Regeneration


Rules Questions


Just to clarify, if a creature has regeneration, it is immortal, unkillable, 100% immune to death unless its regeneration is removed prior to reducing it to -con, right? I could have my Inevitable Arbiter familiar drop to -10000 hp, and he wouldn't die as long as he wasn't dealt damage with a chaotic weapon?


Correct. It might take them a very long time to get back up. Or, if it takes long enough for the creature to lose HP from starvation, thirst or suffocation it won't ever get back up. (Regeneration doesn't restore those HP).


Tarantula wrote:
Correct. It might take them a very long time to get back up. Or, if it takes long enough for the creature to lose HP from starvation, thirst or suffocation it won't ever get back up. (Regeneration doesn't restore those HP).

Good, I got into an argument with a GM last night at PFS over how regeneration actually worked. He said it stopped working once I hit negative Con, because that's how dying normally works, even when I gave him the rules for regeneration. Besides, the Arbiter is a constructed outsider, so it shouldn't ever starve, suffocate or drown.


Yup. Chuck your familiar into the sun if you like, he'll be fine.


It helps if you remember that regeneration means the critter in question isn't actually at negative anything. Any damage "not on the list" (chaotic weapons in this case) does non-lethal damage, a number which stacks upwards rather than downward. Imagine a bar graph X units tall where x is their current hit points, and right next to it a bar graph Y units tall where Y is the amount of non-lethal damage they have taken and not healed yet.

When Y is taller than X, the critter is unconscious, but Y doesn't stop adding ever.

Yes, it's unrealistic, since it means technically you can use your whip to beat a commoner until he will be unconscious for 6 months but (barring starvation with a ring of sustenance or something) will suffer no permanent damage once he wakes up. But it doesn't come up that often.

And it is TOTALLY reasonable to say that a critter can be cut into enough pieces that putting itself back together will take a few hours no matter HOW high it's regeneration is.


boring7 wrote:

It helps if you remember that regeneration means the critter in question isn't actually at negative anything. Any damage "not on the list" (chaotic weapons in this case) does non-lethal damage, a number which stacks upwards rather than downward. Imagine a bar graph X units tall where x is their current hit points, and right next to it a bar graph Y units tall where Y is the amount of non-lethal damage they have taken and not healed yet.

When Y is taller than X, the critter is unconscious, but Y doesn't stop adding ever.

Yes, it's unrealistic, since it means technically you can use your whip to beat a commoner until he will be unconscious for 6 months but (barring starvation with a ring of sustenance or something) will suffer no permanent damage once he wakes up. But it doesn't come up that often.

And it is TOTALLY reasonable to say that a critter can be cut into enough pieces that putting itself back together will take a few hours no matter HOW high it's regeneration is.

No. This is wrong. Regeneration does not make everything non-lethal. You still take normal lethal HP damage, and can certainly go down to -10,000 if someone feels like kicking you while you're down. You just never die. You stay at "dying" and heal each round according to your regeneration. If you are below -Con and someone hits you with something which shuts off your regeneration (fire for a troll) then immediately you are now dead, since when regeneration doesn't function you can die. Now that you are dead, regeneration no longer works, and you stay dead.

Quote:

Regeneration (Ex) A creature with this ability is difficult to kill. Creatures with regeneration heal damage at a fixed rate, as with fast healing, but they cannot die as long as their regeneration is still functioning (although creatures with regeneration still fall unconscious when their hit points are below 0). Certain attack forms, typically fire and acid, cause a creature's regeneration to stop functioning on the round following the attack. During this round, the creature does not heal any damage and can die normally. The creature's descriptive text describes the types of damage that cause the regeneration to cease functioning.

Attack forms that don't deal hit point damage are not healed by regeneration. Regeneration also does not restore hit points lost from starvation, thirst, or suffocation. Regenerating creatures can regrow lost portions of their bodies and can reattach severed limbs or body parts if they are brought together within 1 hour of severing. Severed parts that are not reattached wither and die normally.

A creature must have a Constitution score to have the regeneration ability.

Format: regeneration 5 (fire, acid); Location: hp.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure, Rulebook Subscriber; Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

Nonlethal heals at 1 point an hour. That would have to be a very high level commoner.


Huh, whoops. thinking wrong edition again.


Side Note: What happens if I smash a petrified troll?


Emmanuel Nouvellon-Pugh wrote:
Side Note: What happens if I smash a petrified troll?

Assuming smash means you attack it, you deal damage. If you mean break in incomplete, then when it unpetrifies it will take some time for it to regenerate the missing bits.

If you break it in half, do you get 2 trolls? I don't know. Probably not. I'd assume the part with the majority of the brain regrows, and the rest die.


Tarantula wrote:


If you break it in half, do you get 2 trolls? I don't know. Probably not. I'd assume the part with the majority of the brain regrows, and the rest die.

The answer is actually in the rules section you quoted

Quote:
Regenerating creatures can regrow lost portions of their bodies and can reattach severed limbs or body parts if they are brought together within 1 hour of severing. Severed parts that are not reattached wither and die normally.


@Emmanuel Nouvellon-Pugh

I imagine it would look like that scene in Terminator 2 where the the T-1000 gets smashed and then each piece pulls itself together.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Ragnarok Aeon wrote:

The answer is actually in the rules section you quoted

Quote:
Regenerating creatures can regrow lost portions of their bodies and can reattach severed limbs or body parts if they are brought together within 1 hour of severing. Severed parts that are not reattached wither and die normally.

Yes I know, but which parts are severed? Which part is the "main" part which regrows? If I put a troll through a wood chipper, what part regrows into a new troll, and leaves the rest to all die?


Quote:
Fortunately, only the largest part of a troll regrows in this way.

Biggest peice only. Of course it really makes you wonder why all the other bits stops regrowing, and what happens if you hack up the biggest peice? Better yet what happens if you cut it prefectly in half?

Scarab Sages

Bob of Mage wrote:
what happens if you hack up the biggest peice? Better yet what happens if you cut it prefectly in half?

Cell count? One hair cell more for the win!


Well, it definitely took this thread a lot of time to regenerate. But if it was alive all that time it does not count as necromancy, right? ;)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Regeneration All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.