you to benefit from any magical enhancements it may possess, nor would you add benefits that apply when attacking with a longspear (such as Weapon Focus (longspear), but you would apply any benefits from using an improvised weapon (such as Catch Off-Guard).

Honestly, I am not surprised by this FAQ. This is exactly the way that I handled it with my group. It just makes the most sense when you consider the improvised weapons rules.

blackbloodtroll wrote:
So, can one use a Tower Shield as an improvised weapon?

Sadly, this will probably require a different FAQ as some people will not be able to come to terms with it without 'official word'.

Given that a Tower shield weights 45 lbs and the closest largest melee weapon is the 15 lb two-handed Orc Double Axe, I cannot see it being effective. Best case, the only way I can see a tower shield being used is to charge straight at someone using it (and I would still apply improvised weapon penalties).

Grand Lodge

I figured the Tower Shield answer would be no.

Silver Crusade

Well, this is TWO of my FAQ requests answered by a single FAQ! how efficient. : )

Thanks to the PDT for ruling on these two things that have been unresolved since the last millennium.

So, we now definately threaten with improvised weapons.

I'm wearing several big rings; what weapon does this most resemble? Spiked gauntlets? Brass knuckles? Either way, I now threaten simply by wearing rings, when I don't threaten without the rings.

I'm carrying heavy boxes, my hands are full and I'm struggling to lift their weight and move around the obstacles in the street. Still, I'm glad I've got Combat Reflexes, because I can now use this heavy box to take an AoO against anyone who moves past me, whereas if I was unarmed and ready to punch anyone who ran past, I'd be totally unable to take an AoO because unarmed attacks don't threaten.

Do gloves count as an improvised weapon? What about boots?

Anyway, no point in wasting a feat on Improved Unarmed Strike anymore, just wear rings/clothes/boxes...basically anything, anything at all.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
blackbloodtroll wrote:
As noted with this FAQ, you can now, without a doubt, use normal weapons in improvised fashion.

Interestingly - and I admit to being a regular participant in the thread that spawned this FAQ - in the end this FAQ does say you can use weapons in improvised fashion, but expressly excludes the reason and method that thread was shooting for.

In the end I'm quite comfortable with the FAQ result as it codifies the sensible.


It allows an halberdier to shove someone away with the haft of her weapon and then resume attacking, as halberdiers are meant to fight. I like it.

Designer

Malachi Silverclaw wrote:

Well, this is TWO of my FAQ requests answered by a single FAQ! how efficient. : )

Thanks to the PDT for ruling on these two things that have been unresolved since the last millennium.

So, we now definately threaten with improvised weapons.

I'm wearing several big rings; what weapon does this most resemble? Spiked gauntlets? Brass knuckles? Either way, I now threaten simply by wearing rings, when I don't threaten without the rings.

I'm carrying heavy boxes, my hands are full and I'm struggling to lift their weight and move around the obstacles in the street. Still, I'm glad I've got Combat Reflexes, because I can now use this heavy box to take an AoO against anyone who moves past me, whereas if I was unarmed and ready to punch anyone who ran past, I'd be totally unable to take an AoO because unarmed attacks don't threaten.

Do gloves count as an improvised weapon? What about boots?

Anyway, no point in wasting a feat on Improved Unarmed Strike anymore, just wear rings/clothes/boxes...basically anything, anything at all.

Keep in mind, you need to be holding something as an improvised weapon to threaten. Brandishing an item in such a way makes it clear that you are holding it as a weapon.

Silver Crusade

Mark Seifter wrote:
Malachi Silverclaw wrote:

Well, this is TWO of my FAQ requests answered by a single FAQ! how efficient. : )

Thanks to the PDT for ruling on these two things that have been unresolved since the last millennium.

So, we now definately threaten with improvised weapons.

I'm wearing several big rings; what weapon does this most resemble? Spiked gauntlets? Brass knuckles? Either way, I now threaten simply by wearing rings, when I don't threaten without the rings.

I'm carrying heavy boxes, my hands are full and I'm struggling to lift their weight and move around the obstacles in the street. Still, I'm glad I've got Combat Reflexes, because I can now use this heavy box to take an AoO against anyone who moves past me, whereas if I was unarmed and ready to punch anyone who ran past, I'd be totally unable to take an AoO because unarmed attacks don't threaten.

Do gloves count as an improvised weapon? What about boots?

Anyway, no point in wasting a feat on Improved Unarmed Strike anymore, just wear rings/clothes/boxes...basically anything, anything at all.

Keep in mind, you need to be holding something as an improvised weapon to threaten. Brandishing an item in such a way makes it clear that you are holding it as a weapon.

This makes perfect sense, of course.

How would this work in the game? Does the player have to specifically mention that he's ready to attack with it? Does the guy with heavy rings have to say that he's always ready to strike? What would stop a player always being ready to strike?

Players will do whatever the rules allow, so the rules should be written in such a way that they are as abuse-proof as they reasonably can be.

BTW, I do like the way that the FAQ makes you shift grip; this avoids the threatening at both ranges that the Reach quality forbids.

Designer

Malachi Silverclaw wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:
Malachi Silverclaw wrote:

Well, this is TWO of my FAQ requests answered by a single FAQ! how efficient. : )

Thanks to the PDT for ruling on these two things that have been unresolved since the last millennium.

So, we now definately threaten with improvised weapons.

I'm wearing several big rings; what weapon does this most resemble? Spiked gauntlets? Brass knuckles? Either way, I now threaten simply by wearing rings, when I don't threaten without the rings.

I'm carrying heavy boxes, my hands are full and I'm struggling to lift their weight and move around the obstacles in the street. Still, I'm glad I've got Combat Reflexes, because I can now use this heavy box to take an AoO against anyone who moves past me, whereas if I was unarmed and ready to punch anyone who ran past, I'd be totally unable to take an AoO because unarmed attacks don't threaten.

Do gloves count as an improvised weapon? What about boots?

Anyway, no point in wasting a feat on Improved Unarmed Strike anymore, just wear rings/clothes/boxes...basically anything, anything at all.

Keep in mind, you need to be holding something as an improvised weapon to threaten. Brandishing an item in such a way makes it clear that you are holding it as a weapon.

This makes perfect sense, of course.

How would this work in the game? Does the player have to specifically mention that he's ready to attack with it? Does the guy with heavy rings have to say that he's always ready to strike? What would stop a player always being ready to strike?

Players will do whatever the rules allow, so the rules should be written in such a way that they are as abuse-proof as they reasonably can be.

BTW, I do like the way that the FAQ makes you shift grip; this avoids the threatening at both ranges that the Reach quality forbids.

Same thing that stops you from just always having a cestus, I guess. You look like a thug who is about to attack someone, and you can't be using the object for its other use (non-improvised weapon). Other than that, no problem.


Malachi Silverclaw wrote:


BTW, I do like the way that the FAQ makes you shift grip; this avoids the threatening at both ranges that the Reach quality forbids.

Myself, I find the grip shifting makes little sense. Do I now have to shift grips when I go from a single attack with a staff to using it as a double weapon? Is the grip different for a thrown dagger vs a melee dagger? Do I have to somehow have to do the same with a dagger pistol? Do I have to switch grips to threaten with it after I fire?

How many free actions was the 'norm' again? three? At least this FAQ had SOME things I liked in it...

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.
graystone wrote:
Malachi Silverclaw wrote:


BTW, I do like the way that the FAQ makes you shift grip; this avoids the threatening at both ranges that the Reach quality forbids.

Myself, I find the grip shifting makes little sense. Do I now have to shift grips when I go from a single attack with a staff to using it as a double weapon? Is the grip different for a thrown dagger vs a melee dagger? Do I have to somehow have to do the same with a dagger pistol? Do I have to switch grips to threaten with it after I fire?

How many free actions was the 'norm' again? three? At least this FAQ had SOME things I liked in it...

The problem with threatening with both at the same time is that it would fly in the face of the Reach quality, which deliberately prevents threatening at both ranges at the same time.


4 people marked this as a favorite.

Yeah, the free action restriction imposes absolutely no limit except for one thing: you can't shift your grip if it is not your turn. This is the only reasonable way for it to work anyway, so I think this is a very good FAQ.


blackbloodtroll wrote:

As noted with this FAQ, you can now, without a doubt, use normal weapons in improvised fashion.

How does this play out with other weapons?

For your benefit, here it is:

FAQ wrote:

Can I use my longspear to attack at both 10 feet and 5 feet? I know that the rules for reach weapons don't allow them to attack adjacent foes, but can I use the improvised weapon rules to say that the blunt end of my longspear resembles a club and use it to attack adjacent foes? I know that the improvised weapon rules say they are for objects not designed to be weapons, but the blunt end of my longspear was not designed to be a weapon, right?

You could choose to wield your longspear as an improvised blunt weapon. In this case, it threatens only your adjacent squares, and not the further squares. If you are wielding it as a longspear, though, to threaten the further squares, then your grip precludes the use as an improvised blunt weapon. The rules are silent on how long it would take to shift between the two, but switching between a one-handed and a two-handed grip with a one-handed weapon like a longsword is a free action (and can thus be only taken on your turn), so it should take at least as long as that, thus preventing you from simultaneously threatening all of the squares at once. Incidentally, using the longspear as an improvised weapon in this way would not allow you to benefit from any magical enhancements it may possess, nor would you add benefits that apply when attacking with a longspear (such as Weapon Focus (longspear), but you would apply any benefits from using an improvised weapon (such as Catch Off-Guard).

Interesting, no?


It's the difference between using it as the intended weapon and an improvised one. You aren't using it as a reach weapon when you haft bash someone. You may see it as "fly in the face of the Reach quality" but I see it as logical, both in game terms and real life.

When you can just kick someone or use armor spikes, or bladed boots, or a bite, or Barbazu beard, or a bolder helmet, etc WITHOUT the extra free action AND with the full bonuses as a real weapon it "fly in the face of" logic to require a free ation on a -4 to hit weapon that doesn't get normal proficiencies or enchantments. Doing it this way makes it an even worse option and i don't see the need to further pentalize someone for using the option.

Avoron: With this, we'll have to examine what is and isn'r a grip change. I made a small list of things that could be affected and I'm sure there's more. ir seems an extra bit to info to track for no real gain.

As to "This is the only reasonable way for it to work anyway", you ever watch hockey? See anyone crosschecking someone? Not seeing why a longspear would have to alter grips to do it.


Rings big enough to work as improvised brass knuckles would be pretty damn big and hard to miss.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Paladin of Baha-who? wrote:
Rings big enough to work as improvised brass knuckles would be pretty damn big and hard to miss.

You need some big bling to use the pimp slap! LOL :P


As for what objects could be improvised weapons, if you're using something as improvised brass knuckles, then you could just as well be actually using brass knuckles, or some other similar weapon. If you happen to be holding something that works as an improvised weapon in a situation where you weren't ready for combat, good for you. You're using improvised weapons as they were intended to be used.

As for changing your grips for weapons in other situations, it wouldn't matter unless you'd need to do it when it isn't your turn (and when you're not using a readied action, so basically just for attacks of opportunity). You could be assumed to always be holding a double weapon to make a single two-handed attack when it isn't your turn, because you can't make full attacks as attacks of opportunity anyway. Melee/ranged weapons could work like that, and it would only matter with Snap Shot, and for that it could just work like if it was a reach weapon.


I'm with graystone on this one, the grip shift is an odd excuse that only works in specific situations.

Let's say I'm swinging a halberd around. If I swing at an enemy eight feet away, they are hit by the blade at the end of the weapon. With that same swing, I could also hit someone three feet away. I would hit them with the haft, sure, and lose out on the enchantment on the head of the weapon, plus any other bonuses I have with a halberd. It didn't require a different grip or even a different motion on the swing though.

The wording of the FAQ suggests that the required grip change is why AoOs can't be taken at both ranges. That leaves it open for people to argue that on weapons/attacks that wouldn't require a grip change, the FAQ doesn't apply.

Grand Lodge

3 people marked this as a favorite.

Should I be calling anyone who disagrees with this FAQ nasty names, and accuse them of horrible acts?

:)


blackbloodtroll wrote:

Should I be calling anyone who disagrees with this FAQ nasty names, and accuse them of horrible acts?

:)

Yeah, you scruffy looking nerf herder, I bet you rip tags off mattresses.

:-P


I am a terrible person with many nasty names and perhaps some horrible acts, but that's a discussion for another thread. This FAQ is agreeable from a mechanical perspective, but as a person who has gotten to swing around an actual polearm (it was rather fun, I recommend it for everyone), I don't agree with the explanation of why the ruling is what it is. Of course, I also have a hard time agreeing with a dagger and a greatsword having the same range, so some concessions have to be made.

Grand Lodge

Well, we have Dire Flails, and Metal Fighting Beards, that function just fine.


Ugh, don't get me started on those Metal Fighting Beards. Might as well let me wield a katana with my teeth.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I imagine the motion to attack with one, would look like a chicken bobbing it's head.


Huh. I'm pleasantly surprised. I like the FAQ resolution to the at least two threads I remember participating in. They became gloriously hyperbolic and nonsensical at times. But it was all worth it. Because sometimes you aren't actually wearing a spiked gauntlet while wielding a longspear. ;p


blackbloodtroll wrote:
Well, we have Dire Flails, and Metal Fighting Beards, that function just fine.

LOL Don't forget headbutting with your helmet! ;)


graystone wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:
Well, we have Dire Flails, and Metal Fighting Beards, that function just fine.
LOL Don't forget headbutting with your helmet! ;)

As long as you have a "hand" free. : D

This FAQ is a bit odd considering the various weapons requiring a swift or move action to change grips, but I understand.


3 people marked this as a favorite.
graystone wrote:
Malachi Silverclaw wrote:


BTW, I do like the way that the FAQ makes you shift grip; this avoids the threatening at both ranges that the Reach quality forbids.

Myself, I find the grip shifting makes little sense. Do I now have to shift grips when I go from a single attack with a staff to using it as a double weapon? Is the grip different for a thrown dagger vs a melee dagger? Do I have to somehow have to do the same with a dagger pistol? Do I have to switch grips to threaten with it after I fire?

Well, in real life, you usually do switch grips to use a staff as a double weapon vs a single two-handed weapon (to adjust how the force gets applied). And every knife thrower I've seen uses a completely different grip to throw the knife than the "normal" grip you stab with.

So, yes, you do have to switch grips: why wouldn't you?

Silver Crusade

The polearm fighter can change grip as an immediate action. Does this mean that a foe could provoke at 5-feet while the polearm is being held to threaten 10-feet, and the polearm fighter could change grip as an immediate action and take that AoO?

I've always played it that if your weapon wasn't ready without needing to take any action at all, even a free action, then you didn't threaten with it and couldn't use it to take an AoO.

If this is not the case, and you can change grip after the provoking action, then if you have Quick Draw then you threaten with every single sheathed weapon you have on your person, as long as you can draw it as a free action, and it is your own turn.

And if that's the case:-

FAQ wrote:

Free Actions: Can you take free actions during an attack of opportunity? For instance, can you use the Grab, Trip, Pull, or Push universal monster rules after hitting with an attack of opportunity, since they require free actions and free actions can’t be used off-turn? What about Rock Catching? That seems like it could only work off-turn.

While you can’t take most free actions off your turn, Grab, Trip, Pull, Push, and Rock Catching’s free actions can all be used off-turn. This will be reflected in future errata.

Combine that with the Snap Shot FAQ (which allows you to draw an arrow as a free action even when it isn't your turn), and surely we now have a situation where, if you have Quick Draw (and Combat Reflexes for those times where you haven't acted yet) then you can take an AoO with any weapon on your person, even if you have no weapons drawn at all.

Buy an Efficient Quiver, take Quick Draw and Combat Reflexes, and even if you're surprised then you can take an AoO at 10-feet by drawing your polearm and at 5-feet by drawing your greatsword.


Gwen Smith wrote:
graystone wrote:
Malachi Silverclaw wrote:


BTW, I do like the way that the FAQ makes you shift grip; this avoids the threatening at both ranges that the Reach quality forbids.

Myself, I find the grip shifting makes little sense. Do I now have to shift grips when I go from a single attack with a staff to using it as a double weapon? Is the grip different for a thrown dagger vs a melee dagger? Do I have to somehow have to do the same with a dagger pistol? Do I have to switch grips to threaten with it after I fire?

Well, in real life, you usually do switch grips to use a staff as a double weapon vs a single two-handed weapon (to adjust how the force gets applied). And every knife thrower I've seen uses a completely different grip to throw the knife than the "normal" grip you stab with.

So, yes, you do have to switch grips: why wouldn't you?

I think the point is that currently, they AREN'T forced to do so. Is the person using the double weapon staff stopped from using a two handed strike on a AoO? Does the person that readied a thrown dagger attack become unable to make an AoO? Same with a Dagger pistol?

As far as the real life staff, there is grip changing but that happens with any weapon. However, I can use the same staff grip to hit with the staff with both ends or crosscheck them with a single hit. So it isn't a requirement much the same way as with a spear. Only 1' difference between that staff and a longspear...

Liberty's Edge

graystone wrote:

I think the point is that currently, they AREN'T forced to do so. Is the person using the double weapon staff stopped from using a two handed strike on a AoO? Does the person that readied a thrown dagger attack become unable to make an AoO? Same with a Dagger pistol?

As far as the real life staff, there is grip changing but that happens with any weapon. However, I can use the same staff grip to hit with the staff with both ends or crosscheck them with a single hit. So it isn't a requirement much the same way as with a spear. Only 1' difference between that staff and a longspear...

I think it is safe to assume that the FAQ deals with its precise topic and its topic only. Since this FAQ's topic does not include any of the cases you mention, nothing changes for these.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
The black raven wrote:
graystone wrote:

I think the point is that currently, they AREN'T forced to do so. Is the person using the double weapon staff stopped from using a two handed strike on a AoO? Does the person that readied a thrown dagger attack become unable to make an AoO? Same with a Dagger pistol?

As far as the real life staff, there is grip changing but that happens with any weapon. However, I can use the same staff grip to hit with the staff with both ends or crosscheck them with a single hit. So it isn't a requirement much the same way as with a spear. Only 1' difference between that staff and a longspear...

I think it is safe to assume that the FAQ deals with its precise topic and its topic only. Since this FAQ's topic does not include any of the cases you mention, nothing changes for these.

Cool, so this is only about longspears then. Here I though there where broader implications. So do you think you can use your Boarding pike as an improvised weapon? How about other reach weapons? Going by your post, I can't assume the FAQ covers them either and it's JUST longspears... :P

Grand Lodge

graystone wrote:
Gwen Smith wrote:
graystone wrote:
Malachi Silverclaw wrote:


BTW, I do like the way that the FAQ makes you shift grip; this avoids the threatening at both ranges that the Reach quality forbids.

Myself, I find the grip shifting makes little sense. Do I now have to shift grips when I go from a single attack with a staff to using it as a double weapon? Is the grip different for a thrown dagger vs a melee dagger? Do I have to somehow have to do the same with a dagger pistol? Do I have to switch grips to threaten with it after I fire?

Well, in real life, you usually do switch grips to use a staff as a double weapon vs a single two-handed weapon (to adjust how the force gets applied). And every knife thrower I've seen uses a completely different grip to throw the knife than the "normal" grip you stab with.

So, yes, you do have to switch grips: why wouldn't you?

I think the point is that currently, they AREN'T forced to do so. Is the person using the double weapon staff stopped from using a two handed strike on a AoO? Does the person that readied a thrown dagger attack become unable to make an AoO? Same with a Dagger pistol?

As far as the real life staff, there is grip changing but that happens with any weapon. However, I can use the same staff grip to hit with the staff with both ends or crosscheck them with a single hit. So it isn't a requirement much the same way as with a spear. Only 1' difference between that staff and a longspear...

You seriously believe that holding a weapon in order to use the pointy bit at the end is the exact same way you would hold it to whack someone with the side of it at the bottom? Seriously?

And, as mentioned, holding a knife to stab is a totally different grip then holding it to slice to holding it to throw. Be glad they don't specify different light blades for throwing and melee. A good throwing knife would not be built right to be wielded for hand-to-hand, and vice versa, since the weight and balance for each role are different.

We could go back to the old weapon speed rules, roll Init, add Dex mod, subtract weapon speed mod, etc.... Dagger gets a speed of 1, greatsword gets a speed of 15, imagine that.


graystone wrote:
Gwen Smith wrote:
graystone wrote:
Malachi Silverclaw wrote:


BTW, I do like the way that the FAQ makes you shift grip; this avoids the threatening at both ranges that the Reach quality forbids.

Myself, I find the grip shifting makes little sense. Do I now have to shift grips when I go from a single attack with a staff to using it as a double weapon? Is the grip different for a thrown dagger vs a melee dagger? Do I have to somehow have to do the same with a dagger pistol? Do I have to switch grips to threaten with it after I fire?

Well, in real life, you usually do switch grips to use a staff as a double weapon vs a single two-handed weapon (to adjust how the force gets applied). And every knife thrower I've seen uses a completely different grip to throw the knife than the "normal" grip you stab with.

So, yes, you do have to switch grips: why wouldn't you?

I think the point is that currently, they AREN'T forced to do so. Is the person using the double weapon staff stopped from using a two handed strike on a AoO? Does the person that readied a thrown dagger attack become unable to make an AoO? Same with a Dagger pistol?

As far as the real life staff, there is grip changing but that happens with any weapon. However, I can use the same staff grip to hit with the staff with both ends or crosscheck them with a single hit. So it isn't a requirement much the same way as with a spear. Only 1' difference between that staff and a longspear...

To answer your question on double weapon staff, yes they are, by the double weapon rules, you can only choose to wield a double weapon as a double weapon or a two-handed weapon during a given round, never both, which is actually more restrictive than this FAQ. As for your other comments, Pathfinder combat is not simulationist, and the devs clearly don't want a character threatening at reach and in normal range with a single melee weapon, as it counters one of the main drawbacks of reach.


kinevon wrote:
graystone wrote:
...
You seriously believe that holding a weapon in order to use the pointy bit at the end is the exact same way you would hold it to whack someone with the side of it at the bottom? Seriously?

See, this is the flaw in the FAQ, its assuming that you're using the other end of the weapon, which would make sense for requiring a different grip. So if a player can explain using a weapon with the same grip, would they no longer need to use an action to switch?

Thrusting with a longspear requires a different grip than swinging the other end of it. Swinging with a polearm like a halberd or naginata, on the other hand, could use the same grip, regardless of whether you're hitting them with the end or the middle of the weapon. Therefore, it can be assumed that this FAQ applies only to thrusting reach weapons (which for simplicity we'll say is the same as piercing), and other reach weapons do not require an action, since they do not need a change in grips.

[Again, I'm not arguing against the mechanics of the ruling, merely the wording/reasoning of it]

Grand Lodge

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Ziere Tole wrote:
kinevon wrote:
graystone wrote:
...
You seriously believe that holding a weapon in order to use the pointy bit at the end is the exact same way you would hold it to whack someone with the side of it at the bottom? Seriously?

See, this is the flaw in the FAQ, its assuming that you're using the other end of the weapon, which would make sense for requiring a different grip. So if a player can explain using a weapon with the same grip, would they no longer need to use an action to switch?

Thrusting with a longspear requires a different grip than swinging the other end of it. Swinging with a polearm like a halberd or naginata, on the other hand, could use the same grip, regardless of whether you're hitting them with the end or the middle of the weapon. Therefore, it can be assumed that this FAQ applies only to thrusting reach weapons (which for simplicity we'll say is the same as piercing), and other reach weapons do not require an action, since they do not need a change in grips.

[Again, I'm not arguing against the mechanics of the ruling, merely the wording/reasoning of it]

Actually, you are still incorrect. Swinging a weapon to use an end 6' away from you requires different dynamics than swinging it to use the part in the middle at 3' away from you especially since those middle bits are both not designed to hit with, and not designed to take a full force hit on something else. And your forward hand is probably, normally, holding it there so it doesn't do anything weird when you are attacking with the nasty part at the end.

It is also why brace is an action of its own, as that requires a totally different grip on a brace-able weapon than wielding it as a mobile attacking weapon.

Seriously, if you want to use a weapon to attack and threaten at both reach and adjacent without having to spend free actions, spend the three feats, and get yourself a whip.


kinevon wrote:
Ziere Tole wrote:
..
Actually, you are still incorrect. Swinging a weapon to use an end 6' away from you requires different dynamics than swinging it to use the part in the middle at 3' away from you especially since those middle bits are both not designed to hit with, and not designed to take a full force hit on something else. And your forward hand is probably, normally, holding it there so it doesn't do anything weird when you are attacking with the nasty part at the end.

So what you are saying is a person swinging to hit with the haft instead of the point of the weapon would be less effective while doing so? It's almost like they would be using an improvised weapon instead of a manufactured one. As for how far down you would be holding your hand...a wider stance works with a thrusting weapon. If you try such a wide grip with a slashing weapon, your own body is going to get in the way of swinging with your full power. Of course, in real life to get full power you would actually shift your grip mid-swing to maximize leverage while still achieving range.


blackbloodtroll wrote:

As noted with this FAQ, you can now, without a doubt, use normal weapons in improvised fashion.

Cool.


Paladin of Baha-who? wrote:
Rings big enough to work as improvised brass knuckles would be pretty damn big and hard to miss.

Yup! Not to mention the reason brass knuckles are so dangerous is due to the added weight and support it gives to the fingers. The rings would add a little sting, but you still are missing on the support the knuckles give to the inner hand, which allows the outer portion of the brass knuckles to remain rigid. It's similar to putting a roll of quarters in your hand before hitting them...


Pathfinder Maps, Starfinder Maps, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
kinevon wrote:
... especially since those middle bits are both not designed to hit with, and not designed to take a full force hit on something else. And your forward hand is probably, normally, holding it there so it doesn't do anything weird when you are attacking with the nasty part at the end.

I was under the impression that most pole arms have reinforced hafts. The reason is people (especially axe wielders) would try to chop at the haft so as to break (sunder) the weapon. It is certainly more sturdy than most improvised weapons.

Is there somewhere in the rules that changes the hardness and HP of a weapon depending on if you are attacking the blade or haft? I'm curious, especially since one of my characters is intending to get an adamantine glaive at some point.

1 to 50 of 81 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / New FAQ, the improvised Longspear All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.